The Funny As Feck Thread

Most of these ring a bell....................

Your face is tripping you - You look miserable

I'll skelp your lug! - a threat of physical violence targeted directly at the ear, often as punishment for a more minor misdemeanour.

I'll give you something to greet about - a subtle threat of violence if you're continuing to whine or cry about something your parents deem to be over and/or not that bad.

Ye cannae teach yer Granny tae suck eggs – been there, done that.

Gonne see a man about a dug - I'm going out and it's none of your business where.

Do you think I button up the back? - I'm not stupid

Don't talk mince - Don't talk rubbish

Where you born in a park/field/bar? -shut the door, I'm, freezing.

Don't come running to me - when you've been pre-warned not to do something but you just keep doing it anyway.

It's like Blackpool Illuminations in here - Turn off the lights.

The big light - the main source of lighting in your livingroom that, inexplicably, no one uses.

Running about like a blue a***d fly - I've had a busy day.

Geein' me the boke - makes me feel sick

Heids up ma arse - No clue what I'm doing at this point.

Yer bum’s oot the windae/Yer arse is parsley – You are full of it.

What a chancer! - in reference to someone chancing their luck.

They couldny run a bath - someone who is useless.

And what did your last slave die of? - said by every mother in the land when they are expected to serve the rest of their family.

I'm no as green as I am cabbage lookin' - ' I'm not as naive you think.'

If the wind changes your face will stay that way - A lie told to children when they pull a face.

Gie it some welly - put some more effort in.

Pardon my French - a non-sincere apology for swearing.

Do you think money grows on trees? - something all parents have said at one point or another to their demanding children.

Look at the nick of ye! - You don't look your best

It will all end in tears - A pre warning that something is about to go awry.

I'll take my hand to yer jaw - another verbal threat of impending violence.

The sweats running down the sheuch of my arse - My arse is sweating

Would you steal my grave as quick - How rude of you to steal my seat.

Ne'er cast a clout till May's oot - Don't get your summer wardrobe out just yet.

Whats for ye’ll no go by ye - If it's meant to be, it will happen.

Away n geez peace - Leave me alone.

Is the budgiedeid? – your trousers are too short.

You're ripping ma knitting - you are annoying me

I'm up tae high doe - I am finding this particularly stressful.

I'm having kittens - I'm panicking.

Away an bile yer heid - Go away and think again.

Like it or lump it - That's just how it is.

You look like you've been dragged through a hedge backwards - You look unkempt

Yer a long time deid - Life is short so try to enjoy it.

Be sure to taste your words before you spit them out - Think about the consequences of what you are going to say before you say it.

Your hair is like straw hingin oot a midden - Your hair is a mess.

Mony a mickle maks a muckle! – a load of small things make a big thing, usually said in reference to your pocket money being less than you were expecting.

You're lookin' awfy peely wally - You look pale and unwell.

You're needing a feed, Ah’ve seen mair meat on a butchers pencil - You are too thin.