Free Agents

norrie82

Yeah, that's exactly what I said................lol.giflol.giflol.gif

Funny you picked my post, oh forgot, you're a troll. bye1.gif

You *exactly* said that we should sign Riordan and had little to lose.

We'd either lose McGowan or McGinn, whose place Riordan would take, or we'd lose Riordan's wages.

The fact that you think that Riordan should replace McGowan or McGinn shows how clueless you really are! :lol:

As for the troll comment, takes one to know one. bye1.gif

It's clear Riordan was a great player once.

Now why do you think no-one decent is interested in him?

What could he be doing that would make no decent club even take him on trial?

It would be a pretty low risk signing for any top level club, so theres clearly something else - I'm sure you could probably work it out.

Like I said in the Riordan thread from the summer, I know he's a total waster and clearly has no real intention of making it as a top level footballer anymore.

Things must be bad when Hibs hunt you at pre season.

A talented player but his heid is wasted.

A few people think it would be a Roy of the Rovers story.

A washed up footballer gets another chance,works hard,recovers form and ends up a success.

Doesn't work like that

Things must be bad when Hibs hunt you at pre season.

A talented player but his heid is wasted.

A few people think it would be a Roy of the Rovers story.

A washed up footballer gets another chance,works hard,recovers form and ends up a success.

Doesn't work like that

Of course it wouldn't work like that, his names not Roy and were no the Rovers silly.

Aye, another early night for me, the resident loony is close to imploding, it's going to be messy, I've seen it all before, although its still amusing everyone's got his number. He he he

Aye, soon be Computa off and Fitba on the Telly.

Football is riddled with eejits, not just right now, but historically too. Seems to me the amount of tolerance shown to them is usually directly proportional to the talent they possess.

With regard to current-day examples, Balotelli is a madman, yet Mancini took him to Man City despite having witnessed the craziness when they were both previously at Inter. Now the same maniac has found a place at AC Milan.

Joey Barton has a reputation, both on and off the field that makes Riorden seem like a saint and his history of bad-boy antics goes back a long way, yet Harry Redknapp brings him back from Marseille and insists on playing him, even though Barton sowre he would never play in the Championship.

Others, including Suarez, Bellamy, Goodwillie and Ferguson, (which Ferguson? You choose), are only a few of the many available examples that show what will be tolerated where there is talent to consider.

Now maybe Riorden isn't in the same league (talent-wise) as the aforementioned eejits, but then again, the Saints ain't in the same league (figuratively speaking) as AC Milan, Man City, Liverpool and etc. For that reason, I'd go with the earlier suggestion of giving him 6 months to prove he's worth a chance.

As for who we would drop? Nobody. He would be back up for when needed, unless we decide to go with two main strikers in some games. If it works out, he could be the man to replace Thommo when he can no longer give us 40+ games per season.

Football is riddled with eejits, not just right now, but historically too. Seems to me the amount of tolerance shown to them is usually directly proportional to the talent they possess.

With regard to current-day examples, Balotelli is a madman, yet Mancini took him to Man City despite having witnessed the craziness when they were both previously at Inter. Now the same maniac has found a place at AC Milan.

Joey Barton has a reputation, both on and off the field that makes Riorden seem like a saint and his history of bad-boy antics goes back a long way, yet Harry Redknapp brings him back from Marseille and insists on playing him, even though Barton sowre he would never play in the Championship.

Others, including Suarez, Bellamy, Goodwillie and Ferguson, (which Ferguson? You choose), are only a few of the many available examples that show what will be tolerated where there is talent to consider.

Now maybe Riorden isn't in the same league (talent-wise) as the aforementioned eejits, but then again, the Saints ain't in the same league (figuratively speaking) as AC Milan, Man City, Liverpool and etc. For that reason, I'd go with the earlier suggestion of giving him 6 months to prove he's worth a chance.

As for who we would drop? Nobody. He would be back up for when needed, unless we decide to go with two main strikers in some games. If it works out, he could be the man to replace Thommo when he can no longer give us 40+ games per season.

Is Riordan a striker?

very astute post. he is deffo worth a deal to the next transfer window at least

Putting all the attitude stuff and the disruption he'd likely cause in the dressing room aside;

The 'third top goalscorer of all time' means nothing here. Riordan was never a clinical finisher; his goals/games ratio in the SPL is 37%, the same record Thompson has had since he joined us as a 34 year old.

Riordan is a player who relied on his pace and stamina, that has probably gone now, it certainly wouldn't reappear during a short term deal until January and there's no magical goalscoring touch that comes with him either.

There's no SPL club that will go near him and rightfully so. He's a complete and utter waster and I can't believe that there's some people here that would prefer spending money on him than giving a youth player a chance, the same we've done with McGinn, Kelly, McLean & Naismith this season.

Putting all the attitude stuff and the disruption he'd likely cause in the dressing room aside;

The 'third top goalscorer of all time' means nothing here. Riordan was never a clinical finisher; his goals/games ratio in the SPL is 37%, the same record Thompson has had since he joined us as a 34 year old.

Riordan is a player who relied on his pace and stamina, that has probably gone now, it certainly wouldn't reappear during a short term deal until January and there's no magical goalscoring touch that comes with him either.

There's no SPL club that will go near him and rightfully so. He's a complete and utter waster and I can't believe that there's some people here that would prefer spending money on him than giving a youth player a chance, the same we've done with McGinn, Kelly, McLean & Naismith this season.

Absolutely this!

Like you, I'm staggered that people would have the club part with a brass ha'penny for this halfwit. Even if the guy still has anything about him, he'd be so far off match fitness at this level of football that he'd need a dozen U-20 matches to stand even the remotest chance of getting into the 1st team squad. Quite why anyone would consider squandering a place on the wage bill/sacrificing space that could be utilised by a future prospect for this cretin is utterly baffling.

Aye, its all about opinions right enough....

Absolutely this!

Like you, I'm staggered that people would have the club part with a brass ha'penny for this halfwit. Even if the guy still has anything about him, he'd be so far off match fitness at this level of football that he'd need a dozen U-20 matches to stand even the remotest chance of getting into the 1st team squad. Quite why anyone would consider squandering a place on the wage bill/sacrificing space that could be utilised by a future prospect for this cretin is utterly baffling.

Aye, its all about opinions right enough....

Nail on the head Drew, Riordan's agent has been hiking him around the lower league teams because he's basically done at the top level. Aside from the fact that he's no longer got the pace required for top level football his attitude and disruptive influence around the younger members of our squad wouldn't be worth the risk.

I would rather see the young Newcastle lad coming in for a Jan loan deal, or one of our own young players given the chance to impress ahead of the likes of Riordan.

He's had many chances to screw the nut and get his career back on track, but failed on every occasion. At one time a very gifted footballer but now a pale shadow of what he once was.