St Mirren Squad 2014/2015

Quality thread.

Correct JJ, last season I was really concerned about our lack of activity in the transfer market. So far I feel we are doing OK. we've lost McGowan, Harkins and Newton in the midfield and not replaced them but Harkins didn't really feature anyway. Looks like the trialist can replace McGregor and we have another option up front. We also have 2 good keepers signed.

We are in a much better place this time around than we were last season IMO. let's all be calm.

Correct JJ, last season I was really concerned about our lack of activity in the transfer market. So far I feel we are doing OK. we've lost McGowan, Harkins and Newton in the midfield and not replaced them but Harkins didn't really feature anyway. Looks like the trialist can replace McGregor and we have another option up front. We also have 2 good keepers signed.

We are in a much better place this time around than we were last season IMO. let's all be calm.

I am really struggling with the "much better" place.We may do ok for half a dozen games but thats about it.Teale.Thompson and Goodwin will be lucky to play 25 games each,McLean will probably get injured at some point,we need to pray the back four avoid any injuries and Marwood is a goal scoring machine who can create his own chances.We need AT LEAST three players

On P&B there is a hell of a lot of moaning on the Fakes thread due to severe staff budget cuts. Wright has allegedly been told to promote more youths. Looks like they will be weaker this season however they still have a decent squad.

Unless they have a few more Stevie Mays in the cupbord Edited by insaintee

I am really struggling with the "much better" place.We may do ok for half a dozen games but thats about it.Teale.Thompson and Goodwin will be lucky to play 25 games each,McLean will probably get injured at some point,we need to pray the back four avoid any injuries and Marwood is a goal scoring machine who can create his own chances.We need AT LEAST three players

We do need at least three no question. BUT Thommo played 41 games and Goodwin 36 so they would have to decline rapidly or pick up along term injury to only play 25 games next year.

For an expertly run club like ours, relegation widnae be a disaster.

It wid just be a blip.

I agree,might be nice for a season or so to avoid the depressing close season where we miss out on any half decent signings,the big problem would be getting back up

We'd get back up eventually and it wid be fun winning the league again or even via the play off.

An open top bus tae although i'd rather stay up and have a better chance of winning a cup for that.

Unless they have a few more Stevie Mays in the cupbord

Is that where they found the first yin ?

He must've been in their for years going by the length of his hair.

Scruff !

FSS and an atom bomb might land on the stadium. 1eye.gif

i have nothing to learn from a cock who mistakenly believes he is a wise old sage ,hes just another fanboy with nothing interesting or controversial to say

Goodness me, what a state you've got yourself into :lol:

I've been accused of a lot of things on this forum, but not having anything controversial to say is certainly a new one.

If you want to be controversial you'll need to do better than saying stuff like 'relegation is looming', that isn't controversial, that's just patent nonsense.

The fact is we finished 8th last year despite being hopeless for large parts of the season, we underachieved and still finished safely in 8th.

We then expected to lose at least 2 of Kello and McLean, we've kept both of them, there's 2 huge signings.

I think have a better starting 11 than every team that finished in the bottom 6 last year at the moment, and squad wise I'd say we are roughly on a par with ICT and St Johnstone from the top 6.

We need a couple more players, but so does every single team in the league, infact a good few of them need a lot more than a couple.

There's a great feeling around the club at the minute, that's why Kenny and Marian stayed. If you are a Saints fan I suggest you get a sense of perspective and relax, if you aren't (which I suspect strongly) then improve your trolling material.

I've got to agree!

We need some quality but to be honest, I have no idea where we will get that from at the moment.

I am seriously worried about our defence and hope Plummer is a world beater.

Only having 2 strikers is also a worry. Thommo surely cant play more than 40 games this season again...can he??

The only positive is that other clubs have the same problem. Thistle have only signed one and the Fakes and ICT are struggling to bring in new players.

I hope you're right Top Cat and Kendo....I really do, but at the moment I fear we will be in a relegation fight again rather than aiming for top 6 and possibly even Europe!

I've got to agree!

We need some quality but to be honest, I have no idea where we will get that from at the moment.

I am seriously worried about our defence and hope Plummer is a world beater.

Only having 2 strikers is also a worry. Thommo surely cant play more than 40 games this season again...can he??

The only positive is that other clubs have the same problem. Thistle have only signed one and the Fakes and ICT are struggling to bring in new players.

I hope you're right Top Cat and Kendo....I really do, but at the moment I fear we will be in a relegation fight again rather than aiming for top 6 and possibly even Europe!

Do you genuinely think that we've made all our singings for the coming season, and our squad is complete?

Goodness me, what a state you've got yourself into lol.gif:

I've been accused of a lot of things on this forum, but not having anything controversial to say is certainly a new one.

If you want to be controversial you'll need to do better than saying stuff like 'relegation is looming', that isn't controversial, that's just patent nonsense.

The fact is we finished 8th last year despite being hopeless for large parts of the season, we underachieved and still finished safely in 8th.

We then expected to lose at least 2 of Kello and McLean, we've kept both of them, there's 2 huge signings.

I think have a better starting 11 than every team that finished in the bottom 6 last year at the moment, and squad wise I'd say we are roughly on a par with ICT and St Johnstone from the top 6.

We need a couple more players, but so does every single team in the league, infact a good few of them need a lot more than a couple.

There's a great feeling around the club at the minute, that's why Kenny and Marian stayed. If you are a Saints fan I suggest you get a sense of perspective and relax, if you aren't (which I suspect strongly) then improve your trolling material.

Oh really ? I stand corrected,i was under the impression Kenny stayed because no one wanted to pay a nominal fee for him.Maybe myself and three fellow buddies arent Saints fans(as you strongly suspect),because as we were discussing the team/club in the pub on sunday night the phrase "There's a great feeling around the club at the minute" never reared its head.But you have your finger on the pulse ,so i doubt the fears and concerns of three season ticket holders with 50 plus years of support between us matters to you .do you ever socialise with real fans over 40 ? If you did you would learn the "feeling" around the club is ANXIETY

Goodness me, what a state you've got yourself into lol.gif:

"i think we have a better starting 11 than every team that finished in the bottom 6 last year at the moment" What a completely pointless statement !! especially when you havent even seen a couple of our players in the flesh

He would get a name for himself if he did.

No more pointless than some of the dribble you come up with.

It's only a game of football.

Oh really ? I stand corrected,i was under the impression Kenny stayed because no one wanted to pay a nominal fee for him.Maybe myself and three fellow buddies arent Saints fans(as you strongly suspect),because as we were discussing the team/club in the pub on sunday night the phrase "There's a great feeling around the club at the minute" never reared its head.But you have your finger on the pulse ,so i doubt the fears and concerns of three season ticket holders with 50 plus years of support between us matters to you .do you ever socialise with real fans over 40 ? If you did you would learn the "feeling" around the club is ANXIETY

If you call that socialising, you can keep it.

If you seriously think that no other clubs would have taken Kenny McLean for a nominal fee, then that agenda of negativity you're wearing on your sleeve has slipped up over your eyes.

Hard to take anything else you say seriously when you say stuff like that.

I am just over 40 ( :) ) and been supporting the Club for 45 years and ANXIETY is not a word I would even consider towards my feeling for the forthcoming season. 1 because life is too short to be anxious about a football team and 2 we have a good squad at the moment which will have additions before the season starts so nothing to worry about :) .