St Mirren V Hibernian Spfl Championship

Depressed, disillusioned and disjointed - adjectives that describe the state of play (and the supporters) at our beloved club..

Yet what is happening at Greenhill Road is not unique.

Even the mighty (wealthy) Chelsea and Man U have not had their troubles to seek in the recent past.

As for ourselves, relatively speaking we have seen better days!

However, whilst it is highly unlikely, it cannot be totally discounted that the present management team and players can turn things round before it is too late.

Alec Miller's influence on tactics and team morale will take a few weeks to take effect, but most fans on here have stated that the current player pool is potentially as good as we have had for some time - despite the loss of McLean and McGinn

What is obviously lacking at the moment is confidence and concentration - 2 essential ingredients in any successful team.

Team selections and tactics have also contributed to our present demise but hopefully Miller will be able to influence things in that regard.

Here's hoping!!!

I'm surprised he said that much. It must have been a shit week for Murray with Miller holding court with the STV cameras and with the press. Yet after yet another drubbing Millers done a runner and Murray's left to face the press. Helping? Nah it looks more like hanging him out to dry.

It would be unusual for the assistant / "helper with team affairs" to be the one doing the press conferences... especially when this is one of the things Murray does best (talking a good game in the media).

None of our pre-season signings have clicked for me and the spine of the team while looking good on paper haven't exactly covered themselves in glory either - Langfield, Webster, Goodwin and Thompson ....... meh !

We are in a sorry state and maybe the break has come at a good time. We need to get some energy and fight into that team sharpish.

agree but that's Goodwin,he tried and failed about 5 times to do mcginn harm,too slow to make any impact now ,young guys just run around him,livi and Falkirk games the same

Bit harsh on Goodwin imo. I think he would be the first to admit that Saturday wasn't his best performance but he's been our stand out player all season.

At Annan he was only beaten to being the worst player on the park by an abysmal and lazy Gow. Problem is that if Goodwin has a poor game by losing players, having shit distribution or concentrating on battling instead of playing then we'll have a poor game to him being in a protecting role. He's meant to break up play, protect the back four and move things along. Not provide very little and get a "Goody, Goody" karaoke session due to making one tackle or being booked unfairly.

He's been a stand out for trying, but is overall just as culpable for being posted missing or losing possession as say Agnew.

Goody has been our outstanding player this season by a country mile. He is not the greatest player in the world but the most consistent and put in the best performances from any player in our squad. He has his limitations but spends a lot of his time covering for others who are regularly posted missing. Sometimes he is a one man midfield. Once we start slagging Goody then we really are f**ked.

We seem unable to compete or show appetite once we go behind. We haven't scored a goal in the last 15 minutes of games this season and that sums up both the lack of fitness and desire this current squad have

Yes the fitness levels are clearly showing

Despite having Ralston we look slower,weaker and sluggish

Not a big a crime against Sevco and Hibs but the other teams

Seeing young men scarlet faced and blowing out their arse after 30 mins doesn't bode well

At Annan he was only beaten to being the worst player on the park by an abysmal and lazy Gow. Problem is that if Goodwin has a poor game by losing players, having shit distribution or concentrating on battling instead of playing then we'll have a poor game to him being in a protecting role. He's meant to break up play, protect the back four and move things along. Not provide very little and get a "Goody, Goody" karaoke session due to making one tackle or being booked unfairly.

He's been a stand out for trying, but is overall just as culpable for being posted missing or losing possession as say Agnew.

Have no idea what you have against Goodwin. Remember before the season started we had a few debates on the very subject. One bad game and you are on his case yet he has consistently been our best player this season so far.

Couldn't disagree more. Goodwin may have had a poor game at Annan but most games this season he has been outstanding. Fighting for everything and generally annoying that opposition which is what he is there to do, as well as break up play. The Dunfermline fans gave him a standing ovation when substituted against them, you don't see that very often.

Goodwin for me will be player of the year, by quite some distance.

Have the "Murray! Murray! Get tae f*ck!" chants started in the stadium yet, or is everyone too apathetic?

I was surprised at the lack of boo-ing at full time, I suppose alot of people had left early. It show how far we have fallen that a 4-1 home defeat is met with apathy rather than anger.

Couldn't disagree more. Goodwin may have had a poor game at Annan but most games this season he has been outstanding. Fighting for everything and generally annoying that opposition which is what he is there to do, as well as break up play. The Dunfermline fans gave him a standing ovation when substituted against them, you don't see that very often.

Goodwin has been our best player this season, however, he was just up against two better players and got little help. It's how naive we are that gets me, nobody standing in front of ball, sometimes there are times to go down when fouled and stay down just a general lack of being 'streetwise'. The game was over but still hibs subs were as far away from the dug outs as possible and sauntered off even when escorted by the fud of a ref. It just seems we are soft and predictable. It's so frustrating to watch!

He may be, but we are rank rotten and it's no badge of honour for him. He also refuses to accept decisions, same with Thommo, so hardly a great example. He's just ordinary, yet is held up for basically doing his job. No point breaking up play if you then knock it out and anyone could knock the ball backwards.

Dunfermline were also abysmal, I can't remember being as disappointed by an opposition team from the viewpoint of reputation and expecting a match out of them.

I was surprised at the lack of boo-ing at full time, I suppose alot of people had left early. It show how far we have fallen that a 4-1 home defeat is met with apathy rather than anger.

There's really no point in booing, I genuinely doubt the players care these days. They may mull it over when on the golf course at 1 or picking up their kids every day from school, but I don't see much real caring on a Saturday. Well, except Langfield who had the wee go at Baird.

He may be, but we are rank rotten and it's no badge of honour for him. He also refuses to accept decisions, same with Thommo, so hardly a great example. He's just ordinary, yet is held up for basically doing his job. No point breaking up play if you then knock it out and anyone could knock the ball backwards.

Dunfermline were also abysmal, I can't remember being as disappointed by an opposition team from the viewpoint of reputation and expecting a match out of them.

We are rank rotten but that doesn't take away from the fact that Goody has been our best and most consistent player this season. Is it his fault his fellow teammates are under performing week in week out?

Again, regardless of the opposition Jim can only play what's in front of him and he was outstanding against Dunfermilne. Who do you suggest we play instead of Goodwin? Carswell who is an imposter?

Seriously mate take your mask off as you are obviously blinded to Goodwin.

Take him out the current squad and these draws we have picked up would probably be loses.

Anyway I giving up on you regarding this subject clearly he did not sign your arse with a pen or something.

Sad times at saints indeed. Fans don't care and support is dwindling.

3000 Saints fans at Saturdays match. The support is still there we just need to be treated better. Been to home games at LS where you'd be lucky if there were half that number but those were pre internet days and most folks moans were confined to that day.