Flag Frenzy In W7 This Saturday

Always been pretty cynical about these sorts of "12th man" claims. But I really, genuinely feel that the wave of enthusiasm from the fans and the singing section did play a part in last season's turn around. I felt that something happened at the Dundee game in the cup, where people finally started to see Jack's new signings impact the team and a sense of belief worked it's way through the fans. It didn't go away, it's gotten stronger and stronger, and I really feel it makes a difference. The way the players react to the fans after games is all the evidence you need. 

5 hours ago, Saint Garf said:

Always been pretty cynical about these sorts of "12th man" claims. But I really, genuinely feel that the wave of enthusiasm from the fans and the singing section did play a part in last season's turn around. I felt that something happened at the Dundee game in the cup, where people finally started to see Jack's new signings impact the team and a sense of belief worked it's way through the fans. It didn't go away, it's gotten stronger and stronger, and I really feel it makes a difference. The way the players react to the fans after games is all the evidence you need. 

The match when I really grasped how important it can be was the 2-0 victory against Falkirk away, when Mehmet and Dorman scored. 

Since then, I've been in no doubt that a big, vocal, and encouraging support can have a huge bearing.

34 minutes ago, Drew said:

The match when I really grasped how important it can be was the 2-0 victory against Falkirk away, when Mehmet and Dorman scored. 

Since then, I've been in no doubt that a big, vocal, and encouraging support can have a huge bearing.

While that game turned out to be a magnificent victory surely there's been games that, at least to start, the support were vociferous but the game got away and therefore the support didn't influence the outcome?

Overall I think it CAN help but it's really immeasurable and down to interpretation/outcome of the match, IMO.

10 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

While that game turned out to be a magnificent victory surely there's been games that, at least to start, the support were vociferous but the game got away and therefore the support didn't influence the outcome?

Overall I think it CAN help but it's really immeasurable and down to interpretation/outcome of the match, IMO.

Correct many times the support has been great only for the team to be shite. Fir Park last Season the fans were magnificent, but the players were a joke. 

23 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

As much as anything else, I'm going by what the players said after that game. They could hear the Saints support from their dressing room, and it fired them up.

I don't think it's a huge stretch to suggest that a big, noisy, and generally positive support is likely to have a beneficial impact, while next to no support, or folk booing the players could be detrimental.

I appreciate there is no way of scientifically measuring this. I was just highlighting my own largely subjective thoughts on the matter.

Just now, Drew said:

As much as anything else, I'm going by what the players said after that game. They could hear the Saints support from their dressing room, and it fired them up.

I don't think it's a huge stretch to suggest that a big, noisy, and generally positive support is likely to have a beneficial impact, while next to no support, or folk booing the players could be detrimental.

I appreciate there is no way of scientifically measuring this. I was just highlighting my own largely subjective thoughts on the matter.

I agree but there's plenty games that the support were on form, Shull quoted one above, the diddy cup final last season is another, that the support, at the end of the day, made no difference to the score.

It's miles better that the support actually support and the booing is something that has always baffled me, especially younger players but we've been here before.

5 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

I agree but there's plenty games that the support were on form, Shull quoted one above, the diddy cup final last season is another, that the support, at the end of the day, made no difference to the score.

It's miles better that the support actually support and the booing is something that has always baffled me, especially younger players but we've been here before.

Aye, fair enough (I didn't read shull's post as I have him on ignore for being a tedious fud:)).

Why can't PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL PLAYERS be up for it all the time. It doesn't really matter if the fans can be heard from the dressing room. 

Countless Teams with little support have humped Sevco, Celtic, Scotland, etc when they have been up against noisy full houses. 

Something else that's great, while people are singing and clapping along with the drum, they're not screaming abuse at St Mirren players who are trying their best. One thing I've loved since all this started has been the reaction to opposition goals. You don't see the young guys in the singing section shouting and bawling at our own players, the drum starts immediately and so does the singing, usually louder than the other fans who are celebrating. It's a real attempt to lift the players and spur them on, rather than berate them. Love it, I think I'm enjoying watching St Mirren now, as much as I ever have, counting the days between matches, even after Cappielow, I couldn't wait for the Livingston game.

6 hours ago, shull said:

Correct many times the support has been great only for the team to be shite. Fir Park last Season the fans were magnificent, but the players were a joke. 

I've got a different memory of the diddy cup final.

i thought for most of the first half we were pretty good. United scored completely against the run of play and we then equalised immediately. In the second half we lost our way coinciding with united really stepping their game up.

In the end, I'd say we lost a decent game to the better team. To call the players a joke i think is harsh in the extreme. 

38 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

I've got a different memory of the diddy cup final.

i thought for most of the first half we were pretty good. United scored completely against the run of play and we then equalised immediately. In the second half we lost our way coinciding with united really stepping their game up.

In the end, I'd say we lost a decent game to the better team. To call the players a joke i think is harsh in the extreme. 

I couldn't give two fecks what you think :lol: :byebye

24 minutes ago, Eaglesham saint said:

I need to stay off Pie&Bovril for a few days 

The Arabs are so condescending and arrogant at the moment,I don't know,why.

I,believe the phrase is "rippin ma knitting "

All clear to return at 4.50pm on Saturday.