Smirren Playing Staff And Social Media - A Ban Looming ?

St Mirren players can support whoever the hell they want. The odds are many of them will support one of the ugly sisters. I am sure there's a lot of banter on the training ground between St Mirren players following the 'old firm' derbies, and I would also be sure it is good-natured.

However.... Players who sign for St Mirren should be made very aware that they have signed for a club who are geographically very close to both of the huge clubs they may support, and down the years fight a constant battle for the hearts and minds of the Paisley / Renfrewshire populace, many of whom shun their local team to glory-hunt with one of the two big bigoted behemoths on our doorstep. They should then be politely asked to think about the tone and content of the shite they post on social media. I wouldn't ban anyone from using social media, that's Draconian... Just give the dafties a shove in the right direction.

You are being intolerant of all "Rangers" fans regardless of whether they are bigoted or not. That's your intolerance. You've got them all guilty by association rather than by deed and action, and what's worse is you've allowed your bigoted view to cloud the way you see YOUR OWN national flag. Can you imagine if all employers in Scotland followed your example and the example of others on here and sacked every "Rangers" fan on the basis of the name of the club they support? The industrial tribunal business would be the one to be in that's for sure.

I suggest you turn off your PC, go sit in a wee darkened room for a while and consider just how big a hypocrite you have been on this thread. You never know, it might even make you a better person. rolleyes.gif

Have you been in a stadium listening to them singing their party songs in unison? Singing bigoted, sectarian bile? I have, numerous times. These are the songs that are in their "songbook". I've also known more Rangers fans than I care to remember. Some good friends of mine over the years - all bawbags when it comes to football and to Rangers. Why should I sit back and accept their poison?

Who is calling for people to be sacked? If I have, please direct me to the post.

The saltire is my flag - the union flag means little to me. If you continue to pretend you don't know it's significance when used by Rangers fans, there's not a lot anybody can do for you - you're obviously quite partial to the views they hold. Wouldn't surprise me - you're a throbber of the highest order.

If you don't mind, I'll pass on advice from a tit like you on how to be a better person. Your one purpose seems to be to troll the forum of a club you claim not to support. Your staunch defence of the union flag and those who wave them at football matches is duly noted though...thumbup2.gif

Edited by Soctty

Supporting the sectarian Tribute Act makes them bigots and flaunting the Union Flag confirms it.

Ta ta

Even for you that's insane.

Supporting Rangers or Celtic makes you a bigot?

What about the taxi driver who takes them to their matches?

How on earth can waving the UK flag possibly make you a bigot?

I could be picking my nose instead of wasting my time typing. Lots missing the point.

You're as stupid as the rest.

You know Dickson goes out of his way to wind people up, and in you jump.

Oaky, on the other hand, knows fcuk all about football, so there's no point trying to reason with him.

Let it go, you know it gives you a fcuking headache.

Have you been in a stadium listening to them singing their party songs in unison? Singing bigoted, sectarian bile? I have, numerous times. These are the songs that are in their "songbook". I've also known more Rangers fans than I care to remember. Some good friends of mine over the years - all bawbags when it comes to football and to Rangers. Why should I sit back and accept their poison?

Who is calling for people to be sacked? If I have, please direct me to the post.

The saltire is my flag - the union flag means little to me. If you continue to pretend you don't know it's significance when used by Rangers fans, there's not a lot anybody can do for you - you're obviously quite partial to the views they hold. Wouldn't surprise me - you're a throbber of the highest order.

If you don't mind, I'll pass on advice from a tit like you on how to be a better person. Your one purpose seems to be to troll the forum of a club you claim not to support. Your staunch defence of the union flag and those who wave them at football matches is duly noted though...thumbup2.gif

So lets look at the evidence.

1. You've been to Ibrox numerous times.

2. You know the "Rangers songbook".

3. You know more "Rangers" fans than you care to remember.

Yet I'm the one with "Rangers" sympathies?!?!?!? :rolleyes:

Just remember this. I voted against giving "Rangers" an easy ride back to the SPL in 2012. Drew did too. If you want to point your fingers at "Rangers" sympathisers I suggest you turn your ire on the likes of Stewart Gilmour, Bryan McAusland, George Campbell and the 11 other people in the room that day screaming "Armageddon" who were happy to see "Rangers" back in the top flight so long as the ticket lady kept her job. Turn your ire on the St Mirren fans sat in the stands at Greenhill Road who listened to Gilmour tell them how important "Rangers" being in the top flight was to St Mirren, and turn your ire against those who said nothing - not one note of discontent.

Now back to the topic under discussion - in the UK (the country I live in) we believe in innocent until proven guilty. Even those nasty Natsi's haven't managed to change that yet in Scotland - although they have tried a version of everyone is innocent even if they did plant a bomb on a plane that exploded above Lockerbie killing 270 people. Yet here you post wanting St Mirren employees hounded out of the club because they happened to post on Social Media that they wanted their childhood favourites to do well on Sunday. What a knuckle scraping eejit you are.

And finally the significance of the Union Flag to the Rangers support is that it is the flag of the beautiful united country we live in, it's also in their club colours, and they know that showing it at football matches somehow gets a rise from daft fannies like you. There's nothing bigoted in the flag whatsoever.

Excellent maneuvering at 5.35 on the Kingston Bridge Sir.

Just what the sectioned off City Centre lane is handy for.

Lol

Cheers Bud ????Dropped GWR,hire back from Sandyford Place....and not a flag in site.

Even for you that's insane.

Supporting Rangers or Celtic makes you a bigot?

What about the taxi driver who takes them to their matches?

How on earth can waving the UK flag possibly make you a bigot?

You have never read any previous postings.

Laughable.

Is anybody gonnae tell me why the majority at Ibrox never shut up the very tiny minority?

I am sure if we had a small number of Saints fans disgracing our Country at Greenhill Road, the Club and decent fans would put a stop to it.

Is anybody gonnae tell me why the majority at Ibrox never shut up the very tiny minority?

I am sure if we had a small number of Saints fans disgracing our Country at Greenhill Road, the Club and decent fans would put a stop to it.

Come on Shull. You know that isn't true. If it was the "good" fans would have outed the ones singing "dodgy" songs on the train back from Livingston :rolleyes:

Too many individuals deliberately misunderstanding the situation.

There is no issue with a St Mirren player supporting ANY other football club.

However, there's a huge issue with a St Mirren player using social media to imply more interest in what other clubs are up to than what's happening at GHR. It is completely disrespectful to the fans and the club.

However, when it comes to the Old Firm we have an extra dimension to take into account and it's a nonsense to deny it. The clubs in question have both exploited and encouraged the sectarianism that has blighted Scotland for generations.

For employees of our club, and let's not forget Farrell here, to post the nonsense they did, replete with Union flag is crass and unacceptable.

I begin to wonder if they have a brain cell between them.

Someone mentioned that holding this position amounts to hypocrisy because we 'enjoy' the nice comments from the likes of McGarvey, McAvennie and Ferguson.

Well, not this guy. I cringe every time the media rolls these guys out to talk about their favourite diddy club. Some of us recall their shite biographies pandering to either set of Orcs in a desperate attempt for a few quid.

Too many individuals deliberately misunderstanding the situation.

There is no issue with a St Mirren player supporting ANY other football club.

However, there's a huge issue with a St Mirren player using social media to imply more interest in what other clubs are up to than what's happening at GHR. It is completely disrespectful to the fans and the club.

However, when it comes to the Old Firm we have an extra dimension to take into account and it's a nonsense to deny it. The clubs in question have both exploited and encouraged the sectarianism that has blighted Scotland for generations.

For employees of our club, and let's not forget Farrell here, to post the nonsense they did, replete with Union flag is crass and unacceptable.

I begin to wonder if they have a brain cell between them.

Someone mentioned that holding this position amounts to hypocrisy because we 'enjoy' the nice comments from the likes of McGarvey, McAvennie and Ferguson.

Well, not this guy. I cringe every time the media rolls these guys out to talk about their favourite diddy club. Some of us recall their shite biographies pandering to either set of Orcs in a desperate attempt for a few quid.

Alex Miller turned up to his first St Mirren training session as manager wearing a Rangers training top. He not only went on to enjoy several years as St Mirren manager - some of them qualifying for Europe - he was also the man St Mirren turned to, with the support of many on this very forum - to help out Ian Murray earlier this season when everything was going pear shaped.

I don't know you at all Dalrybud so I can't call you a hypocrite over the issue of past players - but I can well remember St Mirren fans stood on the North Bank at Love Street chanting "McAvennie's still a Saint" whilst he was playing for Celtic. Were you one of them? Or did you wait to read their autobiography before deciding that actually they probably weren't :rolleyes:

Why do they only post flags on their football tweets?If they're so keen on a flag why not attach it to every tweet they post?

Just asking.......

I have never read any of their Tweets to know how they post HSS, but perhaps you'd care to explain why you get so offended by the flag of your country? What is sectarian or bigoted about the Union Flag?

The butchers apron - you really need to ask?

Alex Miller turned up to his first St Mirren training session as manager wearing a Rangers training top. He not only went on to enjoy several years as St Mirren manager - some of them qualifying for Europe - he was also the man St Mirren turned to, with the support of many on this very forum - to help out Ian Murray earlier this season when everything was going pear shaped.

I don't know you at all Dalrybud so I can't call you a hypocrite over the issue of past players - but I can well remember St Mirren fans stood on the North Bank at Love Street chanting "McAvennie's still a Saint" whilst he was playing for Celtic. Were you one of them? Or did you wait to read their autobiography before deciding that actually they probably weren't :rolleyes:

I only remember that happening once - when he missed a penalty at Love Street while playing for Celtic.

It's called humour.

Fud.

The misuse / abuse of it for sectarian purposes and well you know it... you mischief maker you!

The flag isn't sectarian as well you know. A piece of cloth doesn't loathe anyone, nor it is intolerant of any belief, religion or football club. The Saltire has been hijacked by National Socialists in recent years, but I don't loathe anyone who uses it in their Twitter posts. To get so angry over a flag is pathetic and well you know it. :rolleyes:

I don't think you have read any of my posts either Stuart.Read thru this thread or any of the Carswell threads and show me what you're accusing me of.Where have I said I'm offended by or that I class the flag as sectarian or bigoted?F'ck me....you partly agreed with one of my posts.

I'm only asking why their love of the flag is selective....when they talk about football.I don't see a flag next to their post about having bacon and egg for breakfast.

Is it the flag of "Our Country" or is it a football flag?

I don't think you have read any of my posts either Stuart.Read thru this thread or any of the Carswell threads and show me what you're accusing me of.Where have I said I'm offended by or that I class the flag as sectarian or bigoted?F'ck me....you partly agreed with one of my posts.

I'm only asking why their love of the flag is selective....when they talk about football.I don't see a flag next to their post about having bacon and egg for breakfast.

Is it the flag of "Our Country" or is it a football flag?

It's clearly the flag of our country HSS. That's absolute fact and it has a place in every football ground in this country.

Some people, including you, need to have a bit of a look at yourself if the flag of your own country winds you up so much. :rolleyes:

The flag isn't sectarian as well you know. A piece of cloth doesn't loathe anyone, nor it is intolerant of any belief, religion or football club. The Saltire has been hijacked by National Socialists in recent years, but I don't loathe anyone who uses it in their Twitter posts. To get so angry over a flag is pathetic and well you know it. :rolleyes:

I love the way you ask a leading question to set up your diatribe... Yet choose to ignore the key element of my post.... Abuse / misuse.

Nil By Mouth said the singing of the song we both disapproved of was not sectarian in itself, but it depended on the intent behind it.

Are you now condoning that song? Bigot!

:P

Whether you like it or not Stuart, in a Scottish footballing context the Union flag has different connotations than it has flying from a public building, as you well know.

As a Scotsman who doesn't consider himself British in the slightest and would love to see Scotland independent the Union flag does annoy me. It has so much baggage surrounding it that it's no longer just a flag but represents so many different things. If you can't deal with that then that's your problem.

As usual you have totally missed the point. Saints fans aren't pissed off that our players support other teams, they're pissed off at the disrespect the thoughtless actions of some individuals on social media has caused. Simple education of our players and I'm sure they would understand.