The Lawn Tennis Thread

34 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Hate to sound like elvis here but Murrays first serve is tragic.

This set, and he's 3-2 up with serve, is only 40%. :shockaroony

IF he can get that back up, as I said, he's still in with a real shout. 

2nd set gone 6-4.

Serve is the only difference.

When they play any decent rallies Murray is the better player.

Long way back now.

2nd set gone 6-4.

Serve is the only difference.

When they play any decent rallies Murray is the better player.

Long way back now.

Murray, who has always had a never say die attitude, comes through on the tie break 7-6.

What a player, what a guy and probably the best Scottish sportsman I've had the pleasure to watch over the years.

4th set about to commence, C'mon Andy. 

42 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Murray, who has always had a never say die attitude, comes through on the tie break 7-6.

What a player, what a guy and probably the best Scottish sportsman I've had the pleasure to watch over the years.

4th set about to commence, C'mon Andy. 

Looking a wee bit flat now,  hope he can summon up a bit more and take this to a fifth .

• shull changed the title to The Rod Laver Appreciation Thread

Ach, Serena's oot, watched the first set, she narrowly lost that and the score in the 2nd set was equally as tight, which she won.

Alas the 3rd set got away from her and she's bowed out of, probably, her last ever tournament.

What a career, had her up's and downs, her desire to win sometimes tipped her over the edge but overall a great example of sheer grit and determination mixed with considerable talent. :notworthy:notworthy:notworthy

8 hours ago, faraway saint said:

The entertaining Nick Kyrgios wins against the No1 seed Medvedev. :happyclapper

I managed to stay up until the end of the 1st set, a 13-11 tie break.

When he "keeps the heid" Kyrgios is a stunningly good tennis player, and lights up the court. :thumbs2

image.png.3faece10e56a74e74ecb7bffd5790e16.png

I seen it all and backed him to win, he was superb last 2 sets if plays like that he'll win his first singles major for sure, with Novak missing I don't see anyone beaten him if he keeps the heid, his serve is out of this world and unlike Murray there's no long drawn out rally's just about every shot he plays he's hitting to win the point 

• shull changed the title to The Judy Murray Appreciation Thread

10 years ago the legend that is Andy Murray won the US Open.

Up against Djokovic, he was 2-0 down and showed astounding determination to comeback and win 3-2 in 5 hours.

I sat up until 2:45am to watch history then had to get up a few hours later and head off to work.

One of the greatest sporting moments of my life. :notworthy:notworthy:notworthy