Callum Gilhooley Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 Bar Point , cracking pub run by Sergio & Pierro . Only down side was the location. 😬 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 Was the Bar Point once owned by ex Morton dude, Joe Gilroy ? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wilbur Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 6 minutes ago, shull said: Was the Bar Point once owned by ex Morton dude, Joe Gilroy ? He ran the Royal bar nearer Woodside crematorium. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 6 minutes ago, Wilbur said: He ran the Royal bar nearer Woodside crematorium. It was the Centre Spot when JG had it 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 Anyone have any photos or recollection of the Moss side inn ? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 Apparently it was close to where the happy tots nursery is today…. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumbriansaint72 Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 3 hours ago, Callum Gilhooley said: Bar Point , cracking pub run by Sergio & Pierro . Only down side was the location. 😬 Was introduced to Morgan spiced and coke there.👍👍👍👍 Anyway what i remember from there was Sergio was nuts, went to school with his daughter Victoria and she was niiiccceee!!! But you didn't mention that in the pub🤣🤣 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 Anyone have any photos or recollection of the Moss side inn ? Yes and no. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 https://m.facebook.com/paisleyoorweetoon/photos/a.300846973361677.66851.300800233366351/759773407469029/?type=1&theater 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumbriansaint72 Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 1 hour ago, Cumbriansaint72 said: Was introduced to Morgan spiced and coke there.👍👍👍👍 Anyway what i remember from there was Sergio was nuts, went to school with his daughter Victoria and she was niiiccceee!!! But you didn't mention that in the pub🤣🤣 Was Veronica not Victoria 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 Oh, I remember these, can't beat a good "snake" belt. I had an array of colours, all to hold my breeks up. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Callum Gilhooley Posted January 22 Report Share Posted January 22 4 hours ago, Cumbriansaint72 said: Was introduced to Morgan spiced and coke there.👍👍👍👍 Anyway what i remember from there was Sergio was nuts, went to school with his daughter Victoria and she was niiiccceee!!! But you didn't mention that in the pub🤣🤣 Add a wee splash of Guinness to that and you’ve got a Caribbean . Magic stuff 😋 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 23 Report Share Posted January 23 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted January 23 Report Share Posted January 23 Ah, the High Street before.............................. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted January 25 Report Share Posted January 25 Not sure if Parducci visited Andrews St, but Mr Whippy did. I used to save my pocket money and treat myself on a Friday, creamy ice cream and strawberry sauce. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric Arthur Blair Posted January 28 Report Share Posted January 28 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted January 28 Report Share Posted January 28 Excellent pic. New for me. Wee Storie Street in the top right. I think. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted January 28 Report Share Posted January 28 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted January 30 Report Share Posted January 30 (edited) The North School. Played fitba on the wee grass bit to the right hand side. Also attended a 16 week painting and decorating course before I left school, one of the best things I done in my school years, saved me a fortune. Edited January 30 by faraway saint 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted January 30 Report Share Posted January 30 The North School. Played fitba on the wee grass bit to the right hand side. Also attended a 16 week painting and decorating course before I left school, one of the best things I done in my school years, saved me a fortune. Really like the stories that goes along with the photos.https://www.facebook.com/300800233366351/posts/pfbid02yYZH9WCSjaX4oVrjyTdyoEEFgnN31HedKtrkYNZSuPihcUS1Pi83vEALh3eeRYSl/ 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted January 30 Report Share Posted January 30 2 hours ago, Cookie Monster said: Really like the stories that goes along with the photos. https://www.facebook.com/300800233366351/posts/pfbid02yYZH9WCSjaX4oVrjyTdyoEEFgnN31HedKtrkYNZSuPihcUS1Pi83vEALh3eeRYSl/ Sorry, things that are hunners of years old don't really do it for me, everyone to their own. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hamlet Posted January 31 Report Share Posted January 31 On 1/28/2023 at 3:12 PM, antrin said: Excellent pic. New for me. Wee Storie Street in the top right. I think. Agree wonderful picture. Not sure about Storie Street, close but I think it may be Canal Street. Canal Street Station and Stow Brae leading to Canal Street. Huge area for the coal merchants. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted January 31 Report Share Posted January 31 Agree wonderful picture. Not sure about Storie Street, close but I think it may be Canal Street. Canal Street Station and Stow Brae leading to Canal Street. Huge area for the coal merchants.Probably what is now Barr Place (dunno what it was then, but not a "Place" - maybe Barr Street). Storie Street would be almost opposite the junction of Stow Brae and Canal Street which is out of the picture at middle-right.Dunno if my memory is fuzzy or not but I seem to recall that end of Stow Brae (or maybe all of it) being called Station Road when I was a boy. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cookie Monster Posted January 31 Report Share Posted January 31 Excellent pic. New for me. Wee Storie Street in the top right. I think. Agree wonderful picture. Not sure about Storie Street, close but I think it may be Canal Street. Canal Street Station and Stow Brae leading to Canal Street. Huge area for the coal merchants.Probably what is now Barr Place (dunno what it was then, but not a "Place" - maybe Barr Street). Storie Street would be almost opposite the junction of Stow Brae and Canal Street which is out of the picture at middle-right.Dunno if my memory is fuzzy or not but I seem to recall that end of Stow Brae (or maybe all of it) being called Station Road when I was a boy.It's actually Barclay Street that antrin is referring to. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slarti Posted January 31 Report Share Posted January 31 It's actually Barclay Street that antrin is referring to.I was thinking that there might have been another street there that doesn't exist now. I think it may have been mentioned on this thread before - the name looks familiar. Surprised antrin got it wrong, after all he remembers the Abbey being built. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...