Lorry Crash In George Square

Buffs

Might be simpler to put drivers through a medical with their occ health provider?

I know what you mean, but the problem is that a medical might not flag up a problem like blackouts that may happen once every couple of years, so perhaps wouldn't prevent another situation like this.

There must be literally thousands of folk in the UK looking at this inquiry and thinking , I shouldn't be driving, hell , I'll fess up and make myself redundant tomorrow, it'll never happen, so , unfortunately, until the next time...............

I doubt they'll be thinking that to be honest. Infact I doubt that many people will even recognise what sort of medical conditions should be reported to the DVLA.

Taken from the DVLA website this is the list.

A

Acoustic neuroma

Addison’s disease

Agoraphobia

AIDS

Alcohol problems

Alzheimer’s disease

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis - see Motor Neurone Disease

Amputations

Aneurysm

Angina

Angioma

Angioplasty

Ankylosing spondylitis

Anorexia nervosa - see Eating disorders

Anxiety

Arachnoid cyst

Arnold-Chiari malformation

Arrhythmia

Arteriovenous malformation

Arthritis

Asperger syndrome

Ataxia

Attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)

Autistic spectrum disorders (ASD)

B

Balloon angioplasty (leg)

Bipolar disorder

Blackouts

Blepharospasm

Blood clots

Blood pressure

Brachial plexus injury

Brain abscess, cyst or encephalitis

Brain angioma - see Angioma

Brain haemorrhage

Brain injury (traumatic)

Brain tumours

Branch retinal vein occlusion

Broken limbs and driving

Burr hole surgery

C

Caesarean section

Cancer

Cataracts

Catheter ablation

Cardiac problems

Carotid artery stenosis

Cataplexy

Cerebral palsy

Chronic aortic dissection

Cognitive problems

Congenital heart disease

Convulsions

Coronary artery bypass or disease

Coronary angioplasty

Cystic fibrosis

D

Deafness

Defibrillator

Déjà vu

Dementia

Depression

Diabetes

Dilated cardiomyopathy

Diplopia (double vision)

Dizziness

Drug misuse

E

Eating disorders

Empyema (brain)

Epilepsy

Essential tremor

F

Fainting - see Blackouts

Fits - see Seizures

Fractured skull - see Head injury

Friedrich’s ataxia - see Ataxia

G

Giddiness (recurring)

Glaucoma

Global amnesia - see Transient global amnesia

Grand mal fits

Guillain-Barré syndrome

H

Head injury

Heart attack

Heart arrhythmia - see Arrhythmia

Heart failure

Heart murmurs

Heart palpitations

Hemianopia

High blood pressure

HIV

Hodgkin’s lymphoma

Huntington’s disease

Hydrocephalus

Hypertension - see High blood pressure

Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy

Hypoglycaemia

Hypoxic brain damage

Hysterectomy

I

Intracerebral haemorrhage

Ischaemic heart disease

K

Kidney dialysis

Kidney problems

Korsakoff’s syndrome

L

Labyrinthitis

Learning difficulties

Left bundle branch block

Leukaemia

Lewy body dementia

Limb disability

Lumboperitoneal shunt

Lung cancer

Lymphoma

M

Macular degeneration

Malignant brain tumours - see Brain tumours

Malignant melanoma

Manic depressive psychosis - see Bipolar disorder

Marfan syndrome

Medulloblastoma

Memory problems (severe)

Meningioma

‘Mini-stroke’ - see Transient ischaemic attack (TIA)

Monocular vision

Motor neurone disease

Multiple sclerosis

Myasthenia gravis

Myocardial infarction - see Heart attack

Myoclonus

N

Narcolepsy

Night blindness

Nystagmus

O

Obsessive compulsive disorder

Obstructive sleep apnoea syndrome

Optic atrophy

Optic neuritis

P

Pacemakers

Palpitations - see Heart palpitations

Paranoia - see Paranoid schizophrenia

Paranoid schizophrenia

Paraplegia

Parkinson’s disease

Peripheral arterial disease

Peripheral neuropathy

Personality disorder

Petit mal seizures

Pituitary tumour

Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

Psychosis

Psychotic depression

R

Renal dialysis - see Kidney dialysis

Retinal treatment

Retinopathy

S

Schizo-affective disorder

Schizophrenia

Scotoma

Seizures

Sight in one eye only - see Monocular vision

Sleep apnoea

Sleepiness (excessive daytime)

Spinal problems and injuries and driving

Stroke

Subarachnoid haemorrhage

Syncope - see Blackouts

T

Tachycardia

Temporal lobe epilepsy - see Epilepsy

Tourette’s syndrome

Transient global amnesia

Transient ischaemic attack (TIA)

Tunnel vision

U

Usher syndrome

V

Valve disease or replacement valve

Vertigo

Vision in one eye only - see Monocular vision

Visual acuity (reduced)

Visual field defects

VP shunts

W

Wolff-Parkinson-White syndrome

Might be simpler to put drivers through a medical with their occ health provider?

Over 65, I had my ANNUAL mandatory medical check last week.

Cost would be the issue that prevented it from happening before now. GPs charge for these medical reports - rightly so IMO. I've no idea what the current rate is but 10 years ago it was £80 per report. It's not likely to have gotten cheaper.

£120 from my GP, so like most professional drivers, I use a cheaper service.. Where I pay someone online £50 and I go to a Container in a car park, a room in a community centre in an Essex village, or a big Self-storage centre to meet a strange Doctor who will do the job and sign off the form.

I know what you mean, but the problem is that a medical might not flag up a problem like blackouts that may happen once every couple of years, so perhaps wouldn't prevent another situation like this.

I wholly agree. It's a form-filling, jobsworth exercise.

It's a form-filling, jobsworth exercise.

On a serious note, imagine working in a job like that.

Knowing that every day your job simply benefits nobody and that if you stopped working absolutely nobody anywhere in the world would care.

That would be my absolute worst nightmare TBH.

I think we have swathes of the population working in these sorts of non-jobs.

It's hard not to feel a huge degree of sympathy for people like Dicko.

Work must be intolerable.

Knowing that every day your job simply benefits nobody and that if you stopped working absolutely nobody anywhere in the world would care.

I put that to last year's doctor.

His reply was that his wife liked expensive bags and that this was his way of satisfying that need.

(On the other hand... unbidden, he offered me very useful advice on a non-related health matter. As well as form-filling, he was also an aware doctor.)

I doubt they'll be thinking that to be honest. Infact I doubt that many people will even recognise what sort of medical conditions should be reported to the DVLA.

A

Acoustic neuroma

Addisons disease

Agoraphobia

AIDS

Alcohol problems

Alzheimers disease

Amputations

Aneurysm

Angina

Angioma

Angioplasty

Ankylosing spondylitis

Anxiety

Arachnoid cyst

Arrhythmia

Arthritis

Asperger syndrome

Ataxia

Autistic spectrum disorders (ASD) B

Bipolar disorder

Blackouts

Blepharospasm

Blood clots

Blood pressure

Brachial plexus injury

Brain haemorrhage

Brain injury (traumatic)

Brain tumours

Broken limbs and driving

Burr hole surgery C

Caesarean section

Cancer

Cataracts

Catheter ablation

Cardiac problems

Carotid artery stenosis

Cataplexy

Cerebral palsy

Cognitive problems

Congenital heart disease

Convulsions

Coronary angioplasty

Cystic fibrosis D

Deafness

Defibrillator

Déjà vu

Dementia

Depression

Diabetes

Dilated cardiomyopathy

Diplopia (double vision)

Dizziness

Drug misuse E

Eating disorders

Empyema (brain)

Epilepsy

Essential tremor F

Fainting - see Blackouts

Fits - see Seizures

Friedrichs ataxia - see Ataxia G

Giddiness (recurring)

Glaucoma

Grand mal fits

Guillain-Barré syndrome H

Head injury

Heart attack

Heart failure

Heart murmurs

Heart palpitations

Hemianopia

High blood pressure

HIV

Hodgkins lymphoma

Huntingtons disease

Hydrocephalus

Hypoglycaemia

Hypoxic brain damage

Hysterectomy I

Ischaemic heart disease K

Kidney dialysis

Kidney problems

Korsakoffs syndrome L

Labyrinthitis

Learning difficulties

Left bundle branch block

Leukaemia

Lewy body dementia

Limb disability

Lumboperitoneal shunt

Lung cancer

Lymphoma M

Macular degeneration

Malignant melanoma

Marfan syndrome

Medulloblastoma

Memory problems (severe)

Meningioma

Mini-stroke - see Transient ischaemic attack (TIA)

Monocular vision

Motor neurone disease

Multiple sclerosis

Myasthenia gravis

Myoclonus N

Narcolepsy

Night blindness

Nystagmus O

Optic atrophy

Optic neuritis P

Pacemakers

Paranoid schizophrenia

Paraplegia

Parkinsons disease

Peripheral neuropathy

Personality disorder

Petit mal seizures

Pituitary tumour

Psychosis

Psychotic depression R

Retinal treatment

Retinopathy S

Schizophrenia

Scotoma

Seizures

Sleep apnoea

Stroke

Subarachnoid haemorrhage

Syncope - see Blackouts T

Tachycardia

Tourettes syndrome

Transient global amnesia

Tunnel vision U

Usher syndrome V

Vertigo

Visual acuity (reduced)

Visual field defects

VP shunts W

It's not that straightforward. For example, diabetes doesn't necessarily need to be reported. Can't speak for any of the others listed but, as usual, you only present half of the story. Edited by salmonbuddie

Insulin controlled diabetes needs to be reported and you must renew your licence backed with a lengthy medical report form, signed by your doctor before being given a new 3 yr licence. That's what I've had to do since receiving a small amount of insulin for my type 2 treatment. Prior to that, just on tablets and np need to declare.

Edited by FS

A

Acoustic neuroma

Addison’s disease

Agoraphobia

AIDS

Alcohol problems

Alzheimer’s disease

Amputations

Aneurysm

Angina

Angioma

Angioplasty

Ankylosing spondylitis

Anxiety

Arachnoid cyst

Arrhythmia

Arthritis

Asperger syndrome

Ataxia

Autistic spectrum disorders (ASD)

B

Bipolar disorder

Blackouts

Blepharospasm

Blood clots

Blood pressure

Brachial plexus injury

Brain haemorrhage

Brain injury (traumatic)

Brain tumours

Broken limbs and driving

Burr hole surgery

C

Caesarean section

Cancer

Cataracts

Catheter ablation

Cardiac problems

Carotid artery stenosis

Cataplexy

Cerebral palsy

Cognitive problems

Congenital heart disease

Convulsions

Coronary angioplasty

Cystic fibrosis

D

Deafness

Defibrillator

Déjà vu

Dementia

Depression

Diabetes

Dilated cardiomyopathy

Diplopia (double vision)

Dizziness

Drug misuse

E

Eating disorders

Empyema (brain)

Epilepsy

Essential tremor

F

Fainting - see Blackouts

Fits - see Seizures

Friedrich’s ataxia - see Ataxia

G

Giddiness (recurring)

Glaucoma

Grand mal fits

Guillain-Barré syndrome

H

Head injury

Heart attack

Heart failure

Heart murmurs

Heart palpitations

Hemianopia

High blood pressure

HIV

Hodgkin’s lymphoma

Huntington’s disease

Hydrocephalus

Hypoglycaemia

Hypoxic brain damage

Hysterectomy

I

Ischaemic heart disease

K

Kidney dialysis

Kidney problems

Korsakoff’s syndrome

L

Labyrinthitis

Learning difficulties

Left bundle branch block

Leukaemia

Lewy body dementia

Limb disability

Lumboperitoneal shunt

Lung cancer

Lymphoma

M

Macular degeneration

Malignant melanoma

Marfan syndrome

Medulloblastoma

Memory problems (severe)

Meningioma

‘Mini-stroke’ - see Transient ischaemic attack (TIA)

Monocular vision

Motor neurone disease

Multiple sclerosis

Myasthenia gravis

Myoclonus

N

Narcolepsy

Night blindness

Nystagmus

O

Optic atrophy

Optic neuritis

P

Pacemakers

Paranoid schizophrenia

Paraplegia

Parkinson’s disease

Peripheral neuropathy

Personality disorder

Petit mal seizures

Pituitary tumour

Psychosis

Psychotic depression

R

Retinal treatment

Retinopathy

S

Schizophrenia

Scotoma

Seizures

Sleep apnoea

Stroke

Subarachnoid haemorrhage

Syncope - see Blackouts

T

Tachycardia

Tourette’s syndrome

Transient global amnesia

Tunnel vision

U

Usher syndrome

V

Vertigo

Visual acuity (reduced)

Visual field defects

VP shunts

W

Aye. Suffered at least 75% of those at the 2010 League Cup final whistle.

Insulin controlled diabetes needs to be reported and you must renew your licence backed with a lengthy medical report form, signed by your doctor before being given a new 3 yr licence. That's what I've had to do since receiving a small amount of insulin for my type 2 treatment. Prior to that, just on tablets and np need to declare.

That's what I'm hoping to avoid, so far so good.

It's not that straightforward. For example, diabetes doesn't necessarily need to be reported. Can't speak for any of the others listed but, as usual, you only present half of the story.

That list was taken directly from the DVLA Medical webpage.

https://www.gov.uk/health-conditions-and-driving

Anyone with any of the conditions listed should click through on the link to see the more detailed definition. All the info was there. Anyway I would have thought you'd have had to have informed the DVLA about your learning difficulties.....:rolleyes:

And again, deflection. You said that those conditions had to be reported to DVLA, I demonstrated that for at least one of them, you were incorrect. You were wrong.

As for "learning difficulties", the fact that I can acknowledge when I make a mistake indicates no lack of education on my part, and an ability to learn. Can you say the same? Thought not, and your post exemplifies precisely what I mean.

Ah well, at least my "learning difficulties" got me a well paid, cushy, office number - how's the plumbing industry these days?

Is Stuart a lecturer as well?

Must be intolerable for you seeing as your own job is your own nightmare.

Edited by nosferatu

And again, deflection. You said that those conditions had to be reported to DVLA, I demonstrated that for at least one of them, you were incorrect. You were wrong.

As for "learning difficulties", the fact that I can acknowledge when I make a mistake indicates no lack of education on my part, and an ability to learn. Can you say the same? Thought not, and your post exemplifies precisely what I mean.

Ah well, at least my "learning difficulties" got me a well paid, cushy, office number - how's the plumbing industry these days?

If you weren't so stupid you might have clicked on the link provided for the condition and saw what was actually there. :rolleyes:

Is Stuart a lecturer as well?

Must be intolerable for you seeing as your own job is your own nightmare.

lol.gif:

I work for a company that has lowered carbon emissions at a number of major FTSE 100 companies by over 40% since we started working with them. We've reduced their energy bills as a result we've increased their profit margins allowing many of those companies to not only retain staff during the economic downturn, but to also allow them to pay bonuses to staff based on the energy savings within their organisation. And we do all of this without cutting down a single tree, and without importing a single windmill from China.

Poor Oaksoft. He once claimed that he was involved in the research and development of those wind turbines that have proved so inefficient. How worthless must his life feel. :rolleyes:

Poor Oaksoft. He once claimed that he was involved in the research and development of those wind turbines that have proved so inefficient. How worthless must his life feel. rolleyes.gif

I have NEVER claimed to have been involved in the R&D of wind turbines.

WTF is going on with you two today? lol.gif

One of you either show me where I've ever claimed either or STFU.

I have NEVER claimed to have been involved in the R&D of wind turbines.

WTF is going on with you two today? lol.gif

One of you either show me where I've ever claimed either or STFU.

You claimed to be a "scientist" and said you were involved in R&D with wind turbines and carbon capture. I pointed out to you that we already had perfectly good carbon capture machines that had been working for hundreds of thousands of years - trees - but that we were removing them to put these shitty wind turbines up.

I did think you were an awfy weird scientist as you always seem closed to data that goes against your "decided" theory. I should have worked out that the extent of your scientific reasoning was knowing how much bicarbonate of soda to put down a toilet when cleaning the university lavatories. :rolleyes:

You claimed to be a "scientist" and said you were involved in R&D with wind turbines and carbon capture. I pointed out to you that we already had perfectly good carbon capture machines that had been working for hundreds of thousands of years - trees - but that we were removing them to put these shitty wind turbines up.

Show me where I said that?

BTW trees don't capture carbon. They capture carbon dioxide.

You reckon half of Brazil and much of Asia has been deforested so we can erect wind farms do you? lol.gif

A wee bit of education.

Trees aren't the biggest sinks of carbon dioxide. Oceans are.

It's why they are getting more acidic - excess carbon dioxide.

It's why ocean warming is a potential disaster.

Warming the seas by even a fraction releases vast quantities of that stored carbon dioxide.

That's the runaway scenario which scientists are worried about.

And don't forget what the sea contains. Plankton which give off more carbon dioxide than all the farm animals in the world. f**k the oceans, drain them all I say. smile.png

That would make the entire concept of the carbon dioxide cycle quite......complex and intricate then?

FFS don't tell Dickson. He thinks it's all simple enough that he can comment with authority on it.

That would make the entire concept of the carbon dioxide cycle quite......complex and intricate then?

FFS don't tell Dickson. He thinks it's all simple enough that he can comment with authority on it.

He's the George W Bush of B&W Army