Gardeners Corner

Any tips on what to do with a lawn that is mostly moss and dandelions. I tried applying the aftercut granules but that was 2 weeks ago and the dandelions are still there, it did kill some of the moss but not all of it.

Cheers.

Try a bag of lawn sand for the moss. Throw an additional wee handful of granules on the weeds or buy a spot kill spray..............but one that's suitable for lawn use........... and don't make the mistake I did one year

Hilarious...

Of all the threads in here where you could go in and continue to troll me, you pick one of the most interesting where people are sharing their knowledge and love of gardening. It's probably best you get to your bed now - school tomorrow.

Tick tock.....................oh wait, you've heard this before, ya fanny. lol.giflol.giflol.gif

What kind of life do you have that drives you to continue to create aliases and continue with your same old nonsense and then implode?

Doesn't it worry you that your whole life is driven by being a cock?

Answers on a postcard. bangin.gifbangin.gifbangin.gif

Done some major planting in my garden last few weekends.

Gooseberry bush and blueberry bush don't appear to be doing too well :( However the azaela bushes and lavender plants are doing superbly.

Last years rhubarb plant is also having a great year, will get some pics on when i can.

Any tips on what to do with a lawn that is mostly moss and dandelions. I tried applying the aftercut granules but that was 2 weeks ago and the dandelions are still there, it did kill some of the moss but not all of it.

Cheers.

I do believe our esteemed lord & master mentioned in a previous thread that he'd dug up his crappy lawn and was now a firm believer in artificial turf - it can look really good (as anyone who has visited Las Vegas can testify since) but I'd be more tempted to pave the bloody lot.

Mr Eddy is very fond of his garden but I see it as a chore - he once asked me "if anything happened to me, would you look after my garden?" To which I replied "no, I'd buy a flat".

He's buggered off to London for work this week and I've been left in charge of the watering schedule & even if it rains I've still got the greenhouse & the cold frame - pray its all still alive by the time he returns won't you?

I do believe our esteemed lord & master mentioned in a previous thread that he'd dug up his crappy lawn and was now a firm believer in artificial turf - it can look really good (as anyone who has visited Las Vegas can testify since) but I'd be more tempted to pave the bloody lot.

Mr Eddy is very fond of his garden but I see it as a chore - he once asked me "if anything happened to me, would you look after my garden?" To which I replied "no, I'd buy a flat".

He's buggered off to London for work this week and I've been left in charge of the watering schedule & even if it rains I've still got the greenhouse & the cold frame - pray its all still alive by the time he returns won't you?

Understandable with the amount of effort, sometimes I could "see it far enough" but there is a very satisfying feeling of a nicely cut lawn.

PS If you fancy it you can come up here and cut mine. lol.gif

My late Granny had artificial turf. It was great for someone of her age and mobility.

lol.giflol.giflol.gif

Obi played the "granny" card on a regular basis.

You're that stupid you can't help the fact your still the same mad cnut as you were when you came up with Tracy/DAIR/Obi/Tony A and Jakub..........................sad doesn't cover it, ya loony. lol.giflol.giflol.giflol.giflol.gif

Cheers.

I asked my neighbour Crawford who experienced the same issues when gardening the uphill slope. He says get a strong gardener/farmer type that can give you a good plough, in fact get him to plough you at least four times. Then if you have the strength left fork with him round the back until your patch is smooth and well furrowed.

Ok, this topic was slipping into obscurity so time for some progress photos

attachicon.gifleeks and neeps.JPGattachicon.gifporno courgette.JPGattachicon.giftomato jungle.JPGattachicon.giftriffid sweetcorns.JPGattachicon.giftaties and still pishy peas.JPG

Looking good Jocky thumbup2.gif

Ditto.

Something very satisfying about plants/green grass al looking neat.thumbup2.gif

No need for the porno courgette. lol.giflol.giflol.gif

Picked the first of our strawberries yesterday.They are late this year but worth waiting for..........best ever. smile.png

my strawberries were very tasty but not as many as I had hoped for. still waiting on the beetroot and the spuds. went to pick my chives but they had turned must remember to get them earlier next year.

I've had to buy all my strawberries, still tasty.

Hope this isn't too far off topic but I've noticed herds of sparrows around here in the last week or so.

Fly around in gangs of 8,10, 12 and seem to be having a great old time.

Is the good weather helping them multiply?

Naw, it's good sex that's helping them, ye auld tumshie. ( Back on topic )

Hope this isn't too far off topic but I've noticed herds of sparrows around here in the last week or so.

Fly around in gangs of 8,10, 12 and seem to be having a great old time.

Is the good weather helping them multiply?

It's a "host" of sparrows.