The Referendum Thread

Lanarkshire_Bud

Scottish Independence Referendum  

286 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Poor quality linwood buddie, adding nothing to any debate.

I think this is far more relevent

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/266027-scotland-is-facing-a-humanitarian-crisis-caused-by-poverty/

The "best of both worlds" and "the greatest union in the history of the world" - aye right

Maybe you haven't noticed ,but there has been nothing new added to this debate in a long time ,its the same stuff but only a different day ,and you did reply so in a way I have added too it .Plus the telly is crap .

lol.gif

Ach well, just wait until Scotland Tonight comes on and you can watch the story I linked to...

That's the best post on here in a long time, LB. Only another six months to go. Bloody hell! I'm finally out of it and I know I've said it before. I mean it this time. The result is a foregone conclusion. You can tell by the sheer desperation from some.

It's not a forgone conclusion, but you no guys are getting desperate Ricky!

The political blogs on the BBC news website are written by 'experts' and are analysis of current issues within the UK; as these are opinions they are much more open to bias. The main blogs are ALL open to comment by the public. Unless however you are trying to comment on Scottish issues, where shortly after the announcement of the referendum on independence, comments have been disabled.

post-8744-0-74542200-1393968678_thumb.jp

The political blogs on the BBC news website are written by 'experts' and are analysis of current issues within the UK; as these are opinions they are much more open to bias. The main blogs are ALL open to comment by the public. Unless however you are trying to comment on Scottish issues, where shortly after the announcement of the referendum on independence, comments have been disabled.

Might be easier to just refuse to pay the tv licence groucho...

Alistair Darling of the Better Together campaign said spending cuts were "the last thing families need."

He'd better disassociate himself from the Con-Dems, then.

Edited by salmonbuddie

Came across this piece in today's Herald.

Interesting to see how the common people in the rest of the world regard Scotland's bid for independence.

Inside Track: Thoughts on independence from the worldly wise
headshot-david-pratt_1.jpg
Foreign Editor, Sunday Herald
Wednesday 5 March 2014

I've been spending a lot of time on the road of late.

Over the past months I have journeyed in Africa, Latin America and recently returned to Bosnia whose bitter war during the break-up of the former Yugoslavia I covered back in the 1990s.

Last month I was sitting in a restaurant at Nairobi airport with a colleague, when an elderly Dutch couple approached our table. They had, it turned out, been on a Kenyan safari holiday.

"Forgive me, but I couldn't help overhearing your accent," said the man by way of an introduction before continuing.

"I just thought I'd wish you luck with the vote for independence in Scotland's forthcoming referendum."

When I asked what made him think I would be voting Yes, the man gave me a puzzled look before throwing the question back at me: "Why wouldn't you? It's a wonderful opportunity for Scotland," he insisted.

It wasn't the first or indeed last time that I've heard such pro-independence sentiments expressed in far-flung places. Indeed, many of the places where this has been most vociferous, have been those where - for understandable reasons - you might expect the very words independence or separatism to give people pause for thought or wariness.

South Sudan is the world's youngest nation, having only achieved its independence from the Republic of Sudan's northern rulers in Khartoum in 2011. Recently while in the capital, Juba, I listened as some men laid out their reasoning with an incredible grasp of the issues at the heart of the Scottish independence debate, as to why they thought it good for Scotland to vote Yes.

Not only was I amazed by their knowledge of the case for and against, but the fact too that this discussion was happening in a country still struggling with tensions that have brewed since its own separation from a large powerful neighbour of which it was once part.

Likewise, while in Bosnia a few weeks ago as part of a charity initiative delegation to learn from the lessons of the Srebrenica massacre and genocide, I was consistently quizzed on my view of Scottish independence. What struck me most about these Bosnian encounters was that even here, in a European country that faces continuing difficulties as a result of the war and subsequent political division of the nation into two entities under the Dayton Accord, Bosnians I met almost unanimously thought Scottish independence a positive thing.

From Juba to Bosnia and beyond, three things have struck me about the Scottish independence issue. The first is that whatever the resonance of the debate here, there is no doubt that it has now caught the imagination of people globally.

The second is that even in countries all too familiar with the risks and costs that political separation brings, the anecdotal evidence suggests people still think it a cause we Scots should embrace. Viewed through the prism of such people and their experiences, the ludicrous scaremongering that has been a hallmark of the debate within the UK can be seen for the nonsense that it is. If such people are not afraid, why should we Scots be?

Old ground - boring.

Interesting. You three have spent about 30 posts combined trying to convince people to stop talking about this issue.

Who does that in a free democracy?

Argue yes.

Disagree yes.

But try and prevent a discussion at all by any means? Two of you don't even have a fecking vote!!!

As for Rick, it will be a relief to find you posting something ANYTHING on at least one thread where you're not busy telling people what to do or think, who they should ignore and who they should applaud. Leave people alone to make up their own minds FFS.

None of you are in a position to comment about the quality of anyone else's posts.

The three of you are destructive time wasters and frankly it's bordering on outright trolling - on this thread anyway.

Honestly you're like a bunch of bloody schoolkids. Two of you are grandparents as well.

Interesting. You three have spent about 30 posts combined trying to convince people to stop talking about this issue.

Argue yes.

Disagree yes.

But try and prevent a discussion at all by any means? Two of you don't even have a fecking vote!!!

As for Rick, it will be a relief to find you posting something ANYTHING on at least one thread where you're not busy telling people what to do or think, who they should ignore and who they should applaud. Leave people alone to make up their own minds FFS.

None of you are in a position to comment about the quality of anyone else's posts.

The three of you are destructive time wasters and frankly it's bordering on outright trolling - on this thread anyway.

Honestly you're like a bunch of bloody schoolkids. Two of you are grandparents as well.

Ach, now, now diddums, don't cry. Mummy will get you a wee tissue. The big boys won't shout at you again. We'll get you a new dummy for Christmas. Just keep sucking your thumb for a wee while.

Honest to f**k. Talk about meltdown? I don't generally read either you or Dicko but can't miss at the moment because you're both all over the place like a rash. You, Oaky, are to the Yes campaign what Dicko is to the No campaign. You both do more damage than good to your respective causes. Look at your rant and then take a good look at yourself.

For the sake of accuracy, which I know is foreign to you, point out once where I have said to anyone who they should vote for. I'd be a No if I could be, you're a Yes person which you've made very clear (Even Yes if Scotland were to be worse off- and that's straight from your own big gub) so why are my comments perceived to be different in intent to yours? You belittle in your infantile way anyone who wants to vote No.

So far as stopping discussion is concerned, I can see why general elections are normally restricted to six weeks of discussion. This bloody rigmarole has gone on too long already and I know Yes and No voters who are as brassed off as I am already. I think some of the guys on here if they were being honest would admit it too.

Keep taking the pills. You know it makes sense. Yes, I'm a grandfather. My kids and grandchildren enjoy Christmas before you ask. Who is the other grandfather? Ach, never mind. I don't want to hear from you again.

"No one should be under any illusion that voting for independence means getting independence, which means becoming a new country outside the UK”

David Mundell

Scotland Office minister

Another intellectual heavyweight weighs into the debate....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-26424658

"No one should be under any illusion that voting for independence means getting independence, which means becoming a new country outside the UK”

David Mundell

Scotland Office minister

Another intellectual heavyweight weighs into the debate....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-26424658

That is a belter right enough. Another of the Mastermind contestents whose specialist subject was the bleeding obvious.

Came across this piece in today's Herald.

Interesting to see how the common people in the rest of the world regard Scotland's bid for independence.

Inside Track: Thoughts on independence from the worldly wise
headshot-david-pratt_1.jpg
Foreign Editor, Sunday Herald
Wednesday 5 March 2014

I've been spending a lot of time on the road of late.

Over the past months I have journeyed in Africa, Latin America and recently returned to Bosnia whose bitter war during the break-up of the former Yugoslavia I covered back in the 1990s.

Last month I was sitting in a restaurant at Nairobi airport with a colleague, when an elderly Dutch couple approached our table. They had, it turned out, been on a Kenyan safari holiday.

"Forgive me, but I couldn't help overhearing your accent," said the man by way of an introduction before continuing.

"I just thought I'd wish you luck with the vote for independence in Scotland's forthcoming referendum."

When I asked what made him think I would be voting Yes, the man gave me a puzzled look before throwing the question back at me: "Why wouldn't you? It's a wonderful opportunity for Scotland," he insisted.

It wasn't the first or indeed last time that I've heard such pro-independence sentiments expressed in far-flung places. Indeed, many of the places where this has been most vociferous, have been those where - for understandable reasons - you might expect the very words independence or separatism to give people pause for thought or wariness.

South Sudan is the world's youngest nation, having only achieved its independence from the Republic of Sudan's northern rulers in Khartoum in 2011. Recently while in the capital, Juba, I listened as some men laid out their reasoning with an incredible grasp of the issues at the heart of the Scottish independence debate, as to why they thought it good for Scotland to vote Yes.

Not only was I amazed by their knowledge of the case for and against, but the fact too that this discussion was happening in a country still struggling with tensions that have brewed since its own separation from a large powerful neighbour of which it was once part.

Likewise, while in Bosnia a few weeks ago as part of a charity initiative delegation to learn from the lessons of the Srebrenica massacre and genocide, I was consistently quizzed on my view of Scottish independence. What struck me most about these Bosnian encounters was that even here, in a European country that faces continuing difficulties as a result of the war and subsequent political division of the nation into two entities under the Dayton Accord, Bosnians I met almost unanimously thought Scottish independence a positive thing.

From Juba to Bosnia and beyond, three things have struck me about the Scottish independence issue. The first is that whatever the resonance of the debate here, there is no doubt that it has now caught the imagination of people globally.

The second is that even in countries all too familiar with the risks and costs that political separation brings, the anecdotal evidence suggests people still think it a cause we Scots should embrace. Viewed through the prism of such people and their experiences, the ludicrous scaremongering that has been a hallmark of the debate within the UK can be seen for the nonsense that it is. If such people are not afraid, why should we Scots be?

Aye well I've found you need to be careful when venturing worldwide about why people think Scotland should have independence.

Three years ago now I took the family on a trip to Hawai'i. O'Ahu to be exact. One night in the lift we were in was a BIG Texan. He had the hat and cowboy boots - real comic strip stuff. Anyway he heard us talking and got all excited. "You need to vote for Independence" he said. "We in Texas have wanted independence for decades now but that Muslim bastard Obama won't give us it. You need independence so you can rid yourself of all them niggers"

Fortunately at that point the lift doors opened and the four of us got out of the lift. We weren't even on the right floor.

Last October my son and I were in Florida - Tampa to be exact - at the Buccaneers game. We had a brilliant time in amongst some really friendly people most of whom were chatting away to us. Of course many of them had Scottish or Irish "in them" whatever that means. One guy clearly didn't like us much though. Turns out Kenny McAskill is a fanny - so therefore so are all Scots. :rolleyes:

Argue yes.

Disagree yes.

They say people in glass houses shouldn't throw stone's ,but in your case send me your address and I will get you a bag of boulders ,you have posted more than "The Forum Three" put together trying too force your view down peoples throats ,you are without any shadow of a doubt a complete diddy .Do me a favour and send anymore of your crap too www.giruyoaksyyamuppet.com ,

Ach, now, now diddums, don't cry. Mummy will get you a wee tissue. The big boys won't shout at you again. We'll get you a new dummy for Christmas. Just keep sucking your thumb for a wee while.

Honest to f**k. Talk about meltdown? I don't generally read either you or Dicko but can't miss at the moment because you're both all over the place like a rash. You, Oaky, are to the Yes campaign what Dicko is to the No campaign. You both do more damage than good to your respective causes. Look at your rant and then take a good look at yourself.

For the sake of accuracy, which I know is foreign to you, point out once where I have said to anyone who they should vote for. I'd be a No if I could be, you're a Yes person which you've made very clear (Even Yes if Scotland were to be worse off- and that's straight from your own big gub) so why are my comments perceived to be different in intent to yours? You belittle in your infantile way anyone who wants to vote No.

So far as stopping discussion is concerned, I can see why general elections are normally restricted to six weeks of discussion. This bloody rigmarole has gone on too long already and I know Yes and No voters who are as brassed off as I am already. I think some of the guys on here if they were being honest would admit it too.

Keep taking the pills. You know it makes sense. Yes, I'm a grandfather. My kids and grandchildren enjoy Christmas before you ask. Who is the other grandfather? Ach, never mind. I don't want to hear from you again.

He's mad ,completely lost any sense of reality .

No doubt about it. I knew he had posted more than the three of us put together because I've him on ignore and they show up easily. Have you noticed how often he posts two or three posts on the trot? I think he talks to himself. Explains a lot.

Why did you not take issue with this racist Texan?

If I experienced such virtriol and hatred in front of my family I'd have no option but to tell them that their behaviour is offensive.

He wasn't so shy with his fists when an aged man made an alleged bigoted remark.....................whistling.gif

Maybe the Texan was bigger than him in height. Obviously not in girth though.