Being A Christian

Isle Of Bute Saint

My only problem with this thread - as stated before - is why single out Christians? Is that the only religion with followers that appear to act in an "ungodly" manner? Or are we just so desperate not to be tagged "racists" that we refuse to have a go at any of the other faiths? Why do you put a higher expectation or a higher level of judgement on a Christian than you do on an atheist, or for that matter on yourself?

I agree with the general consensus of what's being said on here in so far as I was brought up in a religious family and I turned my back on it at an early age because of the hypocrisy that I saw amongst many church goers but to tar every Christian the same seems.....well almost sectarian. They clearly are not all the same, they don't deserve to be tarred as such, and indeed many of the people I know who do have "faith" do so because it comforts them in some way and so long as it's not harming me or my kids I've got no problem in that at all. What's wrong with a widow believing that at some point in the afterlife she'll be reunited with her loved one? What's wrong with a parent who has lost a child believing that the child is being cared for by other fondly remembered relatives in some cloudy afterlife? If that's what allows them some comfort, some sense of having something to live for and to look forward to then whats the problem?

I've got a cousin who is a Church of Scotland minister, my old next door neighbour is a retired Pastor. When I was growing up a close friend of my family was the Rev Stuart Lochrie - look him up - who was an incredible man. All three have been an enormously positive influence on the lives of thousands of people. I don't need to believe in a heaven, hell, a god or the devil to be able to acknowledge that and to be tolerant of their beliefs.

The phrase "Born Again Christian" really has no meaning. To be a Christian you have to be "Born Again", so why mention it,

I'm not defending the Bible here TT but:

It doesn't say that the animals went into the ark in pairs, it says two of each unclean animal and seven of each clean animal and bird.

It doesn't say that Mary was a virgin, just that Jesus' conception wasn't the result of her getting shagged.

It doesn't say that Joseph wasn't shagging her, in fact it hints that he was.

It doesn't say that Jesus looked entirely different, just that nobody recognised him.

It's still all bollocks, though.

Bollocks indeed. Care to share your knowledge of Sodom?

They don't teach that nonsense in schools you know!

Not like you Stuart to miss the whole point of a thread. Here was me thinking I was attacking the moral of one individual. Then again who am I to spoil a Friday rant.

You're not though IoBS, are you? You've titled the thread "Being A Christian". You've made the point in your post that this "liar" is a practising Christian who doesn't live up to what you think should be a Christian standard. And you finish off by pointedly stating that "it's no wonder attendances are falling on Christian based religions" opening up the door for loads of rants against Christians on the forum by - some forumsters - who are even more hypocritical then your boss.

Hate to say this but I agree with the plumber.

If you said I know a Pakistani, Chinese, Communist, Homosexual, Irishman, Pole, Syrian etc. This thread would have been closed straight away and rightly so, What you have done intentionally or otherwise is attack the morals of an entire religion based on the conduct of one individual.

I'm not defending the conduct of the individual, but really the religious persuasions of the individual are not relevant.

Edited by insaintee

If you said I know a Pakistani, Chinese, Communist, Homosexual, Irishman, Pole, Syrian etc. This thread would have been closed straight away and rightly so, What you have done intentionally or otherwise is attack the morals of an entire religion based on the conduct of one individual.

I'm not defending the conduct of the individual, but really the religious persuasions of the individual are not relevant.

Not at all however it proves many read into a subject what they want to read. I know a lady in Lochwinnoch who has a different Christian faith from what I was brought up with. To me she is a true Christian I call her angel have the most up respect for her. My late mother in law attended church she was also what I call a real angel. On the day of her funeral all the shops closed for 1 hour as a mark of respect including a muslum owned shop. Religions have good bad worshipers. What I don't get is someone who has a sign lit up as big as the Barrow land neon sign saying I'm a Christian then breaking the number one rule. Sorry if you don't agree mate but that's how I see it. Edited by Isle Of Bute Saint

Not at all however it proves many read into a subject what they want to read. I know a lady in Lochwinnoch who has a different Christian faith from what I was brought up with. To me she is a true Christian I call her angel have the most up respect for her. My late mother in law attended church she was also what I call a real angel. On the day of her funeral all the shops closed for 1 hour as a mark of respect including a museum owned shop. Religions have good bad worshipers. What I don't get is someone who has a sign lit up as big as the Barrow land neon sign saying I'm a Christian then breaking the number one rule. Sorry if you don't agree mate but that's how I see it.

So what really mean is that you are disappointed that he does not live up to his Christian beliefs. That's cool like Bob Geldorf does not really live up to his "saintly" image or like Champaign Socialists like Sheridan and Gallway or intolerant gay rights activist "outing" Michael Portillo.

Got you

So what really mean is that you are disappointed that he does not live up to his Christian beliefs. That's cool like Bob Geldorf does not really live up to his "saintly" image or like Champaign Socialists like Sheridan and Gallway or intolerant gay rights activist "outing" Michael Portillo.

Got you

Yes I can go along with that description . Spend more time at sea than home as such comradship is number one. You look after each other, you listen to each other even if your not interested. It's a strange world in which to spend months away so you soon learn to depend on each other because it could be life or death. So if you lose faith on number one it comes as a BIG shock. Maybe soon there will be no work for me here. However I have a chance thankfully so if I succeed will move to one of our other vessels. It does not mean I lose in anyone who has a religion . I'm a atheist now but respect my fellow neighbour no matter their religion if they are true to it. Edited by Isle Of Bute Saint

The phrase "Born Again Christian" really has no meaning. To be a Christian you have to be "Born Again", so why mention it,

I'm not defending the Bible here TT but:

It doesn't say that the animals went into the ark in pairs, it says two of each unclean animal and seven of each clean animal and bird.

It doesn't say that Mary was a virgin, just that Jesus' conception wasn't the result of her getting shagged.

It doesn't say that Joseph wasn't shagging her, in fact it hints that he was.

It doesn't say that Jesus looked entirely different, just that nobody recognised him.

It's still all bollocks, though.

Whilst much of the Biblical stuff is just preposterous , much of Darwinian mythology is equally preposterous -like the primordial mud , after several million years , produces a da Vinci or an Archie Gemmill, even - the mud to Man theory simply doesnae compute. .

I am an atheist. That is my choice.

Christians, I know many and one or two like to mention it, talk about it, profess it at every opportunity. They are untrustworthy moron's who as well as being incredibly gullible are also quite frankly stupid. I do not trust people who are overtly religious.

Many other people I know are also Christian's. They are good honest people who quietly attend church every week, some help at coffee morning's, some help arrange trips for pensioner's and some just quietly go about there business without mentioning religion unless directly asked. Good honest people.

I particuarly distrust anyone who professes to be a born again Christian. These people often hide behind religion in order to hide some repugnent behaviour in there past. As a lad I was taught that the presbyterian church was the best church in the world and as I grew older (and wiser) i rejected this as a lot of pish. However If I choose to return to my Church of Scotland roots I can and would do so in a quiet and dignified manner. Why would I refer to myself as born again? Why would I ram it down other peoples throats? Why would I bother people by chapping there front doors and telling them about it?

People who conduct themselves in such a way are an insult to our education system and deserve to have faeces thrown at them in the street.

PS Do you really believe that every animal in the world paired up and trotted/flew/slithered/walked etc onto Noah's ark?

Do you really believe that Jesus's maw Mary was a virgin?

Do you really believe that Mary's husband Joseph wasn't pumping her?

Do you really believe in the shitty story about the garden of eden?

Do you really believe that Jesus rose from the dead but looked entirely different?

A man called Charles Darwin proved the bible and all other religious texts to be utter shite.

That is my opinion of course and you are free to believe whatever you wish (rubbish or not), just dont come to my front door and tell me about it!

You asked, "Why would I refer to myself as a born-again Christian?"

"Jesus replied, ‘Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.’" (John 3: 3)

As for the resurrection of Jesus... The Jewish authorities and Romans accepted the tomb he had been buried in was empty, and they knew which tomb he was buried in, and had guards protecting it. How do you explain the empty tomb, Tedious Tom?

Edited by Dibbles old paperboy

Why not call the thread, "My boss the liar" then?

because being a supervisor like a few others we don't pray in front of each other. Not judgemental mate but if you process to be true to the faith then you are open too critisum. The lies were not about me I may add.

Not at all however it proves many read into a subject what they want to read. I know a lady in Lochwinnoch who has a different Christian faith from what I was brought up with. To me she is a true Christian I call her angel have the most up respect for her. My late mother in law attended church she was also what I call a real angel. On the day of her funeral all the shops closed for 1 hour as a mark of respect including a muslum owned shop. Religions have good bad worshipers. What I don't get is someone who has a sign lit up as big as the Barrow land neon sign saying I'm a Christian then breaking the number one rule. Sorry if you don't agree mate but that's how I see it.

It's not though is it?

The number 1 rule if you go down the list of Commandments as ordered the first one is to have no other God. If you want to talk about in terms of what might be the biggest crime I guess that would be open to debate but I'd have thought murder, adultery, stealing, and coveting would all take higher priority.

Whether you meant to do it not IOBS you've opened the door for others to ridicule personal religious beliefs and quite a few took the opportunity to do so too.

"Jesus replied, ‘Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.’" (John 3: 3)

As for the resurrection of Jesus... The Jewish authorities and Romans accepted the tomb he had been buried in was empty, and they knew which tomb he was buried in, and had guards protecting it. How do you explain the empty tomb, Tedious Tom?

I don't as the entire story is a work of fiction.

Explain to everyone the story of Adam and eve?

Burke and Hare

It's not though is it?

The number 1 rule if you go down the list of Commandments as ordered the first one is to have no other God. If you want to talk about in terms of what might be the biggest crime I guess that would be open to debate but I'd have thought murder, adultery, stealing, and coveting would all take higher priority.

Whether you meant to do it not IOBS you've opened the door for others to ridicule personal religious beliefs and quite a few took the opportunity to do so too.

Not like you to demonstrate that you know f**k all about the subject under discussion but, yep, you've done it again.

That would be Old Testament, and Jewish, not Christian. Jesus is quoted as saying, and I'm paraphrasing here, aye, OK, number 1 is still number 1, but love your neighbour as you would love yourself is more important than the rest. And it goes on to define your neighbour for you. To do otherwise, and call yourself Christian, is, imo, hypocrisy, nothing more, nothing less, and that's the crux of what IOBS is getting at.

Edited by salmonbuddie

If you said I know a Pakistani, Chinese, Communist, Homosexual, Irishman, Pole, Syrian etc.

You do realise that they aren't religions?

Religion is a moral/value judgement call, not an indicator of one's birth origin. In other words, you choose and/or embrace your faith (usually), not where you were born. As such, it isn't unreasonable to expect people to be answerable and accountable for their faith, while it wouldn't be in terms of their ethnic and national origin (ETA - or sexuality).