Anyone But Hopkin

Lord Pityme

Neilson , Stubbs and McCall.

Naw Naw Naw from me.

Stubbs and McCall baith shite.

Neilson , just as tedious and boring as Dull and Dreary Derek McInnes.

He would put the whole of Greenhill Road in a fecking coma.

1 hour ago, magnus said:

That's a bit of a shocker. 

Livi supporting guy I work with told me.

Watching the Livi bench when they came for the 0-0 draw was very illuminating. At one stage, Hopking disappeared up the tunnel for 5 mins in the second half then reappeared and sat on the bench. No-one on the Livi bench noticed or batted an eyelid.

I'm pretty sure that the manager situation at Livi must be known in football circles.

Therefore, I'm pretty certain that Hopkin won't be the next St. Mirren manager, nor indeed the next manager of any other club.

Then correct me dear Sir. 

What did us was a bad start to the season.

We only won 6 pts in the first quarter and found ourselves in 8th position. This compares with 12 points in each of the next 3 quarters.

Indeed, we won only 1 point in the first 3 games and found ourselves bottom of the league.

The turning point was managing to get knocked out of the League Cup over 2 legs by Hamilton, despite winning the first leg at Douglas Park 2-0!

Changes were required...

The reasons for the improvement in form after the first quarter can be down to the introduction of 3 players IMO.

A young winger, Peter Weir, was promoted from the reserves after the poor start, along with a young centre half, Mark Fulton, who replaced Andy Dunlop.

In addition, Jimmy Bone returned from playing in America during the summer to play in midfield.

At the half way stage we were actually 1 point ahead of eventual champions Aberdeen, albeit they had 3 games in hand. We were 8 points behind eventual runners up Celtic, however.

By the end of the third quarter, we were only 1 point behind Aberdeen, having played a game more and still 8 behind Celtic.

We actually had a surge in form in the first half of the last quarter - winning 9 points from a possible 10 - to put us in a position to challenge for the title.

This is in complete contrast to your memory!

With 4 games to go we faced Aberdeen at Pittodrie, just 1 point behind them, albeit having played a game more. Had we won that match then we may well have gone on to win the title.

Unfortunately though, we lost 2-0.

Dispirited, we then lost our next match, 2-1 away to an already relegated Hibs.

Final 2 matches were a 4-1 home win over a Rangers side who were resting players ahead of the Scottish Cup final and a 0-0 draw at home to Celtic which handed the title to Aberdeen.

Injuries to key players like Frank McDougall and Lex Richardson undoubtedly had an effect for those final 4 games. I believe our run in the Anglo Scottish Cup probably also hampered us.

16 hours ago, shull said:

I would be delighted if Hopkin and his more talented sidekick took over at Greenhill Road.

Just the pair to get suitable players in to deal with the Premiership hammer throwers.

If they make us play like Leicester did , I will be thrilled.

Have you been let out for you daily yard walk ?

1 hour ago, zico said:

What did us was a bad start to the season.

We only won 6 pts in the first quarter and found ourselves in 8th position. This compares with 12 points in each of the next 3 quarters.

Indeed, we won only 1 point in the first 3 games and found ourselves bottom of the league.

The turning point was managing to get knocked out of the League Cup over 2 legs by Hamilton, despite winning the first leg at Douglas Park 2-0!

Changes were required...

The reasons for the improvement in form after the first quarter can be down to the introduction of 3 players IMO.

A young winger, Peter Weir, was promoted from the reserves after the poor start, along with a young centre half, Mark Fulton, who replaced Andy Dunlop.

In addition, Jimmy Bone returned from playing in America during the summer to play in midfield.

At the half way stage we were actually 1 point ahead of eventual champions Aberdeen, albeit they had 3 games in hand. We were 8 points behind eventual runners up Celtic, however.

By the end of the third quarter, we were only 1 point behind Aberdeen, having played a game more and still 8 behind Celtic.

We actually had a surge in form in the first half of the last quarter - winning 9 points from a possible 10 - to put us in a position to challenge for the title.

This is in complete contrast to your memory!

With 4 games to go we faced Aberdeen at Pittodrie, just 1 point behind them, albeit having played a game more. Had we won that match then we may well have gone on to win the title.

Unfortunately though, we lost 2-0.

Dispirited, we then lost our next match, 2-1 away to an already relegated Hibs.

Final 2 matches were a 4-1 home win over a Rangers side who were resting players ahead of the Scottish Cup final and a 0-0 draw at home to Celtic which handed the title to Aberdeen.

Injuries to key players like Frank McDougall and Lex Richardson undoubtedly had an effect for those final 4 games. I believe our run in the Anglo Scottish Cup probably also hampered us.

Always good to get other input.

Thanks

Memory....what is that? 

Having a laugh at the detachment from reality some posters are displaying in relation to who our next manager could be. Biggest laugh is the suggestion that Goodwin is not up to/or too soon to get the job!

funny that cause when Ross came from Alloa he had just got them relegated, and Goody who has now been there twice as long as Ross has them competing for promotion for the second season on tne trot! Also commentts that Neilson might not be up to it, when his last job in the premiership saw his Hearts team up to fourth! Aye whit does he know?

I hope the board have a bit of a better grip on reality and have the likes of Goodwin, Neilson and possibly Johnston on their short list. Of managers already in the Premiership who we could get (Wright, Archibald, Canning, McCann), only Wright would be worth it for me, and it would be a big risk for him to leave the fakes who are prety settled in thst league to come to the newbies!

Goodwin ticks all the boxes of Winner, Passion, St Mirren man, Young manager, Good record of achievement, and that, as yet lucky managerial connection that is Alloa Athletic. Then again the posse who blamed him for all our woes, world hunger Brexit, child poverty and Ireland Eurovision wins would have their target of attack pre-determined.

whoever the new man is, will the board have the love fest they had with Ross and his record breaking losing start, and regular pay rises? Somehow I dont think the new guy will get the same latitude.

12 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Having a laugh at the detachment from reality some posters are displaying in relation to who our next manager could be. Biggest laugh is the suggestion that Goodwin is not up to/or too soon to get the job!

funny that cause when Ross came from Alloa he had just got them relegated, and Goody who has now been there twice as long as Ross has them competing for promotion for the second season on tne trot! Also commentts that Neilson might not be up to it, when his last job in the premiership saw his Hearts team up to fourth! Aye whit does he know?

I hope the board have a bit of a better grip on reality and have the likes of Goodwin, Neilson and possibly Johnston on their short list. Of managers already in the Premiership who we could get (Wright, Archibald, Canning, McCann), only Wright would be worth it for me, and it would be a big risk for him to leave the fakes who are prety settled in thst league to come to the newbies!

Goodwin ticks all the boxes of Winner, Passion, St Mirren man, Young manager, Good record of achievement, and that, as yet lucky managerial connection that is Alloa Athletic. Then again the posse who blamed him for all our woes, world hunger Brexit, child poverty and Ireland Eurovision wins would have their target of attack pre-determined.

whoever the new man is, will the board have the love fest they had with Ross and his record breaking losing start, and regular pay rises? Somehow I dont think the new guy will get the same latitude.

Almost as if you have something against Jack Ross... Firstly Alloa were all but down when he took over, second he had them top of the league for the best part of the next season he was there. They slipped to 2nd just before he left. Not bad going at all for a team like Alloa. Third, the pay-rises that JR has had and contract length have been fully justified and he can't be blamed for the losing start giving the team he had to work with. he turned it around almost immediately in the next transfer window. 

In saying all that, I fully agree with you Goody would be a natural replacement and if Fowler goes with Ross, he'd be my first choice. (If Fowler stays I think he'd be close to a cert for it and rightfully so) If he didn't want it for whatever reason I'd be happy with Neilson. Doubt that Wright could be tempted away. 

22 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

Almost as if you have something against Jack Ross... Firstly Alloa were all but down when he took over, second he had them top of the league for the best part of the next season he was there. They slipped to 2nd just before he left. Not bad going at all for a team like Alloa. Third, the pay-rises that JR has had and contract length have been fully justified and he can't be blamed for the losing start giving the team he had to work with. he turned it around almost immediately in the next transfer window. 

In saying all that, I fully agree with you Goody would be a natural replacement and if Fowler goes with Ross, he'd be my first choice. (If Fowler stays I think he'd be close to a cert for it and rightfully so) If he didn't want it for whatever reason I'd be happy with Neilson. Doubt that Wright could be tempted away. 

You see right there in the first part of your post is the 'detachment from reality' if Ross rightly gets plaudits for helping us win promotion, then he rightly bears responsibility for his poor start at SMFC. And if he is to be credited to getting Alloa to second in league one, then it follows he again has to shoulder his share of why they were relegated in his first season their.

its called a balanced view of performance/capability! Goodwin has out performed his predecessor two seasons running now, and if he's there next season and they get off to a howler that will be on him too. Inspite of the ill informed postings on here I like to look at a whole manager/player's performance/capability. Not just  choose the best/worst bits to justify a verdict on their entire season/tenure.

Goody would be Good for us in the Prem if things go the way they seem to be going. Someone on the up, with enough early experience who will challenge players, and have credibility with those in his dressing room.

Wright i agree is unlikely to leave his comfy Perth billet, to chance it with the new boys, and of the others we could potentially get from the prem I wouldnt fancy any of them to take us forward. I didnt believe it, but it turned out to be the right job, at the right time for Ross. I think it could be the right job at the right time for Goody. 

7 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

its called a balanced view of performance/capability! Goodwin has out performed his predecessor two seasons running now,

While I don't disagree that Goodwin may be a decent appointment, I don't think your stated comparison in the second sentence is possible.

Ross' first season at Alloa was in a higher division and he never completed a full season in League One. Therefore, impossible to compare with Goodwin!

Just now, zico said:

While I don't disagree that Goodwin may be a decent appointment, I don't think your stated comparison in the second sentence is possible.

Ross' first season at Alloa was in a higher division and he never completed a full season in League One. Therefore, impossible to compare with Goodwin!

Opinions! Goody has got a relatively small club into the play offs twice, and might sneak into the championship this weekend. That by comparison would be a monumental achievement. 

16 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

You see right there in the first part of your post is the 'detachment from reality' if Ross rightly gets plaudits for helping us win promotion, then he rightly bears responsibility for his poor start at SMFC. And if he is to be credited to getting Alloa to second in league one, then it follows he again has to shoulder his share of why they were relegated in his first season their.

its called a balanced view of performance/capability! Goodwin has out performed his predecessor two seasons running now, and if he's there next season and they get off to a howler that will be on him too. Inspite of the ill informed postings on here I like to look at a whole manager/player's performance/capability. Not just  choose the best/worst bits to justify a verdict on their entire season/tenure.

Goody would be Good for us in the Prem if things go the way they seem to be going. Someone on the up, with enough early experience who will challenge players, and have credibility with those in his dressing room.

Wright i agree is unlikely to leave his comfy Perth billet, to chance it with the new boys, and of the others we could potentially get from the prem I wouldnt fancy any of them to take us forward. I didnt believe it, but it turned out to be the right job, at the right time for Ross. I think it could be the right job at the right time for Goody. 

Clearly a favourite with most St Mirren fans as a player. 

Working well at Alloa with part time players and worth an opportunity in the Championship. 

Ready for the Premiership .......I am not so sure. 

On 11/05/2018 at 4:16 PM, Lord Pityme said:

It’s not called a balanced view. It’s called focusing on the negatives. Instead of saying ‘he did really well to turn it around’ and focusing on that. You’re choosing to say ‘let’s not forget his poor start’ of course we should forget his poor start. He’s earned his place as a highly thought of, successful st Mirren manager and that’s what anyone that’s not a massive pessimist would focus on.

Do you think when Fergie retired there was a single Man U fan saying ‘aye but remember he lost his first game to Oxford’ Jesus your negativity beggars belief. 

As for your balanced approach, it’s just incorrect, you clearly just See what you want to see.  last season Ross left them in 2nd so how did Goody beat him there? The season before if you think Ross has any blame to shoulder for a team adrift at the bottom of the league then that’s absolute madness, Goody also wasn’t managing so I don’t see how you can say he beat him two years in a row. if you’re comparing this season, how can you say Goody has done better this season than Scotland’s manager of the year?

Your view is so warped and clearly anti- St Mirren. It’s pathetically obvious  

On 11/05/2018 at 4:28 PM, Lord Pityme said:

Opinions! Goody has got a relatively small club into the play offs twice, and might sneak into the championship this weekend. That by comparison would be a monumental achievement. 

How many teams in L1 have a bigger budget than Alloa. Two for sure? Doubt there’s anymore that have a considerable bigger budget. 

Falkirk, ICT, Dundee United, Dunfermline. All had a bigger budget than us this season. Alloa, got into a play-off. St Mirren won the championship.

Your opinion is evidently not based on fact which you’re more than welcome to check yourself. Therefore it must be something else. Based on your history posting on here, my bet is your dislike for St Mirren and. Your negative attitude towards Jack Ross. 

8 hours ago, bazil85 said:

How many teams in L1 have a bigger budget than Alloa. Two for sure? Doubt there’s anymore that have a considerable bigger budget. 

Falkirk, ICT, Dundee United, Dunfermline. All had a bigger budget than us this season. Alloa, got into a play-off. St Mirren won the championship.

Your opinion is evidently not based on fact which you’re more than welcome to check yourself. Therefore it must be something else. Based on your history posting on here, my bet is your dislike for St Mirren and. Your negative attitude towards Jack Ross. 

Luvin it.... you must be absolutely beelin that Goody just got Wee Alloa promoted to the championship! The guys a winner, a saint and a man's, man.