Brexit Negotiations

Bud the Baker

23 hours ago, saintnextlifetime said:

Jonny Major ( along with the CBI and financial institutions)told us that if we didn't get into the Euro it would be a disaster - and then it wasn't but it was a disaster for Eire getting into it . .

Can you explain how the Euro was a disaster for Ireland?

22 hours ago, TPAFKATS said:
23 hours ago, saintnextlifetime said:
The USA have already said they would be willing to have a free trade deal after Europe has collapsed the UK leaves Europe . Is there a massive disadvantage ? Who said ? Jonny Major ( along with the CBI and financial institutions)told us that if we didn't get into the Euro it would be a disaster - and then it wasn't but it was a disaster for Eire getting into it . .

USA have said they will negotiate a trade deal with UK. We hold no aces in this negotiation.

That is a matter of opinion Tony , we hold no aces  on the deals done by Europe . .

22 hours ago, TPAFKATS said:

We do vote for barnier and junker by being part of the EU.
Personally I think that needs to be reformed but not by trying to negotiate trade deals as a small nation as opposed to part of the biggest trading market.

Everyone can live without German cars, Belgian chocolates etc, but it's nice to have a choice isn't it?
We aren't limiting our trade with EU just now. We will still have German cars, they'll just cost more which will make them more of a status symbol for most who already buy them.

Being pedantic, Britain isn't a nation. England, Scotland and latterly Great Britain have all been seafaring trading nations however the most successful trading times were built around empire, East India company and slavery.

We vote for Barnier and Junker as much as we vote for those who are appointed to the House of Lords , though Barnier and co are much further detached . .

It is nice to have the choice , if it suits you to have the choice. .The point being that we are Germany's biggest customer since Thatcher decided to dismantle British manufacturing decades ago for short term benefit. .

Yeah the correct term I believe is ; the United Kingdom of Great Britain and NI. You are right , the sovereign states that make up the UK did make money from the empire and to some extent from slavery , as many other western countries did at that time , even the Belgians had an empire and the Germans managed to commit some of the worst attrocities in their empire . You probably know that Glasgow was built on sugar and tobacco but did you know that wee Nap' invaded Russia because the Czar wouldn't stop trade with GB merchants , so the trade was extensive. .

That is a matter of opinion Tony , we hold no aces  on the deals done by Europe . .
We are currently a partner in the negotiating of these deals. The Japanese one is the current example. We were part of the negotiation, once we leave EU we have no trade deal with Japan.

1 hour ago, TPAFKATS said:
1 hour ago, saintnextlifetime said:

We are currently a partner in the negotiating of these deals. The Japanese one is the current example. We were part of the negotiation, once we leave EU we have no trade deal with Japan.

The vote has taken place and we are now leaving . We can now look forward to  a getting deal that suits GB , a nation that has a long tradition of brokering deals with the nation statest of the world. .

I think it is important to be governed by people who are not too far removed from the area they are governing.  There have been 6 treaties signed up to since the first one by Teddy Heath and each one of them saw a loss of sovereignty.  We've been lied by nearly every PM about the European project and we are now getting away from the project which simply dusnae work , it is fracturing and has had its day 

15 hours ago, Kemp said:

I've noticed Oasksoft clearly subscribes to the Boris Johnson school of tory recklessness.

If proven wrong, ignore the original point, throw out an insult and make a joke while (common) people's lives go down the shitter.

Actually it was antrim who threw out the insult.

Perhaps you have trouble reading. Yep. that must be it.

Common people's lives going down the shitter? No melodrama there then.

12 minutes ago, saintnextlifetime said:

The vote has taken place and we are now leaving . We can now look forward to  a getting deal that suits GB , a nation that has a long tradition of brokering deals with the nation statest of the world. .

I think it is important to be governed by people who are not too far removed from the area they are governing.  There have been 6 treaties signed up to since the first one by Teddy Heath and each one of them saw a loss of sovereignty.  We've been lied by nearly every PM about the European project and we are now getting away from the project which simply dusnae work , it is fracturing and has had its day 

London is about as relevant to the average Scot as Timbuktu. And it's a mere 200 miles closer than Brussels. We have never been governed from anywhere but London, the UKs loss of sovereignty has been minimal. These sound bites get trotted out along with the old long tradition of brokering deals crap but they really are just misty eyed nostalgia mostly peddled by the right wing tabloid media. How can the UK make itself attractive to any large manufacturer post Brexit. Only companies that don't sell into the single market would even consider it but those will simply opt for cheaper labour bases unless we head down that race to the bottom ourselves. Who are the UK going to attract inwardly ? Or do you seriously see some sort of Phoenix like resurrection in the likes of UK car manufacturing to replace the likes of Honda ???

4 hours ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

We have never been governed from anywhere but London, the UKs loss of sovereignty has been minimal. These sound bites get trotted out along with the old long tradition of brokering deals crap but they really are just misty eyed nostalgia mostly peddled by the right wing tabloid media. 

The complete lack  of loss of sovereignty and absence of rules "imposed against Britain's will" has been posted earlier on this thread. Facts don't seem to change opinions on this issue.

With these "new trade deals", I would just like to know what exactly are the British planning to sell? We had already largely become a services economy, and now having removed ourselves from the EU supply chain the automotive, aviation, and associated supply chain industries are going to fall. 

1 hour ago, Wendy Saintss said:

How to contradict yourself in 2 easy sentences!

Laughable - So in your eyes you have to feel relevance and have an affinity towards the city where your parliament sits ???

In my 50 plus years on this earth I have been to London no more than 5 times and I'm sure the same applies to thousands of Scots.  I have been to the likes of Paris, Barcelona even Brussels as many times if not more than I have ever visited London. It is a total irrelevance to me but it is 100% fact that is where our parliament sits so no contradiction what so ever. 

19 hours ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

London is about as relevant to the average Scot as Timbuktu. And it's a mere 200 miles closer than Brussels. We have never been governed from anywhere but London, the UKs loss of sovereignty has been minimal. These sound bites get trotted out along with the old long tradition of brokering deals crap but they really are just misty eyed nostalgia mostly peddled by the right wing tabloid media. How can the UK make itself attractive to any large manufacturer post Brexit. Only companies that don't sell into the single market would even consider it but those will simply opt for cheaper labour bases unless we head down that race to the bottom ourselves. Who are the UK going to attract inwardly ? Or do you seriously see some sort of Phoenix like resurrection in the likes of UK car manufacturing to replace the likes of Honda ???

The average Scot , voted in 2014 to continue governance from London.  It's distance to Berlin Brussels is irrelevant given that it is a foreign country with a different language , a different culture and a different legal system. We have only been governed by London since 1707 (not always). .

If you honestly think that the UKs loss of sovereignty has been minimal , then you are in some sort of misty eyed denial as l don't consider you a complete mug. Our sovereignty which was hard fought for twice in the last century , has been signed away by successive PM's , begining with the paedophile Ed Heath in 1968 , over 5 successive treaties , each one a further power grab by Europe , a Europe that has been trying to dominate Britian for a very long time .  If you still think there is no loss of sovereignty , just have a wee look at the front page of your passport and see what the first words are. .

Our MP's are being undemocratic along with the PM by trying to reverse the result of a referendum , we need a Party that is actually looking serve the will of the UK electorate .

Labour are clearly fcuked with rat Straw now saying that Corbyn could be a threat to UK national security ! May is being duplicite. .

How does GB handle the Great Escape ? We don't pay Europe the £39 billion but instead invest it in the entrepreneurial businesses of the country and do away with the import tax that Europe makes us impose thus raising the standards of living of the people.

Honda , lol. Honda have clearly stated that the UK leaving Europe has nothing to do with their leaving the UK ( check it out , they are also pulling out of Turkey also which is in the Customs Union). Honda now want to build electric cars , after deisel cars got such a bad name despite Tonly Liar telling us they were great , and they can do that in Japan.

The good news is that the Office of National Stats has released figures for Oct-Dec 2018 - there are 36.6 million people employed in the country , 100,000's of jobs created last year . Unempoloyment the lowest since 1975 and weekly earnings up by 3.4% , so despite the meltdown in Westminster , things are looking a bit more positive. .

Er.... naw.

Turkey is in its own wee special Customs Union, off to one  side - such as Uk might possibly aspire to also have? 

Turkey is not in THE Customs Union.

sorry I can’t share any optimism - possibly because I think most of the new jobs are on shit terms, no possibility of progress, little chance of sufficient remuneration to plan for a future or a family, no pension, no sick pay, little future etc etc.... cannae be arsed repeating past aired concerns further.

3 hours ago, saintnextlifetime said:

The average Scot , voted in 2014 to continue governance from London.  It's distance to Berlin Brussels is irrelevant given that it is a foreign country with a different language , a different culture and a different legal system. We have only been governed by London since 1707 (not always). .

If you honestly think that the UKs loss of sovereignty has been minimal , then you are in some sort of misty eyed denial as l don't consider you a complete mug. Our sovereignty which was hard fought for twice in the last century , has been signed away by successive PM's , begining with the paedophile Ed Heath in 1968 , over 5 successive treaties , each one a further power grab by Europe , a Europe that has been trying to dominate Britian for a very long time .  If you still think there is no loss of sovereignty , just have a wee look at the front page of your passport and see what the first words are. .

Our MP's are being undemocratic along with the PM by trying to reverse the result of a referendum , we need a Party that is actually looking serve the will of the UK electorate .

Labour are clearly fcuked with rat Straw now saying that Corbyn could be a threat to UK national security ! May is being duplicite. .

How does GB handle the Great Escape ? We don't pay Europe the £39 billion but instead invest it in the entrepreneurial businesses of the country and do away with the import tax that Europe makes us impose thus raising the standards of living of the people.

Honda , lol. Honda have clearly stated that the UK leaving Europe has nothing to do with their leaving the UK ( check it out , they are also pulling out of Turkey also which is in the Customs Union). Honda now want to build electric cars , after deisel cars got such a bad name despite Tonly Liar telling us they were great , and they can do that in Japan.

The good news is that the Office of National Stats has released figures for Oct-Dec 2018 - there are 36.6 million people employed in the country , 100,000's of jobs created last year . Unempoloyment the lowest since 1975 and weekly earnings up by 3.4% , so despite the meltdown in Westminster , things are looking a bit more positive. .

Agree with all of this apart from last paragraph, jobs are (only just.... jobs) and more people now being fed through Food Banks than ever ; so the Torries do have a lot to answer for and Corbyn is a joke and the longer he stays in power the weaker Labour become.  I can't think of any politian in any Party that looks to have potential, most of them are tossers.  B)

Yeah, you only have to work one hour in a two week period to be classed as employed.
Its no surprise the employment figures look so healthy.

2 hours ago, TPAFKATS said:

Yeah, you only have to work one hour in a two week period to be classed as employed.
Its no surprise the employment figures look so healthy.

It's only "no surprise" if you can follow that statement up with figures stating how many of those listed as "employed" are receiving those sorts of hours.

It's going to be a vanishing small number.

It's only "no surprise" if you can follow that statement up with figures stating how many of those listed as "employed" are receiving those sorts of hours.
It's going to be a vanishing small number.
No.
There is a drop in unemployment and a rise in those classed as being in employment at the same time as the parameters of how employed and unemployed are defined.
Your statement regarding vanishing small number is made up with absolutely no evidence to back it up. I expected better from a guy who claims to be an academic, a scientist and intellectually superior to the rest of us [emoji3]