TopCat Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 (edited) Billy Reid.I didn't say there wasn't any Reid left Accies in the same position as they were in when he took over. The fans there wanted him gone long before he left and they improved almost immediately when he did. He benefited from having two EPL class youngsters in McArthur and McCarthy at the same time. When they left he relegated Accies and had them back in the bottom half of the second tier by the time he was punted. His style is also absolutely eye watering. Remember those four 0-0's we had with his Clyde team in one season? No thanks. Edited December 14, 2015 by TopCat 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuart Dickson Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 The stand out name on that list for me would be Alex McLeish. I can't imagine St Mirren could afford him but he'd be exactly the kind of person who would be able to shape the club from the bottom up given a free hand. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuart Dickson Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Think you are being generous Clyde fan I work with says he's been a laughing stock amongst their support He's also managed to alienate them with his comments in the press about them. I said it elsewhere Barry Ferguson has had every advantage going for him in League Two. He's had a load of his old pals on call to help him out as well as a rather decent budget for a side in that league, and yet for each season he's been there Clyde have landed up really struggling. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluto Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 (edited) His column in one of the tabloids, it has been reported, is usually about a club that's been in its rented stadium for even less time than Clyde has been in Cumbernauld. His loyalty, thanks to a gross (in the absurd sense) EBT, is still being retained and paid for. ETA: £2.5m Edited December 14, 2015 by bluto 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drew Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 The stand out name on that list for me would be Alex McLeish. I can't imagine St Mirren could afford him but he'd be exactly the kind of person who would be able to shape the club from the bottom up given a free hand. I can't imagine there is the remotest chance we could bring in McLeish. Seems a fanciful inclusion at best. I agree, though, he is exactly the type of character required. I'm intrigued by the interest you have demonstrated in this matter, Stuart. It is almost as though you care.... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
magnus Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 I didn't say there wasn't any Reid left Accies in the same position as they were in when he took over. The fans there wanted him gone long before he left and they improved almost immediately when he did. He benefited from having two EPL class youngsters in McArthur and McCarthy at the same time. When they left he relegated Accies and had them back in the bottom half of the second tier by the time he was punted. His style is also absolutely eye watering. Remember those four 0-0's we had with his Clyde team in one season? No thanks. On the style front Reid = Miller. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RickMcD Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Doesn't matter whether 'the favourite' gets it or a complete outsider, within ten minutes we'll have rabid St.Mirren fans on here with gtf comments before a ball is kicked. It would be nice if whoever is selected was given at least a few months to see what he or she can do before starting a hate campaign. We can but dream. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nosferatu Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 (edited) As did Ian Murray with Dumbarton.When did Ian Murray win promotion for Dumbarton?When did Ian Murray get Dumbarton into the promotion okay off spot in a division higher than he started in? Edited December 14, 2015 by nosferatu 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kendo Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 When did Ian Murray win promotion for Dumbarton? When did Ian Murray get Dumbarton into the promotion okay off spot in a division higher than he started in? The point is that he has similar credentials to Murray and it would be a similar gamble. I would actually take a punt on someone like this as I would rather have an up and coming manager. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stu Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 I can't imagine there is the remotest chance we could bring in McLeish. Seems a fanciful inclusion at best. I agree, though, he is exactly the type of character required. I'm intrigued by the interest you have demonstrated in this matter, Stuart. It is almost as though you care.... Aye, I'd be delighted with McLeish but there's more chance of me becoming manager. Alex Rae's last job was as his assistant at Genk... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
irvine_buddie Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 No odds on Div this time? Would be worth a quid. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greenhill Road Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 No odds on Div this time? Would be worth a quid. BOD unlikely to go for him due to him never being sober! Actually that might work 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
irvine_buddie Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 BOD unlikely to go for him due to him never being sober! Actually that might work It's not fair to ask anyone to watch St Mirren sober! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Pityme Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 As did Ian Murray with Dumbarton. Au contraire Murray won nothing at Dumbarton, and presided on them shipping 79 goals before ourbout of touch board swooped and paid (get this!) compensation for him...! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 I huvnae a clue. Lol Although I know the Media will try their f**king hardest to get somebody who is deeply in love with Sellik or the deceased Club to be our Manager. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lord Pityme Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Names not on the betting list, but would be solid appointments... McKinnon - Raith McCall - Ayr Johnston - Dunfermline All three actually achieving in management, so I guess that puts them out of contention as far as our board are concerned? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
billymehmet1 Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Lol to think we chose Murray instead of McKinnon 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rabinho Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Names not on the betting list, but would be solid appointments... McKinnon - Raith McCall - Ayr Johnston - Dunfermline All three actually achieving in management, so I guess that puts them out of contention as far as our board are concerned? More importantly all would require compensation. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottd Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 The shine is coming off a bit for McKinnon at Raith. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayrshireman Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Johnston did not exactly set the heather on fire at Killie some of his signings beggared belief and the fans did not rate him almost to a man. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergie's no1 fan Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Johnston is doing well with a full time team in a league full of part timers ( done the same with QotS ) but flopped at Killie. Could come in handy next season though! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Johnston lost 4 nil at St Mirren Park. He is dud. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nosferatu Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 (edited) The point is that he has similar credentials to Murray and it would be a similar gamble. I would actually take a punt on someone like this as I would rather have an up and coming manager.Murray took charge at a bottom half of the table Championship club and they stayed there.Young took over a minnow that has spent virtually its entire history at the bottom end of the lowest division. He won them promotion at the first attempt. In the higher league, he not only has them safe, he has them challenging for a second successive promotion, unprecedented in that club's history. Entirely different credentials. And, on top of this, he spent his playing career at full time top flight clubs. So he knows what its like to be at a club like St. Mirren. IMO, what we want is a young manager, with top flight playing experience and a record of winning promotions at a lower level. This is Darren Young. I agree with you though. Id like to see us take chance on a guy like this. Edited December 14, 2015 by nosferatu 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kendo Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 (edited) Murray took charge at a bottom half of the table Championship club and they stayed there. Young took over a minnow that has spent virtually its entire history at the bottom end of the lowest division. He won them promotion at the first attempt. In the higher league, he not only has them safe, he has them challenging for a second successive promotion, unprecedented in that club's history. Entirely different credentials. And, on top of this, he spent his playing career at full time top flight clubs. So he knows what its like to be at a club like St. Mirren. I agree with you though. Id like to see us take chance on a guy like this. Murray has the same if not better playing career at top flight clubs and international level. He also kept Dumbarton as the best part time club in Scotland. So I believe that there are similarities. I wouldn't be adverse to Young getting the job however it's a gamble. You do realise that the guy you continually slated (Wee Danny) took Alloa to successive promotions before joining us? Edited December 14, 2015 by Kendo 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TsuMirren Posted December 14, 2015 Report Share Posted December 14, 2015 Names not on the betting list, but would be solid appointments... McKinnon - Raith McCall - Ayr Johnston - Dunfermline All three actually achieving in management, so I guess that puts them out of contention as far as our board are concerned? Johnston got the job in FM after I removed Murray in my game on Saturday night. Of course, his Pars side offered f**k all versus us. Young is a very decent young manager, who has Albion playing decent football. But, would he suffer the same "who's the clown" on our training ground as IM appeared to have. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...