The Politics Thread

What if somebody worked hard and became a millionaire, are they unworthy?
This "label" is, frankly, pointless.

That's not the case with Sarwar, though, is it?

How to deal with inherited wealth and its inherent privileges is the biggest issue we need to face if we're ever going to fully achieve the four things I cited earlier.

54 minutes ago, salmonbuddie said:

That's not the case with Sarwar, though, is it?

How to deal with inherited wealth and its inherent privileges is the biggest issue we need to face if we're ever going to fully achieve the four things I cited earlier.

Let me get this straight, your parents work hard, earn their money, manage to buy their house, leave this to their children and it's a problem?

Is this a wind up as I'm seeing this as more and more ludicrous with every post. 

14 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Let me get this straight, your parents work hard, earn their money, manage to buy their house, leave this to their children and it's a problem?

Is this a wind up as I'm seeing this as more and more ludicrous with every post. 

The principle of Inheritance Tax dates back to Victorian times - just how far back do you want to take us? 

I'm going to vote for parties with progressive tax policies on Thursday in the belief that although this will not benefit me in the short term if they benefit the majority of people then it will benefit me more in the long run, I see nothing ludicrous about this - it's just a matter of how you define selfishness.

I will make no apologies for saying the cake should be sliced more evenly,

1 minute ago, Bud the Baker said:

The principle of Inheritance Tax dates back to Victorian times - just how far back do you want to take us? 

I'm going to vote for parties with progressive tax policies on Thursday in the belief that although this will not benefit me in the short term if they benefit the majority of people then it will benefit me more in the long run, I see nothing ludicrous about this - it's just a matter of how you define selfishness.

I will make no apologies for saying the cake should be sliced more evenly,

Who mentioned Tax?  :blink:

Taking things off tangent again to back up your "up the workers" attitude.

So, YOU'RE saying that if your parents leave you some property/cash it's a bad thing? :blink:

This thread is brilliant. :lol:

Read it again, faraway, that's not what I said - don't go down the oxter rabbit hole.

I'm with Douglas Adams on this one - I know the answer, it's how we get there I struggle with.

12 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Who mentioned Tax?  :blink:

Taking things off tangent again to back up your "up the workers" attitude.

So, YOU'RE saying that if your parents leave you some property/cash it's a bad thing? :blink:

This thread is brilliant. :lol:

We were talking about how wealth is passed on between generations and as I mentioned the principle that it should be taxed is well established. :blink:

No going off at a tangent from me, :blink:

Nope, only a fool would make that interpretation of what I posted - scratches chin. :blink:

This thread and the selfish attitudes expressed, often by you, is depressing. <_<

Do you have any answer to my assertion that progressive taxation benefits the "many" in the long run other than your customary deference to your betters?

1 minute ago, Bud the Baker said:

We were talking about how wealth is passed on between generations and as I mentioned the principle that it should be taxed is well established. :blink:

No going off at a tangent from me, :blink:

Nope, only a fool would make that interpretation of what I posted - scratches chin. :blink:

This thread and the selfish attitudes expressed, often by you, is depressing. <_<

Do you have any answer to my assertion that progressive taxation benefits the "many" in the long run other than your customary deference to your betters?

Deflection, quite a skill. 

No mention of tax, only the simple question, although not simple enough for you, that is it wrong for anyone who works hard and leaves their family some of the benefits? (I've highlighted it to help you)

Where should this property and wealth go to, if not the family? 

Also, the slant that anyone who isn't portraying themselves as some sort of saviour are selfish is nonsense.

These "betters" seem to be upsetting you by working hard, earning money and having stuff that goes with working hard.

You're coming across as envious, which is sad. 

49 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

1. Deflection, quite a skill. 

2. No mention of tax, only the simple question, although not simple enough for you, that is it wrong for anyone who works hard and leaves their family some of the benefits? (I've highlighted it to help you)

3. Where should this property and wealth go to, if not the family? 

4. Also, the slant that anyone who isn't portraying themselves as some sort of saviour are selfish is nonsense.

5. These "betters" seem to be upsetting you by working hard, earning money and having stuff that goes with working hard.

6. You're coming across as envious, which is sad. 

1. Let's not pretend we're any different in this regard.

2. We were talking about passing on wealth between generations and the principle of Inheritance Tax dating back to Victorian times is a fact, as for the bit in bold that's a deliberate misinterpretation of what I actually said  - and two can play that game.

3. Pointless question - it's covered in Point 2.

4. Unless you're advocating living in a gated community helping the "many" is the same as helping yourself - as I've already said.

5. I've no problem with people working hard and making a bit of money but as I've said countless times now nobody does it on their own these days.

6. You're coming across as a selfish "I'm all right Jack" character which is even sadder.

We seem to have reached the "going round in circles" stage of the discussion so unless you come up with something new I'm out.

3 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

1. Let's not pretend we're any different in this regard.

2. We were talking about passing on wealth between generations and the principle of Inheritance Tax dating back to Victorian times is a fact, as for the bit in bold that's a deliberate misinterpretation of what I actually said  - and two can play that game.

3. Pointless question.

4. Unless you're advocating living in a gated community helping the "many" is the same as helping yourself - as I've already said.

5. I've no problem with people working hard and making a bit of money but as I've said countless times now nobody does it on their own these days.

6. You're coming across as a selfish "I'm all right Jack" character which is even sadder.

We seem to have reached the "going round in circles" stage of the discussion so unless you come up with something new I'm out.

1. Oh we're VERY different.

2. No we aren't and it's not a misrepresentation, it's a straight question which you're squirming to avoid.

3. More avoidance, getting uncomfortable for you?

4. I'm advocating that people who work hard for themselves and their family deserve to decide what they do with the trappings of success and not have it distributed to all and sundry. 

5. Nobody does it on their own? What utter tripe.

6. You're coming across as some sort of rebel without a clue.

Aye, different values, that's clear, mines are realistic, yours are pie in the sky.

Enjoy your day. :byebye

28 minutes ago, Slash said:

My wife and both started out our working lives with nothing. Over our lifetime we have worked extremely hard and have paid all taxes without exception. We have managed to accumulate significant wealth over the last 20years that starting out we would never have imagined possible when we first met.

We plan to pass on this wealth to our kids and grandkids while adhering to the law of the land. We will also pass on a legacy to charities that we believe in (including SMiSA 😂). 

I hope that my kids inherit our hard working principles and live within their means, but invest in their future selfs. We are fortunate that we live in a country that allows for such opportunities to accumulate wealth and look after our family and future generations.

We also donate generously to various local charities and devote spare time helping our communities through volunteering as we still hold dear our socialist beliefs. 

I would love to go into the local schools and help other kids learn the guiding principles of becoming wealthy. 

Once the pandemic is over I plan to write to my kids school headmaster and put forward some ideas using the Martin Lewis curriculum I posted earlier. 

If my wife and I can do it from where we came from, leaving school at 16 during Thatchers Britain in the 80s then the kids of today with the available resources that exist today can do it even better. 

C4D65CB6-3192-4EEF-9C05-B81E29309823.thumb.jpeg.5873bfa7b59e0664aa5e0ea0087a1dd6.jpeg

all going well up to the last line, if you believe that shit then you will truly believe anything.  If you are down and out in this country at this time then you are more screwed than anyone has been since the depression.

Any number of people can tell you their life stories and the secrets of their "success".  At some point, I am almost certain, somebody did you a kindness that benefitted you greatly, on other occasions, you were in the right place at the right time.  Same as me, same as many other people.  Opportunity does not knock on every door.  At some point we need to gather up the stragglers and give them what they need, even if they don't work as hard as some. Failure to do that means we consign future generations of people at the bottom end to scrabbling round for their share of diminishing opportunities.

What i know from my own experience is that nobody does it all on their own, no matter how hard they work and what we have that we might consider "wealth" is transitory and only really represents the extra we have above and beyond what we need.  When you talk about opportunity then maybe you should think of the people who really have no opportunities and no endless amount of hard work, on its own, will deliver "wealth".  It's also a fallacy to say that everyone can be "wealthy".  The more you have the less there is for someone else.  

1 hour ago, beyond our ken said:

all going well up to the last line, if you believe that shit then you will truly believe anything.  If you are down and out in this country at this time then you are more screwed than anyone has been since the depression.

Any number of people can tell you their life stories and the secrets of their "success".  At some point, I am almost certain, somebody did you a kindness that benefitted you greatly, on other occasions, you were in the right place at the right time.  Same as me, same as many other people.  Opportunity does not knock on every door.  At some point we need to gather up the stragglers and give them what they need, even if they don't work as hard as some. Failure to do that means we consign future generations of people at the bottom end to scrabbling round for their share of diminishing opportunities.

What i know from my own experience is that nobody does it all on their own, no matter how hard they work and what we have that we might consider "wealth" is transitory and only really represents the extra we have above and beyond what we need.  When you talk about opportunity then maybe you should think of the people who really have no opportunities and no endless amount of hard work, on its own, will deliver "wealth".  It's also a fallacy to say that everyone can be "wealthy".  The more you have the less there is for someone else.  

All airy fairy till the last line which then descended into utter tripe.

1 minute ago, beyond our ken said:

If  I keep going down a few levels then maybe we can converse as equals

Now sod off and annoy someone who be bothered with your unending pish

You're way below me mate, always have been, always will be.

Now, jog on and don't mess up the thread with you're utter drivel. :byebye

8 hours ago, salmonbuddie said:

Read it again, faraway, that's not what I said - don't go down the oxter rabbit hole.

I'm with Douglas Adams on this one - I know the answer, it's how we get there I struggle with.

If everyone is struggling to follow your points, maybe the issue is how you express yourself.

Just a thought.

15 minutes ago, Slash said:

Sometimes you need to hit rock bottom before you can turn your life around. I certainly did. When I met my wife 20years ago, I was in debt from a couple of business side ventures alongside my career when I was running a number of pubs and a sales business which went belly up. 

After that experience all I had was the clothes on my back and debts to pay back which I did. No one gave me a hand out. I made my own luck. The harder I worked the luckier I got. 

IMHO Anyone can become financially independent in this country if they have a burning desire and are willing to make some sacrifices along the way. It’s so easy to invest in the great companies of the world with low cost platforms to earn enough returns to gain financial independence.

Just £25 invested each month for a new born kid into a global tracker Stocks and Shares ISA with returns of 10% would result in £959,000 by aged 60. Obviously you need to factor in the effects of inflation which is the silent killer on that money once you get to 60, but I wish I knew the power of compound interest when I was growing up. If you set up a Pension for new born you even get a 20% uplift automatically. Some people easily spend twice that for a mobile phone contract, or Sky.

Eighteen year olds now qualify for Lifetime ISA benefits that the Government will uplift by 25% on £4,000 per year. Free money that we never got.

Its easier than ever to become a millionaire in this country. 

I'd imagine most people have been a bit skint at some time, it's how you respond.

I've no need to go into detail but that was then and this is now, life's reasonably comfortable.

Is it down to luck, is it feck.

If it was there's an awful lot of lucky people out there.