The Referendum Thread

Lanarkshire_Bud

Scottish Independence Referendum  

286 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

This is Craig Murray explaining why Scotland's maritime border was changed .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRfutNCZa5c

look up oil and gas online. The west cost of Scotland has 100 years of oil and is in Scottish waters going to create in unimaginable wealth. Edited by Isle Of Bute Saint

One issue that really pisses me off is that many children in our country are going without education once again on Thursday when there are alternative options to host the polls.

I live in Elderslie and recently raised the issue with a local Councillor and suggested that the Village Hall is perfectly adequate, so why is this council facility not being used?

Dear Slash,

Further to your enquiry I am writing to advise that Wallace Primary School is always used on Election Day for voters in Elderslie. At the last review of Polling Places in Renfrewshire, no issues were raised regarding this matter.

I trust this is of assistance to you.

So I dug out the report from the meeting on December 2013 that shows the complete opposite. A representative from the Wallace PTA had raised the same request. The evaluation clearly states that the Village Hall is fit for purpose and meets all the criteria. The reason the request was rejected was mainly because "we've always used the school and it is centrally located"

attachicon.gifWallace.png

Many alternative locations including church halls, community centres and scout halls are used throughout the region.

The wrong people are in charge of our councils and our country.

I agree that Schools shouldn't be used as Polling Stations. The thing is though, like your attachment states, access for disabled voters are taken into consideration as are things like would the Fire Brigade/Police/Ambulance Services be able to gain access, park safely, carry out whatever work they needed to do and safely take any unwell/injured patrons out and away without being disturbed. One of my old work places used to be used as a Polling Station and when an older man pointed out that if anything went wrong in the building we'd all be up a creek without a paddle alternative arrangements were made for future polling days and expensive maintenance carried out, at the tax payers expense of course, before shutting down two years later. I do agree with you though as I said and I also totally agree with your last sentence.

Absolutely. Let's always remember the two faced Anne Hall who tried to veto St Mirren's move from Love Street and then a few years later was pictured in black and white at every opportunity at the Cup Final and celebrations thereafter.

And to think that they all get paid in region of £15,000 per annum.

Aye, but "wid ye"? tongue.png

It's a security issue regarding letting the general population, which includes the nutters, into a school when kids are in it. That only happens when George Robertson writes you reference for a firearms licence...

I'm with Slash on this though, my daughters school closed again when they could use the nearby library, although it officially sits in a neighbouring council ward.

I'd like the teachers to use election days as one of their in service days.

I wouldn't want to go to a Library. They're usually smelly and I'd never borrow a book as we all know folk read them in their bogs and don't wash their hands and continue reading. Pure filth.

If I remember correctly , Ellerslie near Kilmarnock , didn't appear on maps until the 18th C. The confusion arises from the fact that Wallace's uncle Richard , lived in Kilmarnock , hence we get Wallacetown and also Rickerton(Richardtown). .

ETA Ellerslie and Elderslie mean the same thing , basically the same word. .

My mate used to live beside Ellerslie Street. punk.gif

One thing that has intrigued me is why the unionists managed to get the actual ballot paper question wrong.

If the question had been 'do you want Scotland to remain part of the UK' or such like, that would have made the 'No' campaign the 'Yes' campaign and therefore the positive campaign. The 'Yes' campaign would have been teh negative campaign

Psychologically, the 'Yes / No' aspect to this will make a difference...

A fairer way would have surely been 2 questions, eg

Do you want Scotland to be independent?

Do you wish Scotland to remain part of the UK?

I've been told that there will be complaints that the choices are Yes or No.

The SNP wanted Aye on the west coast ballot papers, and Ken on the east coast ballot papers.

im worried about the 16-17 year old vote.this is the age group most people on here cannot be arsed with cause they hang about street corners under age drinking giving decent people abuse ,,,are now deemed the correct people to vote on OUR future,sorry but im still undecided but 16-17 year old don't really have a clue

My brother was in the Young Socialists when in school at 16/17.

Went to work in England and for a while became quite right wing.

Now an auld yin at 66 next month he is right in the middle.

My brother was in the Young Socialists when in school at 16/17.

Went to work in England and for a while became quite right wing.

Now an auld yin at 66 next month he is right in the middle.

I think that's quite a common path. Our education system is full of rabid left wing weirdos who are allowed to spread their propaganda at will.

<div id="fb-root"></div> <script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_GB/all.js#xfbml=1"; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>

<div class="fb-post" data-href="

" data-width="466"><div class="fb-xfbml-parse-ignore"><a href="
">Post</a> by <a href="https://www.facebook.com/kyle.rh.arnold">Kyle Arnold</a>.</div></div>

aCH f**k IT!

Edited by Vambo57

Don't remember them protesting in person outside the BBC offices though...

Why? Couldn't you make it?

Really? I nearly split my sides!

That just goes to prove that Bitter Together have not got a humorous bone in their decaying body.

If any on the No side wish a bet, I'll give you twice the odds the bookies are offering...

One issue that really pisses me off is that many children in our country are going without education once again on Thursday when there are alternative options to host the polls.

I live in Elderslie and recently raised the issue with a local Councillor and suggested that the Village Hall is perfectly adequate, so why is this council facility not being used?

Dear Slash,

Further to your enquiry I am writing to advise that Wallace Primary School is always used on Election Day for voters in Elderslie. At the last review of Polling Places in Renfrewshire, no issues were raised regarding this matter.

I trust this is of assistance to you.

So I dug out the report from the meeting on December 2013 that shows the complete opposite. A representative from the Wallace PTA had raised the same request. The evaluation clearly states that the Village Hall is fit for purpose and meets all the criteria. The reason the request was rejected was mainly because "we've always used the school and it is centrally located"

attachicon.gifWallace.png

Many alternative locations including church halls, community centres and scout halls are used throughout the region.

The wrong people are in charge of our councils and our country.

Is the Gospel Hall still there , across the road from the Primary and plenty of room?

Glad to see there are so many Buddies from the Village now , when I grew up in it was about 3 or 4 of us on a good day that went to the games , the rest went to the Dark Sides.