BuddieinEK Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 I have friends coming through to the centre of the universe next week for a graduation in the Abbey. They want to go for a meal afterwards. .. only specification is non-Indian. (Not racists... it's more a spice thing)! Where is good for a meal, near the Abbey, midweek? Thanks in advance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
zurich_allan Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Thai Siam Cardosi's La Mesa All excellent! :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
insaintee Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Thai Siam Cardosi's La Mesa All excellent! :-) Can't really add to that, Allens Chip shop is good for a more low key meal, There's a few other Italians that are a bit hit and miss and few decent Indians but nothing outstanding. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
madball Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Kwang Tung (sp?) on George Street is very good Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whydowebother Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Living in England as I have done for a long time , if you asked for a 'good nosh' down here it would not mean food Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HSS Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 I was in Bella Roma last Sun night.The food was lovely but I could have eaten the same again no problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest TPAFKATS Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Piccolo Mondo in Renfrew although it might require a friendly discounted taxi Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted October 24, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Piccolo Mondo in Renfrew although it might require a friendly discounted taxi oxymoron? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rabuddies Posted October 24, 2013 Report Share Posted October 24, 2013 Nothing stands out near the Abbey these days. There used to be a good little Italian in Silk Street which I used when I worked in Paisley 4/5 years ago. I know it had a face lift but whether it's still open I couldn't say. I lunch at Thai Siam in Lawn Streeta couple of Fridays a month and enjoy it (the lunch menu is pretty good but I think they also offer the full a la carte if you want to push the boat out). Cardosi's in Storie Street does a very good lunch menu but I would advise booking as it's quite popular on Graduation days. Piccolo Mondo in Renfrew is a favourite lunch haunt of the wife and her pal and I've never had a bad meal there. Was at the Glynhill recently but was not overly impressed. I would plump for Cardosi's just a short walk up the High Street - their lunch menu is here http://www.cardosis.com/menu.php?display=lunch Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SergioTacchiniGuy Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 I strongly recommend the Tapas place at the bottom of the Renfrew road and it will be well worth the few minutes that it takes to walk there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SergioTacchiniGuy Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 Living in England as I have done for a long time , if you asked for a 'good nosh' down here it would not mean food As soon as I saw the name of the thread that is exactly what I thought. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vambo57 Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 Gabriel's does very good bar food if thats what they are after Oh, and Hamishes Hoose on the High St of course! 2 for 1, and their Chicken St.Andrews & curly fries are superb. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foxbar_bud Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 (edited) If im ever out in Paisley we always head to Cardosis, just as nice as anything you would get in Glasgow for the same price range (IMO of course) Edited October 25, 2013 by foxbar_bud Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
flyingscot Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 Cardosi's needs a reservation. So popular now if you haven't reserved you can sometimes not get a table straight away even midweek. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted October 25, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 Thanks for all the tips guys... passed on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted October 25, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 My dear old ma is a great cook. If I want a good meal in Paisley that's where I go. I'd need the address to pass on. How much does she charge and does she take group bookings? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miss Saint Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 oh shame they dont want to go to indian - you could have taken them to the place ye get yer wee dram of lochan ora ;-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted October 25, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 oh shame they dont want to go to indian - you could have taken them to the place ye get yer wee dram of lochan ora ;-) I concur! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hambud Posted October 25, 2013 Report Share Posted October 25, 2013 (edited) I'd need the address to pass on. How much does she charge and does she take group bookings? group bookings for a nosh down paisley? it's not Amsterdam guys. Edited October 25, 2013 by Hambud Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leicester Saint Posted October 26, 2013 Report Share Posted October 26, 2013 I got a bit of a shock when I read this thread title. 'Nosh' means something VERY different down here!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
salmonbuddie Posted October 26, 2013 Report Share Posted October 26, 2013 For anyone as confused as me as to what they're on about: http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/nosh Never heard it used like that, everyday's a schoolday right enough. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuddieinEK Posted October 26, 2013 Author Report Share Posted October 26, 2013 For anyone as confused as me as to what they're on about: http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/nosh Never heard it used like that, everyday's a schoolday right enough. OH! Thanks for that. .. never heard of that before! Forget the original question then... new thread. .. Anyone know where I can get a good nosh? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
salmonbuddie Posted October 26, 2013 Report Share Posted October 26, 2013 Add your own punchline. Again..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
salmonbuddie Posted October 26, 2013 Report Share Posted October 26, 2013 OH! Thanks for that. .. never heard of that before! Forget the original question then... new thread. .. Anyone know where I can get a good nosh? Aye, it's an age thing.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miss Saint Posted October 27, 2013 Report Share Posted October 27, 2013 I concur! tho since you have a 'supplier' now, nudge nudge wink wink, you can take yer ain hip flask Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...