The Richest Scot In The Empire Tonight

I dont understand capitalism.
Aye ok bluto .
FFS. [emoji38]

Maybe you do, maybe you don't, but you do seem to struggle with someone pointing out the hypocrisy of your views. I'm still waiting to hear how we ensure our descendants stick to the rules we set.

10 hours ago, Bud the Baker said:

Yeah the middle classes have little to fear from the SNP, unfortunately.

Although if you're looking for xenophobia in Scottish politics the place to find it is in Colonel Davidson's mob........:booty

Our "free tuition fees" policy was pinched by JC for Labour south of the border so it looks like the middle classes have little to fear from him either. B)

The key to the SNPs success in Scotland has been keeping the middle classes sweet. As JC says, the SNP talk left but act right.

The reason JC has pinched the policy is because middle class socialist worker students are his hard core fan base.

JC is a middle class socialist worker himself!

And the xenophobia of both the Tories and the SNP is disgusting IMO.

10 hours ago, Bud the Baker said:

Meanwhile you can continue to dream of a Victorian Utopia where the feckless poor die early after a short, uncomfortable life making oakum (sic) in the workhouse.

One of my great great grandfathers died in the poor house up in Parliamentary Road in Glasgow (where Buchanan Bus Station is today). He'd been a shoemaker all his life, but, unfortunately for him, he lived too long. His wife died, there was no state pension, he was too old to work and off the poor house he went.

He was living virtually next door to another of my great grandfathers who had just arrived in Scotland from Northern Ireland to try and avoid poverty over there.

Its amazing what you can find when doing your ancestry!

Thankfully, no-one lives in what was true poverty like that these days.

These days, folk like my mother in law can comfortably sponge off the state virtually her entire adult life and manage her annual holiday in Turkey. She even left us a wad of cash when she popped her clogs. Even the poor are leaving big inheritances to their kids these days.... :D

Edited by mcdowell76

6 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Absolutely. Its a shame more employees dont respect that.

Before the boss can take a penny for himself he has to pay all employee salaries, holiday, sick pay, employers and employee national insurance, rent for the office, business rates and utility bills whether there is enough money coming in to do so or not.

Totally agree with you here.

I prefer the easy life as an employee.

However...

These corporate bosses don't have to worry about all that. They are fcuking milking the economy.

The key to the SNPs success in Scotland has been keeping the middle classes sweet. As JC says, the SNP talk left but act right.
The reason JC has pinched the policy is because middle class socialist worker students are his hard core fan base.
JC is a middle class socialist worker himself!
And the xenophobia of both the Tories and the SNP is disgusting IMO.

One of my great great grandfathers died in the poor house up in Parliamentary Road in Glasgow (where Buchanan Bus Station is today). He'd been a shoemaker all his life, but, unfortunately for him, he lived too long. His wife died, there was no state pension, he was too old to work and off the poor house he went.
He was living virtually next door to another of my great grandfathers who had just arrived in Scotland from Northern Ireland to try and avoid poverty over there.
Its amazing what you can find when doing your ancestry!
Thankfully, no-one lives in what was true poverty like that these days.
These days, folk like my mother in law can comfortably sponge off the state virtually her entire adult life and manage her annual holiday in Turkey. She even left us a wad of cash when she popped her clogs. Even the poor are leaving big inheritances to their kids these days.... [emoji3]

However...
These corporate bosses don't have to worry about all that. They are fcuking milking the economy.

All over the place...

#thichasfcuk

2 hours ago, mcdowell76 said:

However...

I agree about corporate bosses.

Its not them I am talking about.

I am talking about the genuine business owner who builds his empire up from nothing and has to worry about employees rights. You know things are out of hand when these employers are forced by law to provide pension schemes for employees who apparently cant even be arsed to do that for themselves.

12 hours ago, mcdowell76 said:

These days, folk like my mother in law can comfortably sponge off the state virtually her entire adult life and manage her annual holiday in Turkey. She even left us a wad of cash when she popped her clogs. Even the poor are leaving big inheritances to their kids these days.... :D

I guess my kids are gonna be unlucky - my motto has always been you can't take it with you.

4 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Aye, we're pretty much of the same belief.

We've worked hard for every penny we have and, the house apart, I intend to spend as much as possible. :)

Gonnae purchase me Pie & Beans on Tuesday night. ?

Thanks in advance :D

20 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Sorry, I meant to say spend as much as possible..................on ME! :P

THE RICHEST MAN IN ARBROFF IS A MISERABLE AULD DUNDERHEID :angry:

12 hours ago, Bud the Baker said:

I guess my kids are gonna be unlucky - my motto has always been you can't take it with you.

Then I think you have your answer as regards why some kids have a better start in life than others.

Some of us pass money down through the generations and the rest of us spend it on ourselves.

Who are the selfish and greedy bastards again? :lol:

21 hours ago, oaksoft said:

I am talking about the genuine business owner who builds his empire up from nothing and has to worry about employees rights. You know things are out of hand when these employers are forced by law to provide pension schemes for employees who apparently cant even be arsed to do that for themselves.

So...

...you build your "empire" (lol)  up from nothing - apart from the communally provided education that you and your employees have enjoyed, the health services, the transport and energy systems, the sewage and rubbish collections that are always at the ahem... disposal... of you and your "empire"...

... the general level of civilisation maintained by the taxes of the many - never the few - and yet you don't want to accept any responsibility for your employees from whom you are (if you are any good at your capitalist job) exploiting a profit - and still you don't want to be at all responsible for helping them secure a future that will be inevitably not as good as yours?

The sole reason such things are decreed by law is down to selfish, myopic tosspots such as yourself.  You people who don't care about social responsibility,  will be forced to 'care' about it.

Your idea of' 'things being 'out of hand' is due to the selfish, unthnking shiteyness that you have brazenly and unembarrassedly posted.  YOU (and attitudes such as yours) are the problem.   Naively incredible.  :lol

I noticed you couldn't address my earlier post and chose to select a phrase and post a skidmark-style emoticon instead.

You are better than him, (not a big compliment, btw) so do try harder.

19 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Then I think you have your answer as regards why some kids have a better start in life than others.

Some of us pass money down through the generations and the rest of us spend it on ourselves.

Who are the selfish and greedy bastards again? :lol:

Smokie ETA and oaky

Edited by insaintee

15 minutes ago, antrin said:

So...

...you build your "empire" (lol)  up from nothing - apart from the communally provided education that you and your employees have enjoyed, the health services, the transport and energy systems, the sewage and rubbish collections that are always at the ahem... disposal... of you and your "empire"...

... the general level of civilisation maintained by the taxes of the many - never the few - and yet you don't want to accept any responsibility for your employees from whom you are (if you are any good at your capitalist job) exploiting a profit - and still you don't want to be at all responsible for helping them secure a future that will be inevitably not as good as yours?

The sole reason such things are decreed by law is down to selfish, myopic tosspots such as yourself.  You people who don't care about social responsibility,  will be forced to 'care' about it.

Your idea of' 'things being 'out of hand' is due to the selfish, unthnking shiteyness that you have brazenly and unembarrassedly posted.  YOU (and attitudes such as yours) are the problem.   Naively incredible.  :lol

I noticed you couldn't address my earlier post and chose to select a phrase and post a skidmark-style emoticon instead.

FFS stop taking him seriously:blink:

3 minutes ago, insaintee said:

FFS stop taking him seriously:blink:

I don't.  :)

But I couldn't let his freeform bollox just hang there, unchallenged!  Young, impressionable minds may read it and think he actually has a point, cos no Buddie challenged  it...  :o

He's allegedly into scientific method and yet he thinks the current broken system is sustainable.  It's what we have.  It won't change.   FFS.

If he's really a scientist, then he must be aware that ALL paradigms are bound to be tested and if shown to be false will be replaced by another.  Especially the old ones that have been with us for a while...

In my wee view the current system serves the benefit of far too few of its contributors.  It must change.  He must know that - even if it means he has to 'subsidise' the people (if there are any!) in his employ.

(when change does come, it will transform more than his irrelevant 'pensions problem'.)

So...

If you want me to engage with you, I would suggest you stop calling me a tosspot.

Unless of course you want to waste your breath by posting responses to me that I wont read.

23 hours ago, oaksoft said:

no issue there

agree with you

43 minutes ago, antrin said:

I don't.  :)

But I couldn't let his freeform bollox just hang there, unchallenged!  Young, impressionable minds may read it and think he actually has a point, cos no Buddie challenged  it...  :o

He's allegedly into scientific method and yet he thinks the current broken system is sustainable.  It's what we have.  It won't change.   FFS.

If he's really a scientist, then he must be aware that ALL paradigms are bound to be tested and if shown to be false will be replaced by another.  Especially the old ones that have been with us for a while...

In my wee view the current system serves the benefit of far too few of its contributors.  It must change.  He must know that - even if it means he has to 'subsidise' the people (if there are any!) in his employ.

(when change does come, it will transform more than his irrelevant 'pensions problem'.)

This is what happens when you poke a dog with a stick.

Fair play to you, that is a top quality meltdown. :lol:

Fair play to you, that is a top quality meltdown. [emoji38]

As opposed to the "ignore it and hope it goes away" poor quality meltdown you specialise in?

Come on then, enlighten us, how do we ensure that our descendants will comply with our wishes re the "wealth" we leave for them?

7 hours ago, oaksoft said:

Fair play to you, that is a top quality meltdown. :lol:

He's always the same.............someone doesn't agree with him..............get's angry............throws in a "bad name" and stomps off in the huff.

Nothing to worry about, he'll go away soon.

When you can't challenge rationality and logic, you pounce on the odd word and take a huff and spatter shallow emoticons oaky, just like your banal Skidmark mentor.  It's tragic - you're probably/possibly better than him...

a forum should be used for discussion of the issues, not taking petty umbrage when your flawed opinion has been challenged.

7 minutes ago, antrin said:

When you can't challenge rationality and logic, you pounce on the odd word and take a huff and spatter shallow emoticons oaky, just like your banal Skidmark mentor.  It's tragic - you're probably/possibly better than him...

a forum should be used for discussion of the issues, not taking petty umbrage when your flawed opinion has been challenged.

Now you're telling us what a FOOTBALL forum should be used for? :blink:

Maybe you should run along and join a forum more suited to you......................:rolleyes:

As for taking "petty umbrage", you really do take the biscuit for being ironic. :lol