Whisky Drinkers

thomsons dropped it

Santa arrived yesterday armed with a bottle of The Balvenie Doublewood....clap.gif

A fine bottle of Bordeaux Merlot....

A Bottle of Port

A Bottle of Chardonnay

And........4 LITRES of Smirnoff sorcerer.gifsorcerer.gif

Is there a message to be had ???

Yea...Nae wonder you got down the road so quickwhistling.gif .....And what did you drink after breakfast?

Edited by reborn saint

Favourite malts ( and there has been a few) got to be Old Pulteney and Glen Livet. Never bought anything other than the 12 yr olds though (well I am from Paisley). Like Islay malts but have to be in the mood.

Walking round Asdas with the wife the other day and I notice a bottle of Singleton on the shelf. I say to the wife I'm sure someone bought that for me a couple of years ago. I drank it but didnae particularly enjoy it.

Oh really says the wife.

Xmas day I pick up the bottle wrapped in xmas paper and know immediately by the shape of the bottle its the Singleton..........

From the wife!!!

And the moral of the story is never discuss whisky with your wife in Asdas 2 days before xmas.

Yea...Nae wonder you got down the road so quickwhistling.gif .....And what did you drink after breakfast?

I am having dinner the noo,beginning to feel ok after yesterday , I have been dehydrating with a virus today but on the mend now hence drinking again drinks_cheers.gif

Celebrating today's result ....obviously.First drink since breakfast.

I am having dinner the noo,beginning to feel ok after yesterday , I have been dehydrating with a virus today but on the mend now hence drinking again drinks_cheers.gif

Celebrating today's result ....obviously.First drink since breakfast.

Coys.......We are back on song!.....MOJO engaged....Paul back!.....McLean going and 3 new players in.....McGinn looking great!....Thommo doing the buisness as usual.....watch out top 6 cause here we come

Off on a boys beano to Skye in April. We're aiming to pitch up in or near Carbost, to walk a few hills, and do a tour of the Talisker distillery....probably in that order (perhaps....).

I opened the Scapa 16 year old the other week, and very nice it was too. Quite light and fresh, and easy to drink.

The Aberlour never fails to satisfy (that was my Hogmany/Ne'er day tipple). I rattled a third of the bottle without even realising it, and felt quite the thing the next day - always the sign of a good whisky in my experience. The 18 year old Glenlivet also got popped over the festive period. Not 100% sure about it, to be honest. A wee bit of an after-burn that might take a bit of getting used to. I'll enjoy acquiring a taste for it, though.

Back in the 80s, I had the good fortune to be part of the extended family of someone entitled to bottles of the cratur for not very much money. I used to get a litre of Laphroaig for £5. So cheap I never had to make the agonising decisions - feed the kids or buy single malt...

I was once approached by a bunch of English guys doing the Whisky Trail in Nairn for a recommendation (I'm Scots, so my opinion apparently carries weight!). I told them you couldn't beat a belt of Laphroiag. They shunned me like a warped practical joker when they tried it. Islay whiskies sort the men from the little boys.

I'm convinced a drop of water is needed to release the hidden depths of malt. Others disagree.

The thought of any malt and coke and ice would make me puke. Malt whisky is a drink that is savoured and not drank. Either take it neat or preferably with a small dash of water at room temperature ( ice kills whisky). Use a proper whisky tasting glass and not a half pint glass smile.png . Smell it first. Take in the aroma. Then a little on your tongue to swirl around your mouth to taste all the flavours. Then sip very slowly over a long period. Really taste it. You don't throw it back with shit like coke. Go on Poz give it another go with a decent malt of distinct taste - try the Old Pultenay.

I'll need to go and pour myself one now smile.png

Spoken like a true professional - a wee drop of water (in Scotland the draught kind'll do, only use bottled in the S of Englandshire) releases the flavour. I have the happy burden of being the Quality Manager for the company that produces said Old Pulteney (distilled in Wick, but bottled in Airdrie). Even so, all this talk of the Islay monsters has my head shaking. I spent one night at the Tarbert Hotel in Seamill drinking only Laphroaig and could only open one eye for most of the next day. I still find Ardbeg to be almost impossible to drink.

Any decent malt aged in sherry casks is usually a winner.

Edited by Happy Buddie

Back in the 80s, I had the good fortune to be part of the extended family of someone entitled to bottles of the cratur for not very much money. I used to get a litre of Laphroaig for £5. So cheap I never had to make the agonising decisions - feed the kids or buy single malt...

I was once approached by a bunch of English guys doing the Whisky Trail in Nairn for a recommendation (I'm Scots, so my opinion apparently carries weight!). I told them you couldn't beat a belt of Laphroiag. They shunned me like a warped practical joker when they tried it. Islay whiskies sort the men from the little boys.

I'm convinced a drop of water is needed to release the hidden depths of malt. Others disagree.

Laphroiag Is a required taste it has a love hate relationship with whisky drinkers. To me it’s like something you would buy at the Pharmacy yet here is me a lover of Islay whisky. Just bought Macallan special reserve makers edition in Dubai. In fact I bought a bottle of Rum also with only the Rum coming off my card so looks like I got the Macallan for nothing. This for the collection as it’s a limited edition and should go for a reasonable price at auction in the next 10 to 15 years.

It wasn't that long ago that blends were considered superior to single malts, funny how the world turns. It's all just whisky, not magic. Just bought a bottle of Black Bottle, a steal at £14 at Morrisons. I always buy it if I see it, and find it stands up well against many single malts costing a tenner more per bottle but Talisker is my current number one. A wee dram for the buds shall be imbibed...

Edited by Barney63

I was browsing the whisky.com site and stumbled across this expert advice on keeping opened bottles on their forum. Worth a wee read:

Cold: Yes, temperature affects a product.

Sometimes for the good, sometimes the bad. For example, citrus and
tropical fruits (raw) are negatively affected by extended periods cold.
As for alcohol, wines begin oxidizing once they're opened, and
refrigeration can, for a short time, minimize the speed with which
oxidation affects wine. Without refrigeration, most wines will show
oxidative effects within 24-36 hours, if you know what you're looking
for, and be pretty poor drinking 36-72 hours out from opening.
Refrigeration isn't always helpful, however, but for those positively
aided, I find an opened wine may achieve 2-3 days extra life if
refrigerated. And this more for red wine than white.

As for spirits, the same will play out, but over a much longer period
whence understanding the major negative oxidative influences have
already played out during the distillation and maturation processes.
Thus, spirits stay better once opened than wine, apple juice...

A question here is, how long will a bottle of spirits stay drinkable
once opened? This depends on the spirit and bottling, of course. In my
opinion, most rums keep well for shorter periods due to their often
higher sugar contents. Tequilas and many brandies are the next to go.
Then Bourbon and Canadian whisky. Then Scotch and finally vodka. There
are many reasons for this pecking order which may include the base
ingredient(s), the quality of the distiller, mass or handcrafted
production, filtration, storage conditions during maturation, storage
conditions after production (transport, warehousing, market, consumer's
stash).

As an example for Scotch, a mass market whisky like Johnnie Walker,
Dewar's, and many standard bottlings of malts like Glenmorangie and
Macallan will go through chill filtering and/or a possible color
adulteration. These processes, especially the filtering, makes for a
much more stable product. They subsequently change less once opened
than non-chill filtered whisky because the later have more compounds
susceptible to change. Thus, the mass market brands often hold up
longer once opened than the more hand crafted bottlings. This greatly
depends on the product, however, as many mass produced products are
quite poor from the get go.

Crown Royal is a mass produced product and slowing its decline once
opened by refrigeration will be minimal compared to what a cool, dark
storage cabinet will provide. A benefit of refrigeration, however, for
the consumer who might drink it over ice and like it cold, is it is cold
and not needing ice when they're ready to drink.

Length of Time Once Opened: I find quality mass market spirits
should be consumed within the following time frame before negative
oxidative affects start becoming obvious and ultimately problematic.

Light rums 3-12 months; dark rums 6-18 months; tequila blanco 3-9
months; tequila reposado and anejo 6-18 months; brandies 3-12 months;
Bourbon and Canadian whisky 12-24 months; Scotch whisky 12-30 months.
Vodka is a unique case because it is usually distilled to show next to
nothing and is, subsequently, capable of lasting a long time. However,
much mass market vodka is garbage and lasts a very short time before off
aromas and flavors appear. So, vodka 3-36 months. For hand crafted
spirits, knock 6 months off these numbers. For low quality spirits, why
bother?

Storage conditions, of course, are important and any particular spirit
may survive well outside of this guideline. But don't think the bottle
of something you've had open 3-10 years is as good as the same bottling
that's only been open a month or two, whether or not it is was
refrigerated.

I've had a lot of poor spirits in bars and restaurants. Part of the
problem is the more unique bottlings you find out aren't turned very
quickly, and they sit on the shelf, back lit, in an environment with
continual temperature fluctuation. Thus, I've learned and tend to drink
very standard stuff like Macallan, Glenfiddich, Glenlivet and
Glenmorangie when out because they're what most people know and are
therefore turned pretty frequently. One of the worst spirits I've ever
had out (compared to a dram from a freshly opened bottle) is Remy's
Louis XIII Cognac; at $150-250 a dram, a place that has it opened has
likely had it open 5-10 years and, if so, it will be drink poorly.

I follow a drinking path rather than a storage path, once something is
open. After all, a 750 ml bottle is only 1 ounce 25-26 drams, and
having a dozen whiskies open at a time means you should be rotating your
open stock at least yearly. If you only buy one whisky at a time, you
should be through it within two months. If you're not getting through
it that fast, I suggest enjoying more frequently and never having to
worry about a bottle declining to the point of being poor.

Most consumers don't have this level of experience with being able to
identify a poor drinking spirit because of how long it has been open.
If they have an old bottle at home, what do they have to compare it to?
That said, if understanding this, it can be learned quite quickly. My
hope here is, if you ever get a crappy dram out somewhere, you have the
knowledge and confidence to send it back - because you're surely going
to need to convince the bartender it's off.

ETA: source -

http://www.whisky.com/forum/showthread.php?p=118116