portmahomack saint Posted July 2, 2024 Report Share Posted July 2, 2024 1 hour ago, ALBIONSAINT said: Not right wing, just right up until now. If you think that standing against liberal fascism is right wing then I suggest you don’t know much about politics. Just enough to know not to believe everything your told Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 2, 2024 Report Share Posted July 2, 2024 1 hour ago, portmahomack saint said: You even have arguments with yourself it seems or did you fall out of bed and bang yer head this morning or are your just a 24 hours 7 days a week wind up merchant just to get folk to converse with you as most on here have you on ignore Don't answer that as you'll just cause a argument in yer own head later tonight That makes no sense. 😂😂😂 Stick to dishing out your pish, I'll leave it at that., 😉 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted July 2, 2024 Report Share Posted July 2, 2024 1 minute ago, faraway saint said: That makes no sense. 😂😂😂 Stick to dishing out your pish, I'll leave it at that., 😉 That's what I was saying at least we agree on something... Someone who batters the SNP at every opportunity is voting for them Can we agree once more you're. Nuts 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 2, 2024 Report Share Posted July 2, 2024 1 hour ago, portmahomack saint said: That's what I was saying at least we agree on something... Someone who batters the SNP at every opportunity is voting for them Can we agree once more you're. Nuts 🤣 You're wrong again about battering the SNP. Only pointing out the lack of responsibility that the SNP and supporters take. Blame the government, nothing to do with us., 😂😂😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stlucifer Posted July 3, 2024 Report Share Posted July 3, 2024 Only one poll but, here's hoping. Labour falls behind SNP in Scotland, new poll suggests (msn.com) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 3, 2024 Report Share Posted July 3, 2024 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 3, 2024 Report Share Posted July 3, 2024 The MP's in our area have had plenty of criticism but overall things could be worse. I feel it's easier to complain than acknowledge the decent things that happen locally. As mentioned I'm swaying towards the SNP candidate as, selfishly, I think he is the best of a bad bunch. Whatever happens happens and I'll forget about this frenzy of political interest for the next few years. This thread, as predicted, has been entertaining,. Thanks to all. 😂😂😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ALBIONSAINT Posted July 3, 2024 Report Share Posted July 3, 2024 Get out and vote everyone, our politicians may not be the best however many people have fought and died for our democracy and the right of a free vote so get out there and exercise your will. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted July 3, 2024 Report Share Posted July 3, 2024 After much deliberation and hearing what the parties are saying and reading their manifestos I've made my choice, the party that appeals to me most is The Monster Raving Loony Party Here's hoping I have a candidate in my area, if not ? Hopefully it's not too late to put one forward...... Shull your country needs you Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted July 3, 2024 Report Share Posted July 3, 2024 4 hours ago, faraway saint said: The MP's in our area have had plenty of criticism but overall things could be worse. I feel it's easier to complain than acknowledge the decent things that happen locally. As mentioned I'm swaying towards the SNP candidate as, selfishly, I think he is the best of a bad bunch. Whatever happens happens and I'll forget about this frenzy of political interest for the next few years. This thread, as predicted, has been entertaining,. Thanks to all. 😂😂😂 Would that be Stephen Gethins ? always thought he'd the next leader of the SNP after Sturgeon, top man one of the best politicians in the UK Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted July 4, 2024 Author Report Share Posted July 4, 2024 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 On 4/30/2024 at 10:27 PM, faraway saint said: I'm of the opinion that the recent events are a sign that the SNP, and the wasteful fantasy of "freedom" are fast disappearing. Who will transpire to be the leading party remains to be seen. Quiet in here? Scrambling around to find excuses? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 On 7/3/2024 at 11:53 PM, portmahomack saint said: Would that be Stephen Gethins ? always thought he'd the next leader of the SNP after Sturgeon, top man one of the best politicians in the UK Aye mate, first winner I've backed this week. 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 There are a lot of lessons to be learned by all parties after this election Labour made massive gains in Scotland, that will be claimed as a massive shift to their ideology and not just a vote to keep the tories out. What Labour need to consider is that they have won in areas that continue to favour independence or where the split is too close to call. I don't think Sarwar is smart enough to accept that the support has been lent rather than given and will quickly shift into the branch-office manager role. The SNP are suffering the effects of a long period of stable leadership. It sounds strange as that should be seen as a massive building block for any party. The problem is that once powerful figures have left in times of turmoil then party membership goes into polar-shifting of opinion and it takes 2-3 leadership changes to get back to stability and public trust. The SNP have a golden opportunity to campaign on a return to competent government for the next 2 years and I hope they don't squander it. The rest of the UK is shifting right, including Labour, and I still don't think that the majority of Scots want to go there. Alex Salmond has been roundly rejected and I think that is a personal vote based on what has been exposed in his personal life for the last few years. If he wants to contribute he should resign himself to quietly advising the SNP instead of pursuing his Alba fantasy. The tories have crashed and in their desire to hang on to power they have run out of other parties to demonise. They've let Reform in the door now and England will reap that horrific wind of change for a generation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
WeeBud Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 10 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: There are a lot of lessons to be learned by all parties after this election Labour made massive gains in Scotland, that will be claimed as a massive shift to their ideology and not just a vote to keep the tories out. What Labour need to consider is that they have won in areas that continue to favour independence or where the split is too close to call. I don't think Sarwar is smart enough to accept that the support has been lent rather than given and will quickly shift into the branch-office manager role. The SNP are suffering the effects of a long period of stable leadership. It sounds strange as that should be seen as a massive building block for any party. The problem is that once powerful figures have left in times of turmoil then party membership goes into polar-shifting of opinion and it takes 2-3 leadership changes to get back to stability and public trust. The SNP have a golden opportunity to campaign on a return to competent government for the next 2 years and I hope they don't squander it. The rest of the UK is shifting right, including Labour, and I still don't think that the majority of Scots want to go there. Alex Salmond has been roundly rejected and I think that is a personal vote based on what has been exposed in his personal life for the last few years. If he wants to contribute he should resign himself to quietly advising the SNP instead of pursuing his Alba fantasy. The tories have crashed and in their desire to hang on to power they have run out of other parties to demonise. They've let Reform in the door now and England will reap that horrific wind of change for a generation. Not a lot to disagree with there and, in my eyes anyway, a fairly balanced summary........hopefully, in Scottish terms at least, we can move forward from the pernicious and nastiness of what politics has become and start looking after our country and it's constituents once more. The kick further towards the right down South makes that far less likely at WM. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stlucifer Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 I am not surprised that the SNP lost seats but I am shocked by the level of the catastrphe. I predict there will be a resurgence when people realise that, now they have "lent" there vote to the labour party, they will be ignored as usual. There is no doubt the SNP will need to look inward, lick their wounds and go again. We have been in this situation before and we will need to show those who believe in a free Scotland that the SNP is the party who will deliver it. A long way back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 2 minutes ago, WeeBud said: Not a lot to disagree with there and, in my eyes anyway, a fairly balanced summary........hopefully, in Scottish terms at least, we can move forward from the pernicious and nastiness of what politics has become and start looking after our country and it's constituents once more. The kick further towards the right down South makes that far less likely at WM. 100% and a key reason, IMO, people have been let down and have voted elsewhere in droves. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 2 minutes ago, stlucifer said: I am not surprised that the SNP lost seats but I am shocked by the level of the catastrphe. I predict there will be a resurgence when people realise that, now they have "lent" there vote to the labour party, they will be ignored as usual. There is no doubt the SNP will need to look inward, lick their wounds and go again. We have been in this situation before and we will need to show those who believe in a free Scotland that the SNP is the party who will deliver it. A long way back. The SNP vote has apparently held up reasonably well, it is just the split across constituencies that has hit hard. Labour took seats in Glasgow while actually losing votes overall from the last election. I think there was a definite "get the SNP out" vote from Scots tories who conveniently forgot that the SNP are not, and never have been, "in" at Westminster. As I said, the SNP built their Holyrood success on a good record in government and a reputation for competence. In infrastructure terms they have delivered however the burden they have is the rapidly shrinking working-age population can't finance the step-changes needed in health and education spending and Westminster won't help. I can see starmer playing the same card as Johnson and Sunak by directly funding initiatives from Westminster through that wee ned Murray as Scottish Secretary, or worse still Douglas Alexander. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stlucifer Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 4 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: The SNP vote has apparently held up reasonably well, it is just the split across constituencies that has hit hard. Labour took seats in Glasgow while actually losing votes overall from the last election. I think there was a definite "get the SNP out" vote from Scots tories who conveniently forgot that the SNP are not, and never have been, "in" at Westminster. As I said, the SNP built their Holyrood success on a good record in government and a reputation for competence. In infrastructure terms they have delivered however the burden they have is the rapidly shrinking working-age population can't finance the step-changes needed in health and education spending and Westminster won't help. I can see starmer playing the same card as Johnson and Sunak by directly funding initiatives from Westminster through that wee ned Murray as Scottish Secretary, or worse still Douglas Alexander. I've not followed the election night and only looked at the overall seat numbers and, if it is due to tories deciding to beat the SNP at the expense of their party it only goes to prove that they trust the labour party to deliver what they think is their values and underpins the belief that there is now only a "fag paper" between the two major parties doctrine. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
portmahomack saint Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 3 hours ago, faraway saint said: Aye mate, first winner I've backed this week. 😂 He won that's great a bit of good news at least on a bad night, OR IS IT I said on Monday I thought the SNP were looking at about 15 seats at most, But worse than the result itself for me, Was watching the election program last night George Osborne the architect of austerity said to Nicola Sturgeon the only way Scotland can gain independence is through Westminster and Westminster will never again Grant Scotland another referendum no matter what support there is in Scotland for having one... Sadly there was no response of any note from Sturgeon did anyone else catch that ? ? Proof if ever we needed it, that this is no a voluntary union and if that is the case is there any point in the SNP taking their seats Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 1 hour ago, portmahomack saint said: He won that's great a bit of good news at least on a bad night, OR IS IT I said on Monday I thought the SNP were looking at about 15 seats at most, But worse than the result itself for me, Was watching the election program last night George Osborne the architect of austerity said to Nicola Sturgeon the only way Scotland can gain independence is through Westminster and Westminster will never again Grant Scotland another referendum no matter what support there is in Scotland for having one... Sadly there was no response of any note from Sturgeon did anyone else catch that ? ? Proof if ever we needed it, that this is no a voluntary union and if that is the case is there any point in the SNP taking their seats Yes, I'm afraid that nice man Dewar had the whole thing nicely stitched up from the start Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 Seems the SNP vote almost halved Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 7 hours ago, beyond our ken said: The SNP vote has apparently held up reasonably well, it is just the split across constituencies that has hit hard. 42 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: Seems the SNP vote almost halved Considering the collapse I did find your earlier statement hard to believe. Thanks for clearing that up. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
beyond our ken Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 (edited) Going by radio report this scorning that said the SMP vote only went down by 1% I didn’t realise they meant as a proportion of the UK vote later reports the had the SNP vote was 3% as a percentage it was more than 2019 but that was 2% of a bigger sample as a much smaller turnout was recorded the results really need a lot more examination if anything the future of the UK is less certain than it ever was welcome to Russia’s and China’s new version of Western democracy we might be Ok but our children and grandchildren are truly f**ked Edited July 5, 2024 by beyond our ken Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
faraway saint Posted July 5, 2024 Report Share Posted July 5, 2024 12 minutes ago, beyond our ken said: welcome to Russia’s and China’s new version of Western democracy we might be Ok but our children and grandchildren are truly f**ked Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...