Dodgy Pop-Ups On Bawa. .

saintnextlifetime

There are a serious amount of dodgy adverts that pop up on here , now . .

This morning one said I was the 100,000th visitor and entitled to vouchers. .chris.gif

There is even one that claims to be from Microsoft (usually a sign that they are well dodgy) , and then claims that one's computer has a virus called Liam.x. (this is not the case and I don't even know if there is such a thing) . .

The pop up also provides a phone number , 0800 031 4002. Don't phone it . If you google this number you will read that it is a bunch of fraudsters looking for £200 off of you. .nerd.gif

This morning one said I was the 100,000th visitor and entitled to vouchers. .chris.gif

There is even one that claims to be from Microsoft (usually a sign that they are well dodgy) , and then claims that one's computer has a virus called Liam.x. (this is not the case and I don't even know if there is such a thing) . .

The pop up also provides a phone number , 0800 031 4002. Don't phone it . If you google this number you will read that it is a bunch of fraudsters looking for £200 off of you. .nerd.gif

Now you tell me........................shutup.gif

Oh... I don't know... :unsure:

I've met an awful lot of very nice but indigent Nigerian Princesses through dialling that number...

That`ll be next years season ticket begging letter.

Have now noticed that , my computer virus protection is blocking the adverts that usually run on the top and sides . The advert must be dodgy , maybe another one of those ones trying to get you to bet on some meaningless fitba' match for a team in Glasgow's East End. .

Mine is doing the same ,I don't get any adverts or pop ups at all.

I believe other sites you visit leave cookies that encourage adverts to appear whilst you are browsing elsewhere.

If the adverts are dodgy then you have been surfing some dodgy websites.

Which website leaves cookie that generate an advert that says you have won a prize for being the 100,000 visitor . .

Also I never visit betting sites or shellac sites but have had adverts telling me when the next shellac game is and what odds I could get. .bangin.gif

WIthout reading the thread I will have a stab at answering this as It is not often I know anything about technology past that of a Rolls Royce engine (circa 1945).

Your pop ups are to do with biscuits on your computer. For example when you looked at that donkey porn website a donkey porn biscuit was left on your computer. That biscuit sends out a salty biscuit smell (in electronic terms) and other donkey porn peddlers smell the salty biscuitness and send donkey porn adverts in the direction of the biscuit.

So to sum up, the dodgy pop ups are your own doing...you naughty little man.

Nice little ditty , old yin , however , I have electronic counter measure that means , there is no place for the biscuit to be left on my computer just as if an eager wee mongrel was waiting for any little biscuits or crumbs to drop onto my computer and then it would ravenously devour them . .

Sometimes , the wee dug can get lazy and I have to give it a kick but generally it is ravenous , so you see , that in itself , does not further your theory on the olde pop-up pups. .

As Mr Divby says , the forum has to be paid for , which is accurate but doesn't account for some of the pop-ups particularly the ones that can talk without even clicking on them which leads me to believe that the Forum -miester isnae necessarily aware of what all the advertisers are capable of . .wink.png

You think you've got problems, I'v got Shulls posts appearing all over the fcuking place. wink.png

Lucky Fcking You ? Jings crivens help me Boab, Ah cannae get any up to date pages on this site or P & B, Do you have a solution ? or am I just being bangin.gif

• 5 months later...

Don't even know what dodgy pop-ups are supposed to look like but if that lassie who lies across the top of our site advertising Debenhams Magic Wire Bras is one of them it's OK with me. She wears a cracking simmet. I'm happily married but if she asked me nice, I could be tempted.

No Rick, that doesnae sound dodgy per the definition of dodgy pop-ups, however , you sound a bit dodgy now. .stan.gif

• 11 months later...