Taser The Tailgating Tumshies !

From tomorrow police will crackdown on pish driving, specifically on tailgating cnuts and middle lane hoggers.

Tasing will no happen but 100 pound fines and 3 penalty points for the culprits will.

GO GET THE FANNIES !

From tomorrow police will crackdown on pish driving, specifically on tailgating cnuts and middle lane hoggers.

Tasing will no happen but 100 pound fines and 3 penalty points for the culprits will.

GO GET THE FANNIES !

So they are targeting taxi drivers..? About time too

This would all be fine if they could give us a definition of lane hogging. How the feck do they judge that one unless it is screamingly obvious? Could actually lead to more accidents as people constantly switch lanes? I'm all for it, but a definition would be nice.....

Dinnae be inquisitive !

Just dinnae dae it.

Dinnae hog !

Dinnae tail !

Dinnae dae baith or the big taser will zap ye.

The "crackdown" is really nothing of the sort.

£100 for mobile phone use is laughable.

The problem of driving on our roads won't be solved until we stop seeing car ownership as a right rather than a privilege.

The terms careless, reckless and dangerous should be replaced by negligent.

A critical driving infringement (i.e. causing death or serious injury due to negligent driving) should lead to a minimum 10 year ban followed by mandatory retesting every 3 years for life.

Two violations should lead to a lifetime ban.

All major driving infringements should be met with a mandatory minimum 24 month ban followed by mandatory retesting every 3 years for life.

"Major infringement" should include the following at least:-

1) Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or falling asleep at the wheel.

2) Causing an accident of any description due to negligent driving.

3) Driving without full MOT, insurance and road tax.

4) Repeat serious infringement in a 10 year period.

All serious driving infringements should be met with a 12 week ban and a mandatory retest.

Serious driving infringements are:-

1) Tailgaiting.

2) General negligence.

3) Speeding.

This set of rules would probably be culture changing IMO.

It's way too difficult to lose your licence.

Almost impossible in fact.

That must change.

The thousands killed and maimed every year deserve it.

Interesting that if a man shot 50 people in the street we'd have people demanding action.

Every year we lose the equivalent of a small town due to negligence on our roads and the silence is deafening.

Can ANYONE explain this?

GO GET THE FANNIES !

Should also fine those that dont bother their @*$! indicating when pulling out in front of you.

Tailgating fine ? Great idea.

& while were at it,

Clampdown on :

Taxis & private hire who Feel that parking rules dont apply to them, I dont give a f**k if your picking up a fare ,it doesn`t give you the right to park 6 ft from the kerb / In yellow box zones / on Zigzags / on corners / double park.... etc

Taxis (especially black cabs )who Think its OK to do a u-turn without indicating.

Mcgills wankers who were off driving school the day when they were showing how the indicators work.bootyshake.gif

HGV Drivers....... just because ! rolleyes.gif

Cyclists who..... ok , dont want to go over old ground ! cool.png

The "crackdown" is really nothing of the sort.

£100 for mobile phone use is laughable.

The problem of driving on our roads won't be solved until we stop seeing car ownership as a right rather than a privilege.

The terms careless, reckless and dangerous should be replaced by negligent.

A critical driving infringement (i.e. causing death or serious injury due to negligent driving) should lead to a minimum 10 year ban followed by mandatory retesting every 3 years for life.

All major driving infringements should be met with a mandatory minimum 24 month ban followed by mandatory retesting every 3 years for life.

"Major infringement" should include the following at least:-

1) Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs or falling asleep at the wheel.

2) Causing an accident of any description due to negligent driving.

3) Driving without full MOT, insurance and road tax.

4) Repeat serious infringement in a 10 year period.

All serious driving infringements should be met with a 12 week ban and a mandatory retest.

Serious driving infringements are:-

1) Tailgaiting.

2) General negligence.

3) Speeding.

This set of rules would probably be culture changing IMO.

It's way too difficult to lose your licence.

Almost impossible in fact.

That must change.

The thousands killed and maimed every year deserve it.

Interesting that if a man shot 50 people in the street we'd have people demanding action.

Every year we lose the equivalent of a small town due to negligence on our roads and the silence is deafening.

Can ANYONE explain this?

I know you said that you were into socialisim but I didn't realise you meant National Socialisim. .

Aye , but it sounds like the same ethos. Has Reynard hacked your account. .

You see similarities between gassing jews and removing the driving licences of those convincted of dangerous driving offences?

Sorry bud, I'm not getting this at all.

If it's humour then it's pretty wide of the mark - even for me and I'll find laughter in most things.

If you're serious then..........

Thank you shull. You're a gentleman. Did I ever tell you that?

Tenner is in the post just like we agreed.

you've been ripped aff... everyone else pays a fiver for a BJ and thats with teeth in!

You see similarities between gassing jews and removing the driving licences of those convincted of dangerous driving offences?

Sorry bud, I'm not getting this at all.

If it's humour then it's pretty wide of the mark - even for me and I'll find laughter in most things.

If you're serious then..........

It seems now that all our government is capable of is , further legislation. They haven't realised that there are some things that you can't legislate for . I can name 3 cyclists that are no longer with us because drivers that you label as negligent , effectively killed them . However , I realised a while ago that there are some things you can't legislate for . .

A few years ago now , the government banned hand guns . There was a huge campaign to get it done . Since then gun crime has increased . The law stopped honest people having guns, that is all. A few years before that , the government brought in breathalisers and made drink driving a serious crime but every year people still get done for it. .

Do you ever see people using mobile phones whilst driving ? Of course you do , I see it happen everyday but remember there is the legislation. .

So now we have a f**ken tailgating law . Do you really think the polis wouldn't do you for that before yesterday , if they had wanted . .

I think we're going about this arse from elbow.

Look at modern technology. Already insurance companies are fitting telematics devices to cars free of charge. Some new cars now coming off the production line with them installed as standard. At the moment they are being promoted as a means of allowing a young driver to get their car insurance for less if they can prove, using the device, that they are a good driver. Gets these boxes fitted in all cars as standard, and get camera's fitted and connected as well. Now you stand a much better chance of stamping out fraudulent insurance claims, car thefts (telematics have gps trackers) and a means of identifying poor driving practices allowing an opportunity to offer instruction to the errant driver. If the driver then fails to modify their driving habits their insurance costs would increase.

Similarly the same technology could be used to immediately identify uninsured vehicles on the road with the tracking device helping guide the police to the person breaking the law and the camera providing all they evidence they would need.

The new legislation is too reliant on chance - the chance that a policeman may witness some bad driving, and then that they may chose to do something about it. Even then the TV evidence today showed that police were pulling over these drivers and giving verbal warnings rather than fixed penalties.

It seems now that all our government is capable of is , further legislation. They haven't realised that there are some things that you can't legislate for . I can name 3 cyclists that are no longer with us because drivers that you label as negligent , effectively killed them . However , I realised a while ago that there are some things you can't legislate for . .

A few years ago now , the government banned hand guns . There was a huge campaign to get it done . Since then gun crime has increased . The law stopped honest people having guns, that is all. A few years before that , the government brought in breathalisers and made drink driving a serious crime but every year people still get done for it. .

Do you ever see people using mobile phones whilst driving ? Of course you do , I see it happen everyday but remember there is the legislation. .

So now we have a f**ken tailgating law . Do you really think the polis wouldn't do you for that before yesterday , if they had wanted . .

The legislation should be there to remove negligent drivers from the road.

Without it they can stay on the road almost indefinitely. Even if they kill someone they get their licence back usually.

That's the problem and it needs legislation to change that.

Are you really wanting to keep negligent drivers on the road? I can't believe you agree with that?

BTW the job of government is to legislate. That is it's purpose. It's why the job appeals to so many lawyers and administrators.

They set the rules and then business takes over and actually runs things.

The guts of the legislation isn't the issue. It's the punishments currently handed out which don't encourage good driving.

All I'm suggesting is that we have punishments which reflect the seriousness of the problem which is that thousands are killed and maimed each year by incompetent twats who believe the road is theirs.

I think we're going about this arse from elbow.

Look at modern technology. Already insurance companies are fitting telematics devices to cars free of charge. Some new cars now coming off the production line with them installed as standard. At the moment they are being promoted as a means of allowing a young driver to get their car insurance for less if they can prove, using the device, that they are a good driver. Gets these boxes fitted in all cars as standard, and get camera's fitted and connected as well. Now you stand a much better chance of stamping out fraudulent insurance claims, car thefts (telematics have gps trackers) and a means of identifying poor driving practices allowing an opportunity to offer instruction to the errant driver. If the driver then fails to modify their driving habits their insurance costs would increase.

Similarly the same technology could be used to immediately identify uninsured vehicles on the road with the tracking device helping guide the police to the person breaking the law and the camera providing all they evidence they would need.

The new legislation is too reliant on chance - the chance that a policeman may witness some bad driving, and then that they may chose to do something about it. Even then the TV evidence today showed that police were pulling over these drivers and giving verbal warnings rather than fixed penalties.

I disagree with insurance companies getting access to this because being profit making entities they'll simply manipulate it to increase fees for everyone.

Sorry but that is a non starter straight away.

The idea of a black box is sound though and should be mandatory.

The black box should be used in an accident to determine cause with the punishments I've listed.

BTW I'm looking forward to the day where cars drive themselves.

It'll remove traffic jams, optimise road usage and almost eliminate accidents.

Don't think I'll ever see it though. People have come to associate cars not as a handy product for getting places but with freedom itself.

The legislation should be there to remove negligent drivers from the road.

Without it they can stay on the road almost indefinitely. Even if they kill someone they get their licence back usually.

That's the problem and it needs legislation to change that.

Are you really wanting to keep negligent drivers on the road? I can't believe you agree with that?

BTW the job of government is to legislate. That is it's purpose. It's why the job appeals to so many lawyers and administrators.

They set the rules and then business takes over and actually runs things.

The guts of the legislation isn't the issue. It's the punishments currently handed out which don't encourage good driving.

All I'm suggesting is that we have punishments which reflect the seriousness of the problem which is that thousands are killed and maimed each year by incompetent twats who believe the road is theirs.

I witnessed an incident in a well known retailers car park on Thursday. An old couple "cut up" a guy trying to negotiate the carpark . The guy , (who was probably about 30) , starts to tell the old couple (around 70yrs old) how bad their driving is (which is true) , he throws in a couple of expletives and the old guy(whom is the passenger) gets out of the car and starts to say that the young guy has no right to talk to him like that (also true). Now you could say the old couple were negligent but I wouldn't want them to be criminalised. .

The responsibility level of the whole society has slipped , in case you didn't notice. Vast swathes of the populace no longer , give a f**k about anyone but themselves. Legislation wont fix that . Possibly , improvements in education might . You need to remember , the people in the cars that have low responsibility are still like that when they get out their cars. .

The government is there to govern which means a bit more than burying the populace with White Papers and heaps of laws . They know that , these new laws are likely to change nothing but they will create another much needed revenue flow for the empty coffers. .

I can see it happening fairly soon, oaky, the technology's just about there now (for major roads, anyway) - satnav to guide you, radar to stop you running into the car in front, lane correction, cruise control, etc.

Yeh all the technology is there , automatic braking and sat-nav that can be updated very quickly would be some of the final bits of the jigsaw. .we already have engines that cut themselves off. .

I witnessed an incident in a well known retailers car park on Thursday. An old couple "cut up" a guy trying to negotiate the carpark . The guy , (who was probably about 30) , starts to tell the old couple (around 70yrs old) how bad their driving is (which is true) , he throws in a couple of expletives and the old guy(whom is the passenger) gets out of the car and starts to say that the young guy has no right to talk to him like that (also true). Now you could say the old couple were negligent but I wouldn't want them to be criminalised. .

The responsibility level of the whole society has slipped , in case you didn't notice. Vast swathes of the populace no longer , give a f**k about anyone but themselves. Legislation wont fix that . Possibly , improvements in education might . You need to remember , the people in the cars that have low responsibility are still like that when they get out their cars. .

The government is there to govern which means a bit more than burying the populace with White Papers and heaps of laws . They know that , these new laws are likely to change nothing but they will create another much needed revenue flow for the empty coffers. .

Nobody is talking about criminalising anyone.

It's civil law we're talking about.

If the old woman can't drive properly then she's a liability and shouldn't be behind the wheel of a car.

Other people's safety surely is more important?

Education will certainly help but that's a long grass technique.

In the meantime we need to know that in the meantime swathes of negligent drivers will be removed from our roads.