Two Years Ago Already.

Hard to believe the league cup win is was two years ago. Think I'll get my DVD out tomorrow night and try and cheer myself up. A cup win with a strip that you can look at without your retinas melting.

At this time two years ago I was in The Lord Lonsdale with some great Buds getting outside about six pints warming up for a great Sunday. A good start to one of the very best weekends of my life.

At work today and was sitting in the lecture room bored out my tits listening to some guy going on about something while using a power point presentation.

I was woken from my daydream by the music that started to play in the video on the big screen as it was the piano music from the opening scenes on the DVD. It took me back to that day picturing the 3 goals, Jim lifting the cup, Danny bringing up the rear to get his hands on the trophy with his black raincoat on. What I pictured most of all were my fellow Buds celebrating at the final whistle. The surprise and joy on my Emmas face was brilliant.

The whole day still makes me smile with pride.

I missed the SLF St Paddy's day concert at the Barras for the first time in about 10 years - didn't mind though. I could've made it but preferred to head back to Paisley - tried to move pub about 8pm and couldn't get into another one - all full. Had to head home. sad.png

The Pubs were that tightly packed, I couldnae get intae my pocket to get my wallet oot.

My wee bit.

An Ode to the Buddie Heroes

And so came the day, the team sheet read out,

One change was made, from the Celtic rout.

In came Paul Dummett, at the expense of Carey,

And the first twenty minutes, were no less than scary.

Hearts well on top, and a goal to the good,

Missing chances, and hitting the wood.

But still we clung on, and lo and behold,

Our players stepped up and scored their first goal.

Thompson flicked on, with Teale in full flight

He waltzed past defenders, down on the right.

A quick look around, and he sees it so plain,

And passes to Isma, to be the hero again.

With the crowd going wild, the ball’s in the net,

And the pain of the first quarter, we start to forget.

The second half starts. The whistles just gone,

Another goal for the Saints. Thompson’s on song.

2-1’s now the score, and belief is abound,

You could physically feel it, in the West of the ground.

There was better to come, as the time ticked away,

Newton passed to Isma, and continued the play.

Goncalves flicked on, and in Connor stole,

“Baw’s in the pokey”, Saint Mirren’s third goal.

After Hearts got forward, and pulled one goal back,

It was our hearts not their’s, that were having attacks

Lest we forget, it’s not just goals that you score,

To win a league cup takes so much more.

Samson’s save, and a Van Zanten block,

As we watched from the stand, the tick of the clock.

The whistle blows, it’s the end of the game,

Goodwin walks up, the trophy to claim.

First Goodwin, then Samson, Thompson are there

McGinn, Van Zanten, McAusland and Mair,

Dummett, Newton and McGowan go up

To lift that elusive, Scottish League Cup

Carey, McLean, Adam,.. Parkin as well

All get their chance, so proud you can tell

Then Teale and Goncalves, outstanding we say

They’ll all be remembered, for what happened that day

Last but not least, it’s the managers turn,

Danny Lennon lifts, the bright silver urn.

And as each of them lifted the cup and turned round

Tears were being shed, by all left in the ground.

So the cup comes to Paisley, the first time it’s been,
And throughout the town, were incredible scenes.
All I can say, to the staff and the players,
Is thank you for answering, all of our prayers!

Oh for that passion now. Both on and off the park!

My wee bit.

Brilliant thumbup2.gif

This is what the term "Pot, Kettle" was invented for.lol.gif

How come the rest of your posts are shite? tongue.png

Edited to add. Watch the footage and I hope you appreciate the fact I got the players in order at the end. I was quite pleased with that.

And above is why its great to be a St Mirren Fan, "FcK knows "should be our motto

Cheeky Bersteward.

FcKKnows??

Not all of my posts are shite.

Most? Maybe.

still get goose bumps every time I see thomos celebration.

Must have watched that game 100 times, Love the Newton Goal what a strike, Thommos reaction is awesome, first goal is quality, even Hearts played a part in a fantastic game, JJ moaning was priceless, last 2 league final have been dreadful. Or maybe I am bias. Geez just realized- I am

2 year ago today was the most nervous I've ever been attending a football match.

In order to settle my nerves I must've had about 8 pints and a few cheeky voddys in the Caledonian Bowling Club before getting the bus to Hampden!

What a day/weekend, will be with me till the day I die!

Pity you don't remember it.

I've never watched the whole game back again,might just do that tonight.

2 years ago at this very moment I was ordering up a last round in The Ivory. :)

I ordered up my last round decades ago.

2 year ago today was the most nervous I've ever been attending a football match.

In order to settle my nerves I must've had about 8 pints and a few cheeky voddys in the Caledonian Bowling Club before getting the bus to Hampden!

What a day/weekend, will be with me till the day I die!

In 87' cup final day , left Foxbar with liquid breakfast ( six cans of Breaker ) train from Gilmour St - went to game ( only remember a bit of the extra time ) apparently we won :P

Thankfully had the VHS on record otherwise no visual recollection :D

I'd advise drinks after the game.

My wee bit.

tremendous. Hat doffed to you sir

I missed the SLF St Paddy's day concert at the Barras for the first time in about 10 years - didn't mind though. I could've made it but preferred to head back to Paisley - tried to move pub about 8pm and couldn't get into another one - all full. Had to head home. sad.png

I went to the Barras great night

Many Jambos and Hibbys shaking my hand as i had my 1987 top on

Only hassle i got was from some bhigots going up to the Barras

Jealousy cannot see past their own team