Holiday Recommendations

Herbie

It's that time of year where I need to start going through the purgatory of trying to find somewhere decent to go on holiday, so I'm hoping some of you might be able to recommend some places for us. Here's the ideal criteria.

Family Friendly

All Inclusive (hotel, villa or apartment)

4 or 5 star

Kids Club

Within Europe (reachable from Paisley International Airport)

Preferably within reasonable reach of a waterpark

Quiet (definitely NOT a Benidorm type resort)

Stuff to see and do outwith the resort (we quite like visiting old towns, markets etc.

No Newco or green bhigot tops on view (airport excepted)

Any help appreciated :-)

It's that time of year where I need to start going through the purgatory of trying to find somewhere decent to go on holiday, so I'm hoping some of you might be able to recommend some places for us. Here's the ideal criteria.

Family Friendly

All Inclusive (hotel, villa or apartment)

4 or 5 star

Kids Club

Within Europe (reachable from Paisley International Airport)

Preferably within reasonable reach of a waterpark

Quiet (definitely NOT a Benidorm type resort)

Stuff to see and do outwith the resort (we quite like visiting old towns, markets etc.

No Newco or green bhigot tops on view (airport excepted)

Any help appreciated :-)

Have you looked at Crete?

I really enjoyed our holiday there, though my kids are older, and the apartments we stayed at are probably a bit basic for your requirements.

If you steer clear of Malia (easily done), it is a great island with a good vibe, and comparatively inexpensive, though parts are a wee bit run down.

I'm also looking for holiday recommendations for this summer. Somewhere warm and sunny, not too bustling, but not too quiet, and suitable for my 16 and 20 year old 'weans'. I fancy a villa but they can be pricey for 4 (we only need two bedrooms). I desperately wan't to avoid the 'fat men in England and OF tops' scenario, but need a location that it is walking distance of a centre with a bit of life, without being tacky and having too many theme bars.

Nice or Monaco. I'd recommend the Negresco Hotel in Nice, or the Hotel Du Paris in Monaco. I don't think they've got a kids club though, but you should be able to keep your kids entertained on holiday without passing them off to some dodgy teenager. There are some cheaper accommodations - self catering - around the area. Check out Nice Pebbles for some decent apartments at value for money kind of prices. We had a really nice one with it's own swimming pool higher up on the hills - a bit of a distance down into Nice but it was perfect for us. Others appear to like being closer to town though - so the Old Town is better. The Negresco is in the Gambetta area which is probably about half a mile or so from the centre but it's right on the Promenade Du Anglais. Hotel Du Paris is next door to the famous Monte Carlo Casino. It's about 100 yards from the tight hairpin bends going down the hill at the Monaco Grand Prix and it more or less sits over the long tunnel where Prince Albert II entertains his guests at the same race.

The buses are cheap around the area. Don't book airport transfers or anything cause you can get a bus from the airport to Nice for 1 Euro per person. Its probably more customary to take the helicopter link from Nice Airport to the Hotel Du Paris, but that's just a bit too flash for me and a real waste of money. I doubt you'd get many Rangers or Celtic supporters there. We didn't notice any when we went out a few years ago.

Rhodes fits the bill-Rhodes Town itself is a great place to visit-essentially a walled city with all the Knights Templar history of the place. There's a decent Waterpark on the Island and the resorts outside of Faliraki are all pretty quiet. Ixia and Kalithea are well placed for visits to Rhodes Town and are quiet enough.

Some hotel suggestions:

AMATHUS IXIA

http://www.amathusrhodes.com/

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g227883-d291378-Reviews-Amathus_Beach_Hotel_Rhodes-Ixia_Rhodes_Dodecanese.html

OCEANIS IXIA

http://www.hoteloceanis.eu/

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g227883-d291376-Reviews-Oceanis_Hotel-Ixia_Rhodes_Dodecanese.html

HORIZON ROYAL KALITHEA

http://www.kalitheamare.gr/horizon/english/sevices.html

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g1012852-d736919-Reviews-Kalithea_Horizon_Royal-Kallithea_Rhodes_Dodecanese.html

Edited by southside saint

Seefled Austria has great weather and is an all year resort with proper fresh air with endless things to do and see,.the kids will think they are in a fariytail land.

http://www.seefeld.com/en

Another fantastic place is St Wolfgang Austria again endless things to see and do sits on a lake which is safe for swimming also has a summer tobogganing - you will never get the kids off that.

http://www.stwolfgang.at/index.php?lang=en

We have had our daughter out to the west in America , Cape Town , Thailand but she always say's Austira was the best ever holiday. As a parrent the magical thing is you are away from the crowds in the Med. The weather is perfict while everywhere is family friendly. You can fly in the summer from Glasgow. Hotels, apartments are as cheap and as expensive as you want to pay

I've only been once, but there are nice quieter parts of Tenerife that sound like they'd fit the criteria.

Or Playa Blanca down in the south of Lanzarote. Only a 30 minute bus drive from the airport. More reliable weather, thanTenerife which does have its big hill, Tiede, which attracts clouds and thus some rain.

All hotels in Playa Blanca are brimming with pools; there's some long beautiful beaches just east of the town. There's a corniche/promenade which runs for miles along that coast. Lots of dads and kids bike and stroll and jog along it, partially lit at night.

the 5 star Rubicon Palace is very well set up for kids and also adult entertainment. I usually avoid it and use a nearby hotel which has fewer kids and seems like a waiting room for death. suits me. :)

But cos my flight back to Gatwick at Xmas was cancelled I had a day/night to actually experience the Rubicon. Fantastic views from the rooms I inspected. (Including Fuertaventura, which is a short ferry ride across from Playa Blanca harbour, if you fancied that?

There's the volcanoes studding the island and several other interesting places to visit. A water park in town and others elsewhere.

I always hire a car for at least 3 days and driving is easy. I go up the hills and also walk the coasts... where it's not just the ravaged lava beds. And there re wineries, Omar Sharif's amazing hoose carved into the lava.... That he lost at cards...

I've now been in Lanzarote 5 times. 3 Playa Blanca, restful, 2 Costa Teguise,..... which actually has a Rangers-minded (thick, BIGOTTED) pub and one that's called the Sunburnt Arms... CT is more football toppy, I guess.

Lanzarote, I loved it there,

Gary (and Bluto), my girls will be 16 & 20 by the summer. I'm looking at Costa Teguise - do you know it? Is it likely to tick boxes. We're not into rowdy nightlife but need a bit of a buzz to keep them interested when the pool, beach, and book options wear a bit thin. Markets, bars etc.

Cheers.

Gary (and Bluto), my girls will be 16 & 20 by the summer. I'm looking at Costa Teguise - do you know it? Is it likely to tick boxes. We're not into rowdy nightlife but need a bit of a buzz to keep them interested when the pool, beach, and book options wear a bit thin. Markets, bars etc.

Cheers.

I was in Puerta Del Carmen, But went there for the day, Its lovely, lot smaller than Carmen, Has a brilliant market in Teguise old town, Its has good bars, And its 5 euro taxi ride to Puerto Del Carmen, Good food and not expensive, Highly recommended.

CT also has a long corniche - and so there are bars and restaurants dotted along that all the way, too. The biggest market on the Island is the Sunday Market at Teguise, which is an old town up the hill and inland from the Costa resort, built and named after it. There's a huge water park in CT, too.

You can get a bus up to the market. About 20minutes.

Just before Xmas, we did a walk from Teguise back down to CT/the coast, having left our hire car up there, at the start. Taxi was 17.50 to take 4 adults back uphill.

I recall lots of places that had discos when we were last there, but cannae help much more on that aspect.

There's a Cactus Garden a few miles north of CT (I know, I know... but it's stunning.) A huge hole in the ground with Hunners o Cacti!! And a bar where ye can sit and watch the horticulturalists have an orgasm. Quite busy.

The big attraction for youngsters seems to be Timanfaya, where you can feel the heat from the earth, travel on a wee bus round some rough volcanoes and there's a restaurant where your chicken is cooked by the thermal heat. And Camel rides can be taken.

Oh aye... and... there are lava tubes - huge caverns - now filled with lakes and gardens and you can walk through those, and sometimes there are evening concerts, there. Just north of the cactus garden, IIRC...

Many thanks guys.

We've been to Fuerteventura but found it a bit featureless. I take it Lanzarote has more in the way of attractions from the way you describe it. We were over there when Spain won the WC and the atmosphere was fantastic.

Fuerte was also pretty windy, but that is a feature of the Canaries.

Fly to Antalya in Turkey about 5hrs from Paisley International. .

Stay in Lara Beach or Side. 5* all inclusive at a good price with excellent food . Most of the hotels have there own waterpark but others are available . .

Only saw one fitba' tap (Chelsea) during entire holiday and it wasn't an old fat guy but a young guy whom , might have been one of their stars , for all l know. .

The area is visited by a lot of Scandinavians. .

City of Antalya is great to visit , also. .

Holiday what is this thing called a holiday you speak of??????? Last time I went abroad McGinn scored a goal that led to me teaching the locals of sunny beach to sing ' the bawbags are blue' damn fine day! Last holiday on home soil..........mmmm best not to mention that on here :-)

I've been to Lanzarote twice this year.

First time I went in May I stayed at Beatriz Playa & Spa in Matagorda, small and very quiet town next to the airport. A few resturants and a few bars along the road from it, but that's about it. Was perfect for me and the Mrs as we just wanted a break to lie in the sun and have a few drinks at night. It is also only a 40 minute walk to the start of Puerto Del Carmen which is the best resort in Lanzarote.

Hotel was lovely, several restaurant within the hotel to chose from which was good as we were All Inclusive so can get sick of the same food every night.

http://www.thomascook.com/destinations/spain/canary-islands/lanzarote/matagorda/beatriz-playa--spa

Went again in November and this time we stayed at the San Antonio Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen. Just at the start of the strip, tucked away so very quiet during the day and you can walk from the pool on to the beach. Very nice hotel. Food was a bit repetitive however. Was just along from a great wee selection of sports bars, few Irish bars, cocktail bars, restaurants and there is a casino as well.

http://www.thomascook.com/destinations/spain/canary-islands/lanzarote/puerto-del-carmen/vik-san-antonio

Never been to CT but anyone that I know that has been has always said it has been very windy.

Looking at booking this in Portugal for September, has anyone ever been round this neck of the woods (Armacao De Pera), would you recommend it?

http://www.jet2holidays.com/destinations/portugal/algarve/armacao-de-pera/holiday-inn-algarve/half-board

Holiday what is this thing called a holiday you speak of??????? Last time I went abroad McGinn scored a goal that led to me teaching the locals of sunny beach to sing ' the bawbags are blue' damn fine day! Last holiday on home soil..........mmmm best not to mention that on here :-)

Greenock?

Lanzarote is defo my favourite of the Canary Islands. I'd recommend Playa Blanca out of the 3 bigger resorts. Pretty flat, good restaurants, fresh hotels and very clean. Just a personal preference, wouldn't talk anyone out of going to the other 2 either.

I like to see the island for myself, always hire a car. VW golf size car for about £110 per week. Book Ryan Air and your hotel direct, or through hotel website saves you a fortune but then you need your own transfer, hence the car.

Nice or Monaco. I'd recommend the Negresco Hotel in Nice, or the Hotel Du Paris in Monaco. I don't think they've got a kids club though, but you should be able to keep your kids entertained on holiday without passing them off to some dodgy teenager. There are some cheaper accommodations - self catering - around the area. Check out Nice Pebbles for some decent apartments at value for money kind of prices. We had a really nice one with it's own swimming pool higher up on the hills - a bit of a distance down into Nice but it was perfect for us. Others appear to like being closer to town though - so the Old Town is better. The Negresco is in the Gambetta area which is probably about half a mile or so from the centre but it's right on the Promenade Du Anglais. Hotel Du Paris is next door to the famous Monte Carlo Casino. It's about 100 yards from the tight hairpin bends going down the hill at the Monaco Grand Prix and it more or less sits over the long tunnel where Prince Albert II entertains his guests at the same race.

The buses are cheap around the area. Don't book airport transfers or anything cause you can get a bus from the airport to Nice for 1 Euro per person. Its probably more customary to take the helicopter link from Nice Airport to the Hotel Du Paris, but that's just a bit too flash for me and a real waste of money. I doubt you'd get many Rangers or Celtic supporters there. We didn't notice any when we went out a few years ago.

Why would anyone want to leave Wishaw for a couple of weeks?

CT also has a long corniche - and so there are bars and restaurants dotted along that all the way, too. The biggest market on the Island is the Sunday Market at Teguise, which is an old town up the hill and inland from the Costa resort, built and named after it. There's a huge water park in CT, too.

You can get a bus up to the market. About 20minutes.

Just before Xmas, we did a walk from Teguise back down to CT/the coast, having left our hire car up there, at the start. Taxi was 17.50 to take 4 adults back uphill.

I recall lots of places that had discos when we were last there, but cannae help much more on that aspect.

There's a Cactus Garden a few miles north of CT (I know, I know... but it's stunning.) A huge hole in the ground with Hunners o Cacti!! And a bar where ye can sit and watch the horticulturalists have an orgasm. Quite busy.

The big attraction for youngsters seems to be Timanfaya, where you can feel the heat from the earth, travel on a wee bus round some rough volcanoes and there's a restaurant where your chicken is cooked by the thermal heat. And Camel rides can be taken.

Oh aye... and... there are lava tubes - huge caverns - now filled with lakes and gardens and you can walk through those, and sometimes there are evening concerts, there. Just north of the cactus garden, IIRC...

Can't believe you missed out El Golfo?

The name put you off :P

Can't believe you missed out El Golfo?

The name put you off :P

Tiny but perfectly formed wi nae golf course! :P

Done a couple of walks from there.

Had my best meal ("lunch") possibly ever, here.

ALL fish! Locally caught and cooked with bottles of white wine. Great value.

The waiters had no English and I had no enough Spanish, but we got there. :)

This was THE ONE.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g1802172-d999947-Reviews-Mar_Azul-El_Golfo_Lanzarote_Canary_Islands.html

BUT THERE ARE PLENTY OTHERS -nothing much else in the tiny village.

Like Wishaw, (or Lanark) El Golfo is a good place to start walking FROM.

Amazing lagoon just to its south. Wild tortured lava badlands to the north and inland.