Posted
On 6/24/2018 at 11:15 PM, jaybee said:

the cross looking towards the Abbey .......but when?     Don't ever remember the trams in the middle like that although I did ride on one from up the west end I think, sometime in the middle 1950's ? 

Yes and when the trams got to the roundabout at Linwood (where there was a depot) the conductor came along and switched the back of the seats so all the seats pointed towards the direction of travel and they trundled off back up to Glasgow.

Posted
On 7/12/2018 at 10:28 AM, billyg said:

Polish Airlines , Russian built Ilyushin 18 landing at Renfrew over the Arkleston Cemetery Road in 1963 !

Probably a football team arriving to play one of the bigot brothers! :whistle

Posted
40 minutes ago, mcd54 said:
47 minutes ago, The Original 59er said:
107356120_PaisleyJailCountySquare.jpg.4f3bc55ede89ca7888868d233f2b50a2.jpg

Not the jail!

And also not sky dishes on the front balcony....................... loudspeakers to quell the baying public!

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, The Original 59er said:

353008773_PaisleyHighStreet.jpg.25aaa221c88ed00224c0ac91663e1fba.jpg When High Streets were High Streets and shopping was shopping!

Then along came Amazon.  :whistle

Posted
On 6/20/2018 at 10:55 AM, thomsons dropped it said:

Renfrew Airport ???

Do you mean this one . .

Dcr_hB-XUAA_swQ.jpg

. .which I believe is Renfrew Airport with the old Scottish Aviation factory on the left of the pic. Perhaps , there are some older Buddies who worked there , back in the day. .

Posted
Yes and when the trams got to the roundabout at Linwood (where there was a depot) the conductor came along and switched the back of the seats so all the seats pointed towards the direction of travel and they trundled off back up to Glasgow.
The depot was at Linwood Toll. In Elderslie...

[emoji846]
Posted
10 hours ago, The Original 59er said:
On 6/24/2018 at 11:15 PM, jaybee said:

the cross looking towards the Abbey .......but when?     Don't ever remember the trams in the middle like that although I did ride on one from up the west end I think, sometime in the middle 1950's ? 

Thanks for that, I think at the time I must have been 4 or 5 so Linwood was far tooooooo BIG a place for wee yin like me :P on my own certainly

Posted
9 hours ago, The Original 59er said:
10 hours ago, mcd54 said:

Not the jail!

And also not sky dishes on the front balcony....................... loudspeakers to quell the baying public!

was the jail not to the left of it? or am I away wi the faeries?

Posted
15 minutes ago, jaybee said:

was the jail not to the left of it? or am I away wi the faeries?

Looking at it, to the right, down a slight ramp to the large arched doors if my memory serves me right. 

Posted

prison.jpg.7b81514f8a70d9ff709762bd23fd32e0.jpg

visually it's exactly as recall, BUT I would have put money on it being to the left, between the railway arches and the castle, but hey thanks for posting the pic .,.,.,.,., memories eh!

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, pod said:

See the source image

Now thats what you call a Gaol!

MUSTA KNOCKED DOON HALF O IT AND SMITHHILL ST BY THIS TIME, TO BUILD GILMOUR ST STATION BY THE LOOKS OF IT.

919323411_PaisleyJail.jpg.52c4e956e8d9a777cf33ccf175eb9235.jpg

Edited by Vambo57
Posted
14 hours ago, The Original 59er said:

Probably a football team arriving to play one of the bigot brothers! :whistle

Back in those days , large East European fishing vessels fished Scottish waters , the ships would dock in Glasgow every month and these planes brought in fresh crew and took the old crew home !