St Mirren V Motherwell.. 5/4/14

Lex

Great stuff from Saints today. I think pound for pound Thomo is one of the best players St Mirren have signed.........ever ! His goals today were so important and I think it was appropriate he scored them.

I think Partick and Kilmarnock will have been looking at that game today, probably thinking that Motherwell would win it. It will be a blow to them to see us come through and take the points. I just hope Saints can put together a wee run between now and the end of the season. Nice one Thomo

Thomohawk has been an outstanding signing. On course for his best ever season in terms of goals scored. Sensational stuff for a 35 year old playing in our current side. Just think how much better off we would be if we had another decent striker at the club who could help the burden Thomohawk carries by chipping in with 9 or 10 goals a season.

Still on a high after yesterday's late drama.

Bye bye lennon. Surely! Dont want to be total doom and gloom but i wont be back till he is away!

I watched the old fir park highlights last night after this game. Mehmet and Sutton 2nd half dbl substitution was the best sub ever made! What a game. It was weird seeing the old line up with Kean, Maxwell, Millen etc.

Enjoy the game did you? lol.gif

Was he playing right mid?

I think he was meant to be playing wide right but kept drifting in the middle, same as McLean on the other side so we had no width at the start, you could see straight away it wasn't going to work, Naismith at right back was the only 1 giving us any width to start with, Wlyde coming on changed the game, he gave us width and drive and it meant McLean playing more central, he started getting his foot on the ball and bossing it then.

The only thing I don't like about my seat at the new stadium is that I've been sitting next to a guy who seems to support whoever we are playing every game.

Saints are always crap.

Management is always crap.

Refs giving dodgy decisions against us are always right.

For me, the whole point in being a supporter is that you support the team. If part of that is giving the benefit of the doubt to St Mirren, so be it.

I'd far rather be like that than someone who seems to revel in every Saints setback.

Maybe he's actually Elvis?

Tell your dad to stay at home

Think I'll move from the family stand next year, it's f**king depressing.

It will cost me £100 more for 2 adults and 2 kids but I think I'll move back to the main stand.

Plenty idiots in the Main Stand too David.One launched in to a tirade at DL for subbing McGowan.........He didn't even look embarrassed when it was pointed out he was injured.

Gave us all a giggle tho.:)

He is onside McGinn cut the ball back and the Well defender played it to him, the defender McGinn turned may have played him on as well but is out of the picture

Missed the 'Well players touch.

Must've been more pished than I thought last night.

Did Magennis get booked for launching the ball somewhere in the general direction of Love St after the third went in?

That win was just as sweet if not better than the cup final. Certainly not celebrated a goal like that since the 3-2 Fir Park game. Total elation.

Having watched the penalty again to say we may be a wee touch lucky is an understatement, but first instinct was a penalty. Was it against Motherwell that we were awarded a penalty only for Craig Thomson to change his mind and give a free kick earlier in the season?

That will be coming out of his wages now

again I thought the lad put in a power of work and was unfairly targeted by the boo boys.

Second half... until he came off... he was the outstanding player on the pitch.

First half he covered a lot of ground and helped out in a defensive cover role.

Didn't always work for him... but he never hid.

Why the need to decry the efforts of our young players on a night when we should be celebrating?

bangin.gif

I thought he started the second half very brightly and was looking impressive.

It was a bit of a shock to see him coming off for Magennis.

Danny Lennon deserves credit for this change while Magennis didn't do much.

His pressence up front with Thommo forced Motherwell back and allowed Wylde to get crosses in

Absolutely buzzing. Great effort and desire from the players at the end. Forby the goals. Mcginns run into the corner at the end and McLeans tackle on Hamill from the keepers throwout summed up the commitment from the players ay the end. About time we got a late goal. Brilliant atmosphere with multiple songs at one time. Long may that continue. Hoarse but happy buddie tonight:-)

from the main stand, all you could hear were the away fans, up until we scored

but why were they allowedto stand and have almost 1 polis/steward to every 3 or 4 fans?

That will be coming out of his wages now

Agreed... it was a good move and not the one I expected.

Teale for Newton was the obvious one.

I just get annoyed at the public denigrating of a decent young player doing his best.

I defended McLean when he was the boo boys easy target... seems they have all moved on to Newton now!

from the main stand, all you could hear were the away fans, up until we scored

but why were they allowedto stand and have almost 1 polis/steward to every 3 or 4 fans?

How do you make them sit down?

Why are we all so bothered if people stand up and enjoy the football Ffs I love standing at the fitba , take there drum off them make them sit doon tell them what to sing don't bring flares Nae wonder people are drifting away from the game

away fans being allowed to stand, jump around and generate a bit of energy are heard better than the home fans

I wouldnt bother if the club allowed our own young fans to stand in the west stand

who cares about well fans standing - if its acceptable for celtic fans then its acceptable for all fans! The stewards were pathetic - they were round them from the start expecting there to be trouble - so that then feeds into these fans and they love the attention. did anything happen - I seen a Cpl getting put out at half time apart from that there didn't seem to be any bother what so ever.

It's all about those last 2 goals :-)

who cares about well fans standing - if its acceptable for celtic fans then its acceptable for all fans! The stewards were pathetic - they were round them from the start expecting there to be trouble - so that then feeds into these fans and they love the attention. did anything happen - I seen a Cpl getting put out at half time apart from that there didn't seem to be any bother what so ever.

Those motherwell fans clearly have a reputation. I've not seen so many police outside the ground for at least a decade. Loads of vans and four police horses. Those fans in question were escorted from the ground to Gilmour street by two mounted police. If there was an expectation of trouble, I imagine it was based on experience.

a Motherwell fan on p and b mentioned fans of opposition teams being 'jumped' by the well fans recently.

Cost of policing these neds hits our club hard in the pocket.

I'm sure most of us would prefer the polis to give these cnuts a clout if they step out of line especially if they are doing criminal damage.

Too feckin liberal in this country.

Shouldn't cost our club.

It's Motherwell's problem they should foot the bill

Fair enough regarding the police especially town centre (saw a van and some cops there) protecting the general public. I personally just feel that to surround them (stewards mainly) in the ground from the start like that doesn't help matters. If something happens fair enough close in but right from the start?

I suppose yesterday's penalty decision will give Derek Adams another opportunity to mump in the tabloids about refs being anti-Ross County. Let's hope it's true, roll on more dodgy decisions coming in our favour.

Swings and roundabouts after what happened to us at Dundee United.

Totally agree with your second paragraph.

You did type some words in the first paragraph that you didn't need though. These ones.. "... pound for pound".

I take your point but I was really meaning any money that he has cost us in terms of wages, bonus payments etc. He's just been terrific for us. I just enjoy watching him score goals, it means something to him too, you can see that in how he celebrates. A real St Mirren man ! fantastic.

I'm a bit disappointed with Stuart McCall's comments about the second half ref. He said that the penalty decision more or less cost them the game ? Well it didn't Stuart !!! You had 90 odd minutes to go and win the game, you had numerous openings to score more goals and you had the same time remaining in the game that St Mirren had to go and get the third and your team didn't do it. That's not the Referees fault ! That's your teams fault !

We had the same experience at Tannadice a couple of weeks ago, a bad decision from the Officials, but the game was still there to be played out and it's up to the team to go and make something happen.