shull Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 (edited) I think it would be a great idea. Would increase the footfall at the Stadium greatly when the Saints are not playing. Could certainly run a Coffee Shop/Cafe/Bar.with the endless stream of punters. Edited November 27, 2018 by shull Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JJ McG Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 You should be banned from starting threads. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kendo Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Just now, JJ McG said: You should be banned. Fify. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chalky1 Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Not for me, professional football should be played on grass. Extra income would be great but not with a plastic pitch Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
whydowebother Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Simply, NAW Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaside Nipper Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Shul, you know fine it's a Nooooooooooo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted September 26, 2016 Author Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 52 minutes ago, JJ McG said: You should be banned from starting threads. Why? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted September 26, 2016 Author Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 51 minutes ago, chalky1 said: Not for me, professional football should be played on grass. Extra income would be great but not with a plastic pitch It has been years since proper professional football players wearing Saints jerseys have played on Greenhill Road grass. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TediousTom Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 1 hour ago, shull said: I think it would be a great idea. Would increase the footfall at the Stadium greatly when the Saints are not playing. Could certainly run a Coffee Shop/Cafe/Bar.with the endless stream of punters. Terrible idea, just awful. Tommy Docherty is the best groundsman in the history of football ever. Why play on any surface when you can play on a Tommy Docherty surface? Between this thread and your awful "knickerwetting" thread I am begining to fear for your mental wellbeing. Whatever the problem is take some time and deal with it. Sensible Shull is one of the best contibuters to this here little forum. Hopefully this a blip. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spoogy1 Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 well it isn't the worst idea the players do train on synthetic grass, so they would probably be a wee bit used to it . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
St.Ricky Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 40 minutes ago, cockles1987 said: Next he'll be wanting a greyhound track round it. Could also have a stock car track. Side benefit could be that we could narrow the pitch. More seriously - I am a traditionalist when it comes to the grass / plastic issue. But If the Business / Community Case was strong? I would have to think again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuart Dickson Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 I'd agree with it. With proper utilisation it would be a superb way to raise revenue. There are grants available for the conversion too although I wouldn't want to see the club go down that route without proper tie ins with local juvenile clubs to ensure proper community benefit. The only downside is litter. Whenever our kids played at The Excelsior or New Douglas Park there was always a great deal of litter in the stands. I presume this is because clubs weren't taking ownership of their after match clean ups. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rabuddies Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 1 hour ago, St.Ricky said: If the Business / Community Case was strong? I would have to think again. Football should be played on grass but as St Ricky says we may have to think again. QoS made a bit of money last year from the Quo concert although this year's gig was cancelled (Boomtown Rats) but there may well be others on the way. We have a larger catchment area so perhaps this is one area of commercial exploitation that shouldn't be overlooked. Not all gigs can fill Glasgow venues and the outdoor summer festival feel has it's place. On this vein I remember in the 70's reading the book by Terry Venables and old JNI refugee Gordon M Williams called "They Used To Play On Grass" in which they foresee a time when football became a world sport played by big clubs on artificial pitches. Really good book and Gordon M manages to get a reference to Love Street into the book as he was a fan I think. Really worth a read and still available, at a price, on Amazon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
buddygreat Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Is this a joke..Big Tan Doherty has consistently turned out the best footballing pitch in Scotland for years..just can't find a manager to put a team on it to match his groundsman skills #ridiculousidea Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
santaponsasaint Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 This is a cancer on football. Not for me. Pitch at SMP always been good enough. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singapore Saint Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Unfortunately this is not a purist view of what we would love to happen. This Is about the greater good of our club and its financial wellbeing and if we could make a significant wedge by going (high end) plastic then I believe we should be obliged to seriously look at it and its potential. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 (edited) 1 hour ago, rabuddies said: On this vein I remember in the 70's reading the book by Terry Venables and old JNI refugee Gordon M Williams called "They Used To Play On Grass" in which they foresee a time when football became a world sport played by big clubs on artificial pitches. Really good book and Gordon M manages to get a reference to Love Street into the book as he was a fan I think. Really worth a read and still available, at a price, on Amazon. Definitely a fan. We had just gathered in The Hoop, a Notting Hill pub (back in the 70s). A saturday evening. Paper-seller walking through... we chip in to buy one... This JNI type(we wurnae) joins our huddle roon the fitba scores... "Excuse me, can you tell me how St Mirren got on? It's a Scottish team...?" Thereafter, we shared a few beers till his wummin came to collect him. ETA: A bit more info on the Good Guy, fyi. https://www.theguardian.com/books/2003/oct/22/fiction.features11 Edited September 26, 2016 by antrin Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jda Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 How about a speedway track like Berwick Rangers and a burger van, no seriously leave the pitch as it is! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
antrin Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 You've all lost the plot. Whit the grun needs is... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted September 26, 2016 Author Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 Grow one a hunner feet in front of the South Stand at Greenhill Road. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
chalky1 Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 3 hours ago, rabuddies said: Football should be played on grass but as St Ricky says we may have to think again. QoS made a bit of money last year from the Quo concert although this year's gig was cancelled (Boomtown Rats) but there may well be others on the way. We have a larger catchment area so perhaps this is one area of commercial exploitation that shouldn't be overlooked. Not all gigs can fill Glasgow venues and the outdoor summer festival feel has it's place. On this vein I remember in the 70's reading the book by Terry Venables and old JNI refugee Gordon M Williams called "They Used To Play On Grass" in which they foresee a time when football became a world sport played by big clubs on artificial pitches. Really good book and Gordon M manages to get a reference to Love Street into the book as he was a fan I think. Really worth a read and still available, at a price, on Amazon. The gig thing for is something I would love to see at the ground, close to airport and rail station but can't see it happening due to the houses close by. There have been gigs at Bellahouston so who knows. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
windae cleaner Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 4 minutes ago, chalky1 said: The gig thing for is something I would love to see at the ground, close to airport and rail station but can't see it happening due to the houses close by. There have been gigs at Bellahouston so who knows. Meadowbank has plenty of gigs Surrounded by houses Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shull Posted September 26, 2016 Author Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 2 hours ago, santaponsasaint said: This is a cancer on football. Allows thousands of children to train, practice and play organised Football between September and April. Why a cancer anyway? St Mirren's shite players cannae trap, pass or shoot a football on Tommy's f**king " Bowling Green " of a Pitch. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FTOF Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 7 minutes ago, windae cleaner said: Meadowbank has plenty of gigs Surrounded by houses As has Rugby Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DougJamie Posted September 26, 2016 Report Share Posted September 26, 2016 I think it should be a swamp with crocodiles and snakes. Only that way might we keep a clean sheet Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...