Johann Lamont Resigns

He's talking his chances down and saying he wants Broon to take the job.

If it's a choice between Findlay and Murphy it should get interesting. Leftist wing of Labour with union backing against blairite war mongering Trident supporter.

Don't think the strategists will let it come to that though.

It's a difficult one for the strategists, all the MP's think hollyrood is a demotion from westminster but since johan accused them publically of looking down their noses at scotland they don't want to be seen to snub the job, hence trying to persuade Brown or Murphy neither of whom will want to take a big cut in pay and perks but will now be trying to work out their chances of being first minister which prestige might make up for loss of earnings but they wont take the job just to be wee Nicola's opposition.

Down south with 1 man 1 vote Murphy would walk all over Findlay but up here with the electoral college favouring the left and murphy being seen as a devisive character the outcome could be very different but then your left with the larger public's responce of "who????"

I notice Brown actually hasn't ruled himself out, rather "sources close to Brown say......." so I think there will be pressure put on him to stand especially if this vacuum continues which would probably help heal the rift (or more likely help keep the rift hidden) as nobody would stand against him.

He's talking his chances down and saying he wants Broon to take the job.

If it's a choice between Findlay and Murphy it should get interesting. Leftist wing of Labour with union backing against blairite war mongering Trident supporter.

Don't think the strategists will let it come to that though.

For me. During the referendum debate Murphy came across as a wee "sleekit" underhanded trogg who would stoop below the belly of a snake to point score. Perfect for the post of Scottish monitor for a sleekit Westminster party.

laugh.png

trogg !

Anyway, this all matters hee haw, Independence for Scotland , part of UK, matters not a jot in the scheme of things European ..................

FFS wee determined auntie Angela is in charge of zee kindergarten and she eez to be obeyed..............

After all is said and done, we're still run by u know who ..................the feckn sun bed bosses...........bring back Alf Garnett , he was right you know.

Edited by Seaside Nipper

laugh.png

trogg !

Anyway, this all matters hee haw, Independence for Scotland , part of UK, matters not a jot in the scheme of things European ..................

FFS wee determined auntie Angela is in charge of zee kindergarten and she eez to be obeyed..............

After all is said and done, we're still run by u know who ..................the feckn sun bed bosses...........bring back Alf Garnett , he was right you know.

Yes.

Trogg.

post-7588-0-67172900-1414509260_thumb.jp

As for the rest of your rant....

thumbdown.gifthumbdown.gifthumbdown.gifthumbdown.gifthumbdown.gifthumbdown.gif

Your description is uncanny. Labour colleagues, ex NUS colleagues, ex students who knew him at uni all thinking similar

The herald has an article today suggesting that Murphy wants the job (maybe topcat is right and the tories will increase their seats in scotland next time - Murphy's seat will be their top target I guess). The problem is they want Sarwar to resign so that a msp can be deputy but sarwar said f-off.meaning leader and deputy would be mp's til 2016 unless they can persuade a sappy msp to stand down for family/health reasons and get the "sleekit underhanded trogg" in at an early by-election.

But it does mean that wanting independence or at the very least considering it to be a feasible option is not a fringe/crackpot POV. It was right for Alex Salmond to resign in the wake of September's referendum defeat which was IMO due to the mild mannered campaign he lead. As for it being a once in a generation opportunity that rather depends on what's left of the Better Together 1eye.gif alliance delivering their promises.....................

So Salmond didn't lose due to underhand illegal actions by the Cameron lead Tory government and a biased media that wouldn't be tolerated in other so called "free western democracies". .

I never said he did but the effect of the "all things to voters" approach was that the Better Together 1eye.gif alliance was never pinned down on what they were going to offer afterwards. The general assumption that we would get extra powers with no cost either financially or to our MP's status at Westminster has been shown up as the myth we all knew (or at least should have known) it would be but I don't blame the BT for spinning rather the Yes campaign for letting them get away with it.

Happier with Nicola Sturgeon asking for a Scottish/Welsh/Northern Irish veto on the UK leaving the EC in the event of a referendum on this issue after the next General election. As I'm going to have to live in the UK for the immediate future I support anything that might limit the extent to which the Conservative Party panders to the Little Englander tendencies of UKIP voters.

Winning the Referendum wasn't a free ticket for 20 years and it is those suggesting it was that are trying to circumvent the norms of politics.

Happier with Nicola Sturgeon asking for a Scottish/Welsh/Northern Irish veto on the UK leaving the EC in the event of a referendum on this issue after the next General election. As I'm going to have to live in the UK for the immediate future I support anything that might limit the extent to which the Conservative Party panders to the Little Englander tendencies of UKIP .

I had to check it wasn't April 1!

She's a f**kin fruitcake. :1eye

As I am going to live in the UK for the little future I have left, I would have liked a veto on the madcap SNP jab at Pretendypence, but Fruitcake and Eck denied me that. What goes around....

Btw, "Scottish aspirations" look like they may be answered wrt daylight saving times. I see a lot of movement down here suggesting the different 'nations' the UK should chose whether or not to keep changing their clocks back and forth.

Fruitcake'll gladly go for that! :)

lol.gif

She's a f**kin fruitcake. 1eye.gif

As I am going to live in the UK for the little future I have left, I would have liked a veto on the madcap SNP jab at Pretendypence, but Fruitcake and Eck denied me that. What goes around....

Btw, "Scottish aspirations" look like they may be answered wrt daylight saving times. I see a lot of movement down here suggesting the different 'nations' the UK should chose whether or not to keep changing their clocks back and forth.

Fruitcake'll gladly go for that! smile.png

I'm astounded by your depth of hatred to anything or anyone who dares to speak their mind.

There must be one helluva lot of fruitcakes walking the corridors of Westminster and Hollyrood as most politicians ultimately crusade for their perception of their chosen party's ideals.

NS is a socialist. Her beliefs reflect this.

While I don't agree with a lot of the nanny state interference the current SNP government indulge in I think it quite amazing that someone who spouts on a forum has the audacity to question anyone's sanity.

YA MADDY!whistling.gif

She's a f**kin fruitcake. :1eye

But you living in rUK getting vote in Indy ref would've been like rest of EU getting a vote on Uk leaving EU.

Her statement is good politics from her as it leaves the 3 main wratmindyer parties between a rock and a hard place.

Irrespective of whether or not you agree with her viewpoint.

Barraso told us by voting 'No' in the referendum we were maintaining EU status, the 'fruitcake' is asking for that guarantee of EU membership to be honoured. Given all the nonsense talked about the EU in UK politics it seems odd to select Sturgeon for the 'fruitcake' title on this subject

Where's the quote?

On the day after a No vote (19 September) the pro-union parties have vowed to get cracking with drawing up the package of new powers.

Former Prime Minister Gordon Brown, who has been a driving force behind the new plan, said a "command paper" would be published by the present UK government setting out all the proposals by the end of October.

A white paper would be drawn up by the end of November after a period of consultation setting out the proposed powers.

A draft new law would be published by Burns Night next year (25 January) ready for the House of Commons to vote on.

However, with the Westminster General Election coming along in May 2015, the legislation would not be passed until the new parliament began.

Better Together leader Alistair Darling was asked what would happen if UKIP held the balance of power at Westminster after the general election?

He replied that in "their wildest dreams" UKIP would only get a few seats. Mr Darling said the parties who would have the vast majority of the seats had "guaranteed" that the new powers would be enacted.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29141474

IOBS might have been a bit premature as there's still two days left in October but just think all of all those extra concessions made because of a speech by an ex-PM which every No voter that I've come across (Oooh errr missus!) claims didn't sway their vote!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29141474

IOBS might have been a bit premature as there's still two days left in October but just think all of all those extra concessions made because of a speech by an ex-PM which every No voter that I've come across (Oooh errr missus!) claims didn't sway their vote!

So nothing about devo max, and the date wrong.

Thanks.

Was it not yourself that wouldn't provide the quote of a million no voters, yet you question others. A bit hypercritical.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29115556

Just saying.

No idea about what you're saying about 1 million no voters.

The article doesn't mention devo max. Greater control, isn't devo max.

Thought that was pretty obvious.

Just saying.

Murphy is a vegetarian, tee-totaller with a very firm line in invisible sky-daddies and the power based near the Italian capital. Must be a right barrel of laughs on a night oot. Also went to Uni for nine years but didnae get a degree. Is this the level down to which Labour have stooped? A guy whose life is based on superstition?

Great idea. Why would anyone in London want to stay on Greenwich Mean Time anyway.......