Bring Danny Lennon Back To Greenhill Road

If John Coughlin can keep getting jobs then Danny Lennon will get something somewhere. Will need to start at the bottom though

Aye maybe someone will take a punt on him in the fourth tier or Lowland League.

Who was the last Saints manager to manage at a 'bigger club' after leaving us? Alex Smith in the 80's?

All our managers seem to leave us and either go backwards or out the game completely. Bone, Fitzpatrick, Hendrie, Coughlin, McPherson, Lennon... Next Murray.

Not surprised he's left, the Alloa fans have been baying for his removal for a while there.

Hard to see him getting another managerial job now.

Ian Murray will not get another managerial position at a club of our size, when we eventually sack him. I guess that's the main reason he won't resign.

Danny Lennon tries to play football in the correct manner, while Murray plays hoof ball with not one shred of tactical nous. The guy should have been chased out of our club weeks ago.

Ian Murray will not get another managerial position at a club of our size, when we eventually sack him. I guess that's the main reason he won't resign.

Danny Lennon tries to play football in the correct manner, while Murray plays hoof ball with not one shred of tactical nous. The guy should have been chased out of our club weeks ago.

Good points, but this isn't a thread about Ian Murray...?

Aye maybe someone will take a punt on him in the fourth tier or Lowland League.

Who was the last Saints manager to manage at a 'bigger club' after leaving us? Alex Smith in the 80's?

All our managers seem to leave us and either go backwards or out the game completely. Bone, Fitzpatrick, Hendrie, Coughlin, McPherson, Lennon... Next Murray.

Probably us in two or three years time unless we get things sorted pronto !

There's no such thing as playing football in the correct manner.

Wins are what actually matter, and aesthetics are a nice bonus. Lennon and Murray both are in the same ship when it comes to not being successful.

I like Danny, but he's not a very good football manager. What's happened at alloa proves the point.

The only point proved is Alloa's severe lack of resources compared to the other 9 Clubs.

Danny seemed to be an outstanding Football Manager during the League Cup Victory Run of 2012 /2013

Poor wee Danny

Too honourable for those around him-as he was at Paisley. He kept them up by the thinnest margin and tried his best, but there is just nothing to work with there

Unfortunately, when you are largely operating in the bargain area for the league you are in, every signing is a gamble. Some will pan out and others won't. My Only crticism of DL is that at St Mirren he should have brought in fewer and better players, after the cup-winning season. But the dilemma was always quality or quantity. He had a thin enough squad as it was, cutting a couple of heads to allow better quality signings was possibly a gamble he just couldn't make.

He should have been allowed to show he had learned from a pretty hard season though, that was always the safer bet for saints last year.

The mists of time seem to cloud the memories. Yes we had a couple of very special days at Hampden with Danny in 2013 but in actual fact the league campaign that season was an utter shambles and what happened the following season was even worse. That is why Danny was let go.

Let's look at some cold hard facts here.

The fact is that from Jan 1st 2013 to the end of the cup winning season we actually won 3 league games out of SEVENTEEN.

Danny's transfer dealings in the summer were an absolute shambles and we started the next season without a win in our opening 8 games (7 league).

That meant from 1st Jan 2013 to 5th Oct 2013 we won 3 league games out of TWENTY-FOUR.

In season 2013-2014 we also left both cups in the 1st round, and we went on a run where we lost 8 out of 9 games in the middle of the season.

Yes we won a cup under Danny, and it was very very special and he'll always be fondly remembered for that but he actually STARTED the rot.

Any notion of bringing him back is frankly absurd. IMO.

Danny, an ill looking guy, stress and thankless work with ever diminishing returns, he had to go after the Dumbarton loss...................

Hmmmm, I just wonder now if Dumbarton will become the hanging club , back to back managers last stand soon, Murray now needs to escape being next in the Dumbarton noose this Saturday.

As for bringing DL back here, erm naw.

dry.png