Summer Football Debate

Hmmm

Just imagine for a moment, that we have always played football in the Summer/milder months, but the game is slowly dying on on it's feet.

Someone with a bit of vision comes along and suggests we should play our national game in the Winter/colder months...

Now... how the fucjk is he gonnae sell that wan??

Who says the game is dying on its feet. In the bottom two tears of Scottish football debt has been pretty much eradicated and the standard of player at that level is probably been the best it's been in 10 years at least. In terms of the International team we're doing pretty well with a sold out Hampden for most competitive matches, despite inflated prices.

The only level where there's doom and gloom currently is in the top tier where customers are beginning to complain about prices and the quality of what is on show, and where TV audiences and therefore advertising and sponsorship opportunities are falling through the floor. Clubs are cutting back on wages and the youth structure is failing. Ultimately it means fans are being asked to pay English Premiership ticket prices to watch players signed from Conference clubs.

Chairmen should stop looking for a gimmick to save them. Get back to bringing through talent and let under 14s in for free

Who says the game is dying on its feet. In the bottom two tears of Scottish football debt has been pretty much eradicated and the standard of player at that level is probably been the best it's been in 10 years at least. In terms of the International team we're doing pretty well with a sold out Hampden for most competitive matches, despite inflated prices.

The only level where there's doom and gloom currently is in the top tier where customers are beginning to complain about prices and the quality of what is on show, and where TV audiences and therefore advertising and sponsorship opportunities are falling through the floor. Clubs are cutting back on wages and the youth structure is failing. Ultimately it means fans are being asked to pay English Premiership ticket prices to watch players signed from Conference clubs.

Chairmen should stop looking for a gimmick to save them. Get back to bringing through talent and let under 14s in for free

That's a lot of words for absolutely no content whatsoever.

You are offering plenty of hot air. Free for under 14s? How revolutionary.

And WTF is "bring through talent" and how is it different to what currently happens?

You're full of hot air bud. Just another man frustrated at your inability to be seen as important.

Why oh why are 'faraway saint and shull' being allowed to ruin every thread with cheeky pointless and immature posts? They are neither smart nor funny...why is this being allowed to continue? Could have pretty decent discussions and debate on here without these two doing there level best to ruin it...why are you not doing anything mods?

Either that or clubs need to invest in stadium infrastrucure. We could fill in corners either with seats or Hibs style adverting hoardings to stop at least some of the gale force winds. Also installl roof space heaters in stands like at Ajax, Milan, etc.

Clubs cant have it both ways.

Fans have been going to winter football for over 100 years. Indeed, historically some of the best attended matches of the season are the midwinter games of late December and early January.

We've never had roof space heaters before and it hasn't stopped crowds coming. Why do we suddenly need them now?

Fans have been going to winter football for over 100 years. Indeed, historically some of the best attended matches of the season are the midwinter games of late December and early January.

We've never had roof space heaters before and it hasn't stopped crowds coming. Why do we suddenly need them now?

Because I'm auld and cauld.

That's a lot of words for absolutely no content whatsoever.

You are offering plenty of hot air. Free for under 14s? How revolutionary.

And WTF is "bring through talent" and how is it different to what currently happens?

You're full of hot air bud. Just another man frustrated at your inability to be seen as important.

Are you two actually at war?

i also find being new to the forum the level of abuse towards 'Stuart Dickson" disgraceful...the man makes his points clearly and with no abuse but receives total abuse on his points from other users..again mods why are u allowing this?

Could be worse

Shull could have speared him

Why oh why are 'faraway saint and shull' being allowed to ruin every thread with cheeky pointless and immature posts? They are neither smart nor funny...why is this being allowed to continue? Could have pretty decent discussions and debate on here without these two doing there level best to ruin it...why are you not doing anything mods?

And get rid of multi aliases, wait..... Trumpet.

He is a good sport.

Hmm.

He courts it, and thrives on it. The abuse is one of the reasons he comes back time after time. I've met Stuart. He is big, bad, and ugly enough to take care of himself. No, really, he is.....

That's what we need... more hot air!

Re this article: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/33130854

Where does Gilmour get his '40-45%' of Saints fans that want Summer Football from? Is it from the ten posters on the official site..?

Plus if you add his back of a fag packet percentages up it comes to 105%.... WTF?

I believe he set up some kind of Poll on Twitter bud.

Again more abuse and name calling from two people trying to ruin forum and nothing gets done...

Why don't you relax, chill out and enjoy the Forum?

You started off with a negative agenda and you haven't let up since.

It's a football forum and we are all Buddies .

Read and enjoy who you like.

Bypass the numpties

Become a Mod.

You started it.

Lots of love x