Craigyboy smfc Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Maybe some of you have already heard this but for the match on Saturday our club have banned motherwells drum from attending the match , what's everyone's opinion on this ? Mines personally is that it's a pretty bad idea to do because Scottish football is lacking atmosphere at matches fair enough you don't need musical instruments to create atmosphere but it's still something that they feel is right , I remember back in the day of being part of the Supras where the aim and objective was to create atmosphere at st.mirren games unfortunately it ended all sour and since then our ground has been pretty much like a graveyard. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Murray7 Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Adds next to nothing in terms of atmosphere IMO, that drum is almost as annoying as the rattlers that the kids in the family stand used to insist on swinging about for 90 minutes. If fans want to create an atmosphere, then it should be by getting behind the players through chants & shouting at Marc McAusland. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craigyboy smfc Posted April 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 It's the kind of decision that is turning fans away from football stadiums because of the treatment people are recieving by the authority , not all people believe in the old fashioned football supporting way by chanting team songs but people tend to just shout and swear at the players for 90 minutes yes we are not happy but should be supporting our club at the same time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mozza Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Disgraceful decision by the club. What reasons are they giving for banning the drum? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craigyboy smfc Posted April 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Disgraceful decision by the club. What reasons are they giving for banning the drum? Don't know what there giving but they should type a statement on the website. The most obvious one will be because you can smuggle pyrotechnics in the drum Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Pityme Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Don't know what there giving but they should type a statement on the website. The most obvious one will be because you can smuggle pyrotechnics in the drum I can see their point! you wouldn't want it to go 'Bang!' Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craigyboy smfc Posted April 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 I can see their point! you wouldn't want it to go 'Bang!' Nice wee drum joke ???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Pityme Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Nice wee drum joke ptish-boom! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulsmfc Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Motherwell fans possibly use the drum to sneak in flares, smoke bombs and fans with football banning orders??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davidg Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 They could inspect the drum. Wouldn't be hard to figure out if it had something inside it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miss Saint Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 BRILLANT NEWS!!!!!!!! I DESPISE DRUMS AT FITBA ALL THEY DO IS GIE YE A HEADACHE WELL DONE SAINTS!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drew Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Will I get in with my tuba, though? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RickMcD Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 It's a bloody nuisance but not nearly as bad as a vuvuzela. And were you ever at a West Indies cricket match where calypso music was played non stop for over six hours? Would drive you to drink. Mind you, there's probably worse things happen at sea. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Froggie Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 More genius from St Mirren . £20 entry fee, complete rip off. All ticket games at half empty ground No standing areas ( except for Celtic fans) Home wins as scarce as hens teeth.......... Ah, lets ban fans from making any noise or enjoying themselves. Job done. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drew Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Drums at the fitba are a pain the arse. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 It's the kind of decision that is turning fans away from football stadiums because of the treatment people are recieving by the authority , not all people believe in the old fashioned football supporting way by chanting team songs but people tend to just shout and swear at the players for 90 minutes yes we are not happy but should be supporting our club at the same time if it turns yon fecker with the drum away from the game then i'm happy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluto Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Will I get in with my tuba, though? Tuba should be no problem. I get in, unmolested, with my huge horn.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stlucifer Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Great decision from the club. I hope the stick to their guns. I don't see why the thread was started as there's no need to bang on about it! Does anyone think there'll be re percussions if we play them at their patch next season? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluto Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 I think the whole point of the OP was to somehow trick everyBuddie into firing off these pathetic puns. I don't know why you lot always fall for such a simple snare... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
waldorf34 Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Just more censorship Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drew Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 VIVE LA CENSORSHIP! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TediousTom Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 (edited) The most entertaining part of the original poster's original post on this here thread is the part when the original poster refer's to the supra's as "back in the day". For me "back in the day" conjours up memories of rationing and getting the belt at school and doing nothing on a Sunday and walking places instead of driving and going to the pictures to see the news and horses pulling carts up and down new street the Summer cup win and Mr Dan McGarry ruling the wings for our club. Anyway I do not see why we need to let this drum issue get under our skin or indeed get remotely tight about it at all. The worst thing that can happen is we get beaten and if so our manager can "stick it". I can see why we are solo in this instance but as it is a matter of time before such instruments get band altogether such an issue is nothing but music to my ears. Edited April 4, 2014 by TediousTom Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottd Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Scotland is not Germany or Italy, doesn't mean our fans are any less passionate just because they don't wave flags or bang drums for 90+ minutes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mozza Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 This thread just confirms why there is no atmosphere at st mirren park! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dibbles old paperboy Posted April 4, 2014 Report Share Posted April 4, 2014 Cue lots of complaints about this being a cymbal of everything which is wrong about Scottish football. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...