St Mirren V Celtic League Cup Semi Final

Just home from the southside. What an absolutely unbelievably astonishingly brilliant day! YAAAASSSSSSSS THOMMMMMOOOOO!!!!

It's nearly one o'clock in the morning the day AFTER the match - you have had a good day !!! good effort buddie ! Lol

Gonny just qualify ma patter wi an admission that I've no read this thread and I'm pished.

Just want to say that we f**kin bammed Sellick right up the day, done a big fitba right in their grills and f**kin deserved tae win.

Far as I'm concerned, it wis 3-1 and the only reason their wee shitey goal went in at the end wis so ma mate's brer could pick up 160 squeaks fur calling 3-2 the Buddies.

Every St Murn player the day wis brilliant, every fan wis brilliant and Danny Lennon got it spot on. Not a foot wrong fae anybody.

f**k Sellick, f**k the auld firm, f**k the shitebags and the doubters.

Good to, good to be, good to be a BUDDIE!

Great game, great performances, great sing songs by the fans, great pen save by sammo great tackles by carey, great defending by cheesy, goody, and dvz, great energy and movement by newton and teale, great composure by mcginn, great debut by concalves, great finish by tommo, great tactics and selection by danny and tommy craig, great play by subs

Aye. No a bad wee day all in all

I watched him and Danny at the final whistle. Neil Lennon was very gracious indeed towards Danny and Tommy Craig.

Well like I said he didn't mention us by name in the interview, indeed the only thing he said apart from Celtic underperforming were that neither of the penalties were merited implying we only got through due to a poor refereeing decision, I'll stick to my opinion that he (Neil Lennon) has no class.

On January the 27th, it was cold and grey,
Four thousand plus Buddies, watched Saints play.

On the field we had Samson, our goals he was in,

With Van Zanten, McAusland, Carey and Goodwin.

Teale, McGowan, McGinn and Newton,

Not one of them afraid to put the boot in.

Up front were Thomson and Goncalves the new lad,

With a point to prove that they weren’t that bad.

The scene was set, the players stood tall,
Not one seemed afraid, to get on the ball.
Right from the off they battled with heart,
And we were rewarded, with the perfect start.
Teale got the ball and moved it to Connor,
Who made a great pass, Isma taking the honour.
Now we were leading and showing our fight,
Giving the mighty Celtic, a helluva fright.
But just on halftime, a goal for the 'Tic,
Made us feel almost physically sick.
The second half began in the worst possible way,
With the ref pointing to the spot, wrongly, I'd say.
Mulgrew was the taker, Craig stood on his line,
The shot was good, but the save was sublime.
Samson was the hero, he kept the ball out,
And the fans in the south end continued to shout.
Then Saints were handed, a pen. of their own,
McGowan was there, and how to do it was shown.
In went the ball, and the Buddies were ahead,
Black'nWhite fans celebrate, As Saints again led.
It couldn't get better, you would have to believe,
But another twist was given, by our hero Steve.
He's been a Buddies’ fan, since he could recall,
And he had cause to celebrate as he got the ball,
A cross from the right, behind him it dropped,
But with an athletic stretch, he still made the shot.
In it went, now three one was the score,
And Stephen ran over, there was an almighty roar.

Danny rang changes, on came Barron then Mair,

With the time running out, we didn’t care.

Another sub for us, in the shape of Guy,

But it didn’t matter, as we were on a high.
And though Celtic scored, their tally to double,
It was far too late, to cause us some trouble.
The final whistle blew, and we stood to applaud,
Not just the team, but the whole of the squad

Another trip beckons, we’ll head for this ground,

In expectation of winning, the final round!

Edited to get the date bruddy right!bangin.gif

Thanks Budthebaker.

Walked down road to hampden with my laddie after parkin up through all i saw was celtic fans hate to sterotype them all but the majority seemed that way - pishin rain and wind - thought what f**k doin walkin with all these bigots - but '87 and motherwell recovery spring to mind and spurned on - We are the Saints !

Being surrounded by good buddies in full voice - feckin marvelous - the game - like a dream - said to my laddie afore Thommo would score - so chuffed for him - fell in walkway celebrating - cant even remember what goal that was, savour for rest of my life as will my laddie and us fellow buds, players and coaching, backrooom staff alike !

One of my goals in life is to see stmirren lift a cup at hampden with my lad before i pop my clogs - bring it on !

Walking back to the car, a few Celtic fans congratulated me on our win.

Fair do's. The rest were greetin' into their tricolours, so failed to spot my black and white scarf.

Today I'm resisting the temptation to text my wife's boss, who, as a Celtic ST holder, asked me if I wanted Juventus tickets so that I could see a team wearing black and white stripes give Celtic a game.

Pleasing. Exceedingly fcuking pleasing!

feel sorry for all those who couldn't go yesterday for various reasons like - the day ended in a Y , we would be sitting the length or width of a football park away from undesirables, we would just be turning up to get humped, never mind there's always the final to make up new reasons not to go holiday.gif

Has Tommy Craig explained what the f*ck he was doing trapping the ball to let Celtic take a quick throw in when we were on the back foot just before half-time?

He wouldn't make it as a ball boy at Swansea.

actually the ball boys throwing on a ball would have been quicker than what tommy done,

I travelled back to the car that was parked up in Dumbarton via Queens park station, Central low level, and Partick.

Plenty of Buckie fuelled Shellic mouth-breathers on the trains, but, by and large, it was good natured (albeit one squad had a police escort following them from train to train).

When I got off at Partick to wait on my final homeward-bound train, I opted to let the frenzied mob take the first train that came along while I took a later one. This also allowed me to dig my scarf out of my jacket (previously stashed there on the grounds that I was, by that time, the only Saints fan in obvious circulation).

As I put the scarf on again, a creepy wee guy shuffled over to me and said something along the lines of - 'you'll be happy tonight'. 'Aye, that's for sure', came my reply, upon which this rat-faced runt responded - 'they're a bunch of ******** c*nts anyway'. There ended that little exchange, but what tickled me was the fact that standing right next to me was another bloke - biggish guy, middle-aged - who then told me that we deserved to win the game...best team etc. Turns out this guy was a Celtic supporter who had been at the game. He wasn't sporting the colours, so the wee sevco runt hadn't clocked him when he made his earlier comment. It was amusing to see him shrink away a wee bit, and then try to change his tone for want of incurring the other guy's wrath.

To be fair, the Celtic supporter was a very sound bloke, and we had a blether about the match. He also took the opportunity to have a fly dig at sevco for the runt's benefit, as was his entitlement in the circumstances.

I travelled back to the car that was parked up in Dumbarton via Queens park station, Central low level, and Partick.

Plenty of Buckie fuelled Shellic mouth-breathers on the trains, but, by and large, it was good natured (albeit one squad had a police escort following them from train to train).

When I got off at Partick to wait on my final homeward-bound train, I opted to let the frenzied mob take the first train that came along while I took a later one. This also allowed me to dig my scarf out of my jacket (previously stashed there on the grounds that I was, by that time, the only Saints fan in obvious circulation).

As I put the scarf on again, a creepy wee guy shuffled over to me and something along the lines of - 'you'll be happy tonight'. 'Aye, that's for sure', came my reply, upon which this rat-faced runt responded - 'they're a bunch of ******** c*nts anyway'. There ended that little exchange, but what tickled me was the fact that standing right next to me was another bloke - biggish guy, middle-aged - who then told me that we deserved to win the game...best team etc. Turns out this guy was a Celtic supporter who had been at the game. He wasn't sporting the colours, so the wee sevco runt hadn't clocked him when he made his earlier comment. It was amusing to see him shrink away a wee bit, and then try to change his tone for want of incurring the other guy's wrath.

To be fair, the Celtic supporter was a very sound bloke, and we had a blether about the match. He also took the opportunity to have a fly dig at sevco for the runt's benefit, as was his entitlement in the circumstances.

Hearts get a bad press from some and I know there is bad blood historically between us and them. However, it makes this final so much more special knowing that we won't have to put up with any of that nonsense above.

We've been accused in the past of being Celtic sympathisers, Hearts of being Rangers sympathisers, and no doubt the odd neutral take that view for the final in deciding who to support. However, by and large, Hampden will be filled with good, honest football fans who support their team on football grounds and nothing else.

I didn't attend Hampden yesterday for a few reasons, and while I'm a bit sad that I didn't experience it first hand, I was on the edge of my sofa the whole way through. I genuinely thought I was having a coronary when Thommo's goal went in! And even if it was one of the Old Firm we were playing in the final, of course I'd be there.

But knowing now I will be attending that match with, almost to a man, genuine, honest football fans on both sides is a massive, massive plus for me. You get good guys supporting the Old Firm, but it doesn't come across sadly when certain songs get sung, and I felt physically sick in 2010 when we had to put up with some of the bile that came from the Rangers fans above us. Any Hearts fan that I've come across, while still mindful of 1986, supports their club for one reason: football. And that's all they talk about.

Hearts' most influential song was written, AFAIK, by a St Mirren fan. That kind of says it all for me.

May the best team win. :)