Paisley - My Pics Of Old Or Unusual Buildings Or Places Of Interest.

Sonny

Quite a number of pubs from The Charleston to the bottom of New Street in them days. 
I'm not sure if we went Moss St direction, even the top of New St was a blur.

I make it 12 by the time you get to Kennedy's (Charleston, Tannahills, Clachan, Balnagowan, Craig Dhu, Wellington, Tea Gardens, Afton, Corkers, George, the one that's now Andys Chippie, Kennedy's). Maybe even popping into Rowan Street for the Dooslan and whatever the place opposite it was called to make it 14. 9 are still (open) pubs.

1. Charleston Arms
2. Tannahills
3. The Clachan Bar
4. The Dooslan Stane
5. Balnagowan Arms
6. The Craig Dhu
7. The Wellington Bar
8. Tea Garden Tavern
9. The Afton Bar
10. Corkers
11. Avalon
12. The George
13. Joe Allans
14. Kennedy’s
15. Dusty Millar
16. Fiesta
17. Handy Bar
18. Reflections
19. Carnagies

It would be rude not to have a drink and compare scores in the 19th hole. [emoji6]

12 minutes ago, Cookie Monster said:

1. Charleston Arms
2. Tannahills
3. The Clachan Bar
4. The Dooslan Stane
5. Balnagowan Arms
6. The Craig Dhu
7. The Wellington Bar
8. Tea Garden Tavern
9. The Afton Bar
10. Corkers
11. Avalon
12. The George
13. Joe Allans
14. Kennedy’s
15. Dusty Millar
16. Fiesta
17. Handy Bar
18. Reflections
19. Carnagies

It would be rude not to have a drink and compare scores in the 19th hole. emoji6.png

I could ever only manage half round😂🤣😂 still always managed a few in 19th

1. Charleston Arms
2. Tannahills
3. The Clachan Bar
4. The Dooslan Stane
5. Balnagowan Arms
6. The Craig Dhu
7. The Wellington Bar
8. Tea Garden Tavern
9. The Afton Bar
10. Corkers
11. Avalon
12. The George
13. Joe Allans
14. Kennedy’s
15. Dusty Millar
16. Fiesta
17. Handy Bar
18. Reflections
19. Carnagies

It would be rude not to have a drink and compare scores in the 19th hole. [emoji6]

Avalon? Was that the old amusement arcade? Seem to recall now that there was a pub there for a short time.

8 hours ago, Cookie Monster said:

1. Charleston Arms
2. Tannahills
3. The Clachan Bar
4. The Dooslan Stane
5. Balnagowan Arms
6. The Craig Dhu
7. The Wellington Bar
8. Tea Garden Tavern
9. The Afton Bar
10. Corkers
11. Avalon
12. The George
13. Joe Allans
14. Kennedy’s
15. Dusty Millar
16. Fiesta
17. Handy Bar
18. Reflections
19. Carnagies

It would be rude not to have a drink and compare scores in the 19th hole. emoji6.png

We woukd have veered off to the Wine Bar.

Think we went further up, was there the Centurian opposite the Bull? 

We woukd have veered off to the Wine Bar.
Think we went further up, was there the Centurian opposite the Bull? 

Ya big girl's blouse. [emoji23]

Centurion? Dunno. Neither I or Cookie were about when the Antonine wall was being built so he would have been dead by the time we were born. We'll just take your word for it, auld yin. [emoji16]

1 minute ago, Slarti said:

Ya big girl's blouse. emoji23.png

Centurion? Dunno. Neither I or Cookie were about when the Antonine wall was being built so he would have been dead by the time we were born. We'll just take your word for it, auld yin. emoji16.png

Aye, the Wine Bar would have been way too trendy for you. 🕺🍺🥤

41 minutes ago, HSS said:

6F73474A-F20B-4601-BB3A-E4CC634DAF31.jpeg

Ian MacMillan (guitarist, song writer, musician, pop star with Blue [first iteration of that pop band name] ) lived with his mother and big brother Stuart in the top left, room and kitchen, of the 3 story building.

He now lives in Calif.

I last bumped into him on Earls Court Road in 1970.  He’d just been on Top of the Pops with Blue!

still working, afaik…

50 minutes ago, Eric Arthur Blair said:

Are you sure? Was it not further up where the bookie is now?

45 minutes ago, HSS said:

Don’t think so mate but I could be wrong

We spoke of this pub long ago  in the pubs thread.

I’ve posted in there.  A couple of possible answers…

44 minutes ago, Cookie Monster said:

Quite the investigator emoji6.png

I also went back to look on the street map history.  Only back to 2009 or so…

never thought of looking at the pipe work.  :)

But…. Could the Wellmeadow/Carbrooks HAVE been along where the bookies is…?

pre 2009?

22 hours ago, antrin said:

I also went back to look on the street map history.  Only back to 2009 or so…

never thought of looking at the pipe work.  :)

But…. Could the Wellmeadow/Carbrooks HAVE been along where the bookies is…?

pre 2009?

Tut!
NOT Carbrooks, as el hombre has already demonstrated….