Ship Aground

RickMcD

Kilchoan's a nice spot.

http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/kilchoan/kilchoan/

Pass through it en route to the lighthouse, cafe, art gallery on the westernmost GBritish Coast, or North through the centre of a huge ancient volcano.

Achnaha (sp) on the bump at its centre. Great geology.

The helicopter strafing of Sean Connery at the end of From Russia With Love was filmed not in Russia, but here....

I stayed at the Kilchoan Hotel 15 yrs ago when I was working up there , it was this time of year and the electric heating in the rooms was , er , inadequate but the owner gave me free beer. .nologo.gif

Sean Connery disnae go tae Russia in From Russia With Love , I think you'll find that that footage you refer to is meant to be in Greece or Turkey. .wink.png

I stayed at the Kilchoan Hotel 15 yrs ago when I was working up there , it was this time of year and the electric heating in the rooms was , er , inadequate but the owner gave me free beer. .nologo.gif

Sean Connery disnae go tae Russia in From Russia With Love , I think you'll find that that footage you refer to is meant to be in Greece or Turkey. .wink.png

I knew that! smile.png

Just a wee "live" update for Rick McD, Tobermory lifeboat been back out since 01:00 and on watch, divers down just now making a decision on whether she is moveable or not. A bit of a concern about how quickly she'll take on water and from there the only way is down!! Fingers crossed for a positive outcome!!

Edited by WeeBud

Just a wee "live" update for Rick McD, Tobermory lifeboat been back out since 01:00 and on watch, divers down just now making a decision on whether she is moveable or not. A bit of a concern about how quickly she'll take on water and from there the only way is down!! Fingers crossed for a positive outcome!!

Thanks for that. Not saying she was particularly pleasing on the eye, but I hate seeing ships looking stricken and listing. I bet there has been quite a bit of talk about how it came about. Any scuttlebutt on that?

Heard there may have been pirates involved. whistling.gif

It is only scuttlebutt and hopefully wrong but "40 winks" has been mentioned!!

Just as a postscript to this story, I'm glad to see that the Lysblink Seaways is being towed to the Clyde and is to be repaired. Delighted to hear it as I'd seen her so often in Belfast Lough. Somebody I think must be in diffs over this incident.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-31735540

Just as a postscript to this story, I'm glad to see that the Lysblink Seaways is being towed to the Clyde and is to be repaired. Delighted to hear it as I'd seen her so often in Belfast Lough. Somebody I think must be in diffs over this incident.

Link no working.

Try this:

The first time I think I've done one properly and the bloody thing didn't work. I hate links. But I think I know an answer. If only I knew how to show it.

Somehow your link doubled up on the html that encompassed it. The blocked brackets with instructions eg [blah blah blah]

If you're really interested, quote your post and look at the link, and do the same with mine. I'm not sure how you doubled it up. That was all that was wrong.

You wait for one grounded bus sorry... boat and three come along in a week...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-31780735

That looks like a lovely piece of grounding. Nice and sandy, hopefully no damage and if it was docking presumably everybody was wide awake. 9 out of 10 for posture.

It can't be nice and sandy though... :unsure:

It's Loch Eil. I did loads of sailing and canoeing there, over 5 years, and it was mostly rocky or big, blocky pebbles.

Just had a look at Streetmap and it's showing as SHINGLY at the timber yards.

http://www.streetmap.co.uk/map.srf?x=209020&y=776695&z=120&sv=209020,776695&st=4&ar=y&mapp=map.srf&searchp=ids.srf&dn=820&ax=209020&ay=776695&lm=0

My memory is eroding perhaps...

It can't be nice and sandy though... unsure.png

It's Loch Eil. I did loads of sailing and canoeing there, over 5 years, and it was mostly rocky or big, blocky pebbles.

Just had a look at Streetmap and it's showing as SHINGLY at the timber yards.

http://www.streetmap.co.uk/map.srf?x=209020&y=776695&z=120&sv=209020,776695&st=4&ar=y&mapp=map.srf&searchp=ids.srf&dn=820&ax=209020&ay=776695&lm=0

My memory is eroding perhaps...

I was just going on appearance. It looked to me like it was pretty sandy and if you had to choose a spot to run aground you could get worse. And in case anybody asks 'Why the f**k would you want to run aground?', it can happen.