The Politics Thread

13 minutes ago, FTOF said:

Posted when sober.

Like the many posts that make you look stupid.:rolleyes:

Of course it was democratically decided.

However, the referendum only came about as Cameron shat it and succumbed to pressure from his own Euro sceptic MP's and UKip's rising support amongst the public. He then doubly fucked it by assuming that the UK would vote to stay in and put very little effort in to counter the leave publicity efforts.

If only his party had put in as much effort into the campaign for staying in the EU, as the they did when when it came to the Scottish independence referendum...................

But we can't blame the tories, they had no part in it.:lol:

Don't you, and a few other's, get fed up scraping about blaming other people for everything?

Over the 40 odd years I've worked there's been umpteen parties in charge, never got in my way in any shape or form.

Politicians come and go, I, as I've said, don't give a monkeys. 

PS If you were sober when you called me a "tory boy" you might want to seek medical help, you shouldn't have to go too far. :byebye

While you're there see if that chip on your shoulder can be removed. :lol:

18 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Over the 40 odd years I've worked there's been umpteen parties in charge, never got in my way in any shape or form.

That's because you've don't care  about politics so you never notice how policies affect you.  The main effect is a knock down policy like employers NI contributions are raised so they pass it on to you by way of a reduced pay increase or by cutting jobs, that sort of thing.

14 minutes ago, rabuddies said:

That's because you've don't care  about politics so you never notice how policies affect you.  The main effect is a knock down policy like employers NI contributions are raised so they pass it on to you by way of a reduced pay increase or by cutting jobs, that sort of thing.

Is it? 

Thanks for that. 

Well, I've always had a simple philosophy, get up, go to work, work hard and it's done me, and my family, pretty well over the years.

Just one thing, don't tell me I don't care about politics, you have no idea what politics means to me, just because I don't let it become all consuming doesn't mean I don't care.

Don't you, and a few other's, get fed up scraping about blaming other people for everything?

PS If you were sober when you called me a "tory boy" you might want to seek medical help, you shouldn't have to go too far. :byebye

That's good, lady luck has been kind to you and long may it continue, and me too I've never been unemployed and always had food on my table, my waistline can vouch for that, :guinness

But not everyone has the same luck, some people lives change in a heartbeat and without warning,  that's when you hope there's a Government it place that's does give a monkeys, 

Just like the National Health Service I've personally never really needed it,  but i would always vote for a party and politicians who promise to protect it,  and not just for my own benefit. 

Edited by portmahomack saint

My tuppence worth on the Alex Salmond party and overarching situation. 

- I feel he is likely right in this new party will garnish a larger pro-yes majority of MSP's in May, rightly or wrongly depending on your view, there will be a percentage of SNP voters and possibly others in favour of Indy that will select them for the list & I can see that returning overall more pro-indy MSP's. 

- I can't call an SNP majority either way, my gut does say they'll likely fall a wee bit short but I certainly wouldn't bet on it

- Overall, it may appear favourable for our next Scottish government regarding views on independence (super-majority might be pushing it) but I feel regarding any following referendum it would do more harm than good having Salmond back in front-line politics. 

What a crock of shite Tory boy.:lol: 

Unlike you it would seem, others pay attention to how political decisions affect the population as a whole.

I also don't blame "other people" for everything. However, I do want those , who are responsible for making political decisions which disadvantage significant numbers of the population, of whom many are the vulnerable in society, brought to task. Factor in the fact that many recent decisions have benefited the Tory government's already privileged colleagues, who have been allowed to poke their snouts even deeper into the "money trough" at the taxpayer's expense.

I also feel that attempts to apportion blame on  the current SNP government for the shambles that they presided over regarding the recent court case, is fully justified. As I've mentioned before, their decision to move "untested" patients into care homes from hospital early on in the pandemic was madness.

Good decisions should be commented upon too. For example, the furlough scheme and the format of recent vaccine roll out, seem to be good political decisions. Although how we finance the former is going to be interesting.

I'm certainly no political crusader, just someone who doesn't appear to be as selfish as yourself.

4 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

- I feel he is likely right in this new party will garnish a larger pro-yes majority of MSP's in May, rightly or wrongly depending on your view, there will be a percentage of SNP voters and possibly others in favour of Indy that will select them for the list & I can see that returning overall more pro-indy MSP's. 

- I can't call an SNP majority either way, my gut does say they'll likely fall a wee bit short but I certainly wouldn't bet on it

- Overall, it may appear favourable for our next Scottish government regarding views on independence (super-majority might be pushing it) but I feel regarding any following referendum it would do more harm than good having Salmond back in front-line politics. 

That's a possibility,  but in reality independence is not about Salmond or any individual 

2 minutes ago, portmahomack saint said:

That's a possibility,  but in reality independence is not about Salmond or any individual 

I couldn't agree with you more, however the unfortunate nature is there will be people voting in any referendum who's X in the box will be influenced by individuals. 

29 minutes ago, FTOF said:

What a crock of shite Tory boy.:lol: 

Unlike you it would seem, others pay attention to how political decisions affect the population as a whole.

I also don't blame "other people" for everything. However, I do want those , who are responsible for making political decisions which disadvantage significant numbers of the population, of whom many are the vulnerable in society, brought to task. Factor in the fact that many recent decisions have benefited the Tory government's already privileged colleagues, who have been allowed to poke their snouts even deeper into the "money trough" at the taxpayer's expense.

I also feel that attempts to apportion blame on  the current SNP government for the shambles that they presided over regarding the recent court case, is fully justified. As I've mentioned before, their decision to move "untested" patients into care homes from hospital early on in the pandemic was madness.

Good decisions should be commented upon too. For example, the furlough scheme and the format of recent vaccine roll out, seem to be good political decisions. Although how we finance the former is going to be interesting.

I'm certainly no political crusader, just someone who doesn't appear to be as selfish as yourself.

Boo fecking hoo.

You're a hero, well done.

Again, I'd suggest you keep your "Tory boy" shite to yourself. 👍

This crock of shite that just because I don't go banging on about politics makes me selfish is often rolled out by the sanctimonious who usually do feck all to back up their "oh I care" position. 

If you knew what I'd done over the years for the "less privileged" it would certainly shut you up but what I do, or don't, is none of your fecking business. 

41 minutes ago, portmahomack saint said:

That's good, lady luck has been kind to you and long may it continue, and me too I've never been unemployed and always had food on my table, my waistline can vouch for that, :guinness

But not everyone has the same luck, some people lives change in a heartbeat and without warning,  that's when you hope there's a Government it place that's does give a monkeys, 

Just like the National Health Service I've personally never really needed it,  but i would always vote for a party and politicians who promise to protect it,  and not just for my own benefit. 

Another fairy tale.

Looking after people costs the government zillions every year.

Is it perfect, naw as it's a "one size fits all" and thousands of "good people" who don't deserve it or need it get it. 

Oh, I don't see my life as anything to do with lady luck, I've had hard times as many have, I just made more effort to not let it take over my life and slide into being dependant on support. 

I need to go, looking at a holiday in the Maldives later this year, if Covid fecks off and lets me spend my hard earned money. 

20 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Another fairy tale.

Is it perfect, naw as it's a "one size fits all" and thousands of "good people" who don't deserve it or need it get it. 

Oh, I don't see my life as anything to do with lady luck, I've had hard times as many have, I just made more effort to not let it take over my life and slide into being dependant on support. 

I need to go, looking at a holiday in the Maldives later this year, if Covid fecks off and lets me spend my hard earned money. 

Enjoy your trip ya wee Tory :lol: 

1 hour ago, bazil85 said:

It has Whitehall fingerprints all over it

You can see the need for more independence parties once you achieve that aim

This is to eat in to the SNP vote and suits the Unionist and Loyalist parties

39 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Another fairy tale.

One of those holidays you should be planning sooner rather than later...

9 minutes ago, windae cleaner said:

It has Whitehall fingerprints all over it

You can see the need for more independence parties once you achieve that aim

This is to eat in to the SNP vote and suits the Unionist and Loyalist parties

I fear you could be right, even if Alba does allow for a bigger independence majority of MSP's, the question is, at what cost? 

It's amusing when you don't agree with the tedious sniping at a government or PM you immediately become a supporter of the said government/leader. :lol:

It's the same when I don't join in with the beyond tedious pish about Rangers you become a Rangers supporter. :lol:

I do laugh, it shows the debate is over.

PS @FTOF, I do acknowledge you are seen to be balanced in some of your posts, as has @Bud the Baker well done. :thumbs2

It's amusing when you don't agree with the tedious sniping at a government or PM you immediately become a supporter of the said government/leader. [emoji38]
It's the same when I don't join in with the beyond tedious pish about Rangers you become a Rangers supporter. [emoji38]
PS [mention=5]FTOF[/mention], I do acknowledge you are seen to be balanced in some of your posts, as has [mention=1401]Bud the Baker[/mention] well done. :thumbs2
Nobody claimed you just became a supporter, they said you always were. [emoji14]

It's amusing when you don't agree with the tedious sniping at a government or PM you immediately become a supporter of the said government/leader. :lol:

It's the same when I don't join in with the beyond tedious pish about Rangers you become a Rangers supporter. :lol:

PS @FTOF, I do acknowledge you are seen to be balanced in some of your posts, as has @Bud the Baker well done. :thumbs2

Just to make things clear I do not regard myself as being exclusively an SNP supporter, I am also a Zapatista and currently at war with Mexico. :fire

Once I have achieved Independence for Scotland I intend to sail to Hawaii with my harem :wub: and join the fight to achieve independence from the USA. From there we will sail to mainland USA and liberate the Spanish speaking regions and form an Anarcho-Socialist-Green state dedicated to free love.

That's my bucket list...🎁

4 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

Just to make things clear I do not regard myself as being exclusively an SNP supporter, I am also a Zapatista and currently at war with Mexico. :fire

Once I have achieved Independence for Scotland I intend to sail to Hawaii with my harem :wub: and join the fight to achieve independence from the USA. From there we will sail to mainland USA and liberate the Spanish speaking regions and form an Anarcho-Socialist-Green state dedicated to free love.

That's my bucket list...🎁

That's why I love you, you're a nice lunatic. 😍

Bribery, the new tactics from the SNP.

A "free" laptop or device, including free broadband for every child. 

If they change it to a free holiday abroad I'm in. 😂😂😂

No free holidays given out I'm afraid

But you'll get a free holiday to the Poor Hoose when the effects of brexit kick in :rolleyes: 

On 3/27/2021 at 11:35 AM, smcc said:

Perhaps if you had said "met" instead of "laid eyes on" everyone would have known what you meant! As for your final sentence, it looks like you made it up. Isolationism is not what Scioland and the SNP is about.

Why would I say I had met her when I hadn't, she actually walked past a group I was attached to, as for the last sentence which was ' Both Salmond and Sturgeon are vying to be the big fish in the little pond that is Scotland and it's all big bad Boris's fault, you really couldn't make it up could you?' I think you meant the previous sentence and isolationism is what you would get since no way are you going to be allowed to rejoin the eurocrats, assuming there is still a one to join, seems to me the rats are ready to run afore the good ship EEc founders.