Golf and Golfing

It's summertime. The club's have been rescued from the garage and dusted down. My annual hackathon has begun. I now play occasional games on 9 hole courses.  Recently played  Muckhart, Dunning, The Wee Devil at Loch Lomind. Any suggestions for 9 holes of golf? Before anyone says, I played Barshaw a number of times! 

Hit the ball up and down the park 9 times. 1 way it's a par 4, back down it's a par 3, then par 5 etc. At least this way you should be on course for  sub par round. Only need 3 clubs. 1) Driver 2) 7 iron or less & 3) a Putter . Saves you money, this way you can get the gardener or window cleaner round more often :P

48 minutes ago, shull said:

I have never played Golf. 

Probably a wise decision shull. Fun but frustrating .Not sure that my game ever qualified either as playing golf. Great game in good weather. 

It's summertime. The club's have been rescued from the garage and dusted down. My annual hackathon has begun. I now play occasional games on 9 hole courses.  Recently played  Muckhart, Dunning, The Wee Devil at Loch Lomind. Any suggestions for 9 holes of golf? Before anyone says, I played Barshaw a number of times! 
I think 9 hole courses may be in limited supply.

Are there any/many golf clubs that do a 9 hole ticket instead of their usual 18 holed

I am up visiting my mum and dad this week in Paisley.

I get up at the crack of dawn & go golfing before the wife & bairns wake up.

I am usually back by the time they are getting up.

Anyways
Monday, I played Fereneze (Barrhead), found most par 4's were a drive and a pitch or 9 iron.
My drive on the 18th stopped 10 yards short of the green but it is driveable due to the gradient of the slope
Some cracking views from the 9th/10th hole (i think it was)
Course was in decent condition & for £15, was worth the money.

Yesterday, i played Ralston (Paisley). Similar lengths to the holes as Fereneze but very enjoyable too.
Course is in great condition too.
Enjoyed.

Today,
I pitched up at Elderslie and got a different response to the previous 2 days.
No one about, I asked a greenkeeper if ok to start and pay when finished (ralston & fereneze, it was no problem)

"Nope, you can try Cochrane Castle"

So I did, some really nice holes and another enjoyable round playing a course I have never played before.

We head north to Strathpeffer tomorrow and on Saturday, a round on Strathpeffer Spa Golf Course.
Another drive & pitch kind of course.

Monday, Durness Golf Club (9 hole course but with 18 tees)

Next Friday, The Glen GC at North Berwick and hopefully, a round in between monday & Friday, somewhere around Inverness/ The Black Isle.

Just home from a visit to Carnoustie today. Wanted to go and take photos with all the Open stuff still in place. Staff were very friendly and told me I could wander anywhere I wanted as long as no golfers playing shots. Stood on the first tee, surrounded by high steeply banked seating. Stared down the first fairway. Came to the conclusion that if I was standing there, with the stands full, the TV cameras on, and a driver in my hands... I’d be unable to hit the ball due to the sheer amount of shite in my breeks.

Walked through the tunnel to the 18th and was able to walk over the Barry Burn bridge and take some photos staring down the 18th green. Goodness knows how many people fill those huge stands, it was still very atmospheric despite being empty. I was absolutely gagging to attempt a pitch and run onto the green and imagine the roar of the crowd (or the gasps as I shat myself again, shanked it right and lamped a steward on the napper with a Titelist 2.)

Will try and stick some pics up later. 

1 hour ago, pozbaird said:

Just home from a visit to Carnoustie today. Wanted to go and take photos with all the Open stuff still in place. Staff were very friendly and told me I could wander anywhere I wanted as long as no golfers playing shots. Stood on the first tee, surrounded by high steeply banked seating. Stared down the first fairway. Came to the conclusion that if I was standing there, with the stands full, the TV cameras on, and a driver in my hands... I’d be unable to hit the ball due to the sheer amount of shite in my breeks.

Walked through the tunnel to the 18th and was able to walk over the Barry Burn bridge and take some photos staring down the 18th green. Goodness knows how many people fill those huge stands, it was still very atmospheric despite being empty. I was absolutely gagging to attempt a pitch and run onto the green and imagine the roar of the crowd (or the gasps as I shat myself again, shanked it right and lamped a steward on the napper with a Titelist 2.)

I done something similar at St Andrews a few years ago, just a magical feeling standing where the greats have been.

Pity you've got me on ignore, could have been fun. 

I was lucky enough to play at The Belfry two days after the Ryder Cup, it was awesome with all the stands still in place and thinking of all the shots you’d seen over the weekend. I’ve played it a few times since, without the stands, and bar three holes it’s not particularly good.

Having again been lucky enough to play both Carnoustie and St Andrews (old course) they are both fabulous courses in their own right, I can only imagine what it’d be like to play them with all the Open structures in place!!

1 hour ago, WeeBud said:

I was lucky enough to play at The Belfry two days after the Ryder Cup, it was awesome with all the stands still in place and thinking of all the shots you’d seen over the weekend. I’ve played it a few times since, without the stands, and bar three holes it’s not particularly good.

Having again been lucky enough to play both Carnoustie and St Andrews (old course) they are both fabulous courses in their own right, I can only imagine what it’d be like to play them with all the Open structures in place!!

I played the Old Course for my one and only time the day after Seve won the Open there in 1984. It was £18 to play the Old Course then, and not the crazy stuff of today with ballots and tons of American and Japanese tourists. I went up with my dad and we went to the starter to see if we could play. If not, we would just go and find another course. The starter told us a group of four were next up on the tee but if we just paid and were ready, we could jump on before they arrived at the tee. I swear, it was like that, just gie’s yer’ £36 boys and off you go in front of this fourball that are coming along in a few minutes. Maybe the bloke trousered the £36. Don’t know, don’t care!

It was a warm sunny day, and while not nearly as commercialised as today, there were still good sized stands everywhere. There must have been fifty or so folk sitting in the stand at the first tee sunning themselves. It was without doubt, the most nervous tee shot I’ve ever hit. I was saying to myself ‘Don’t duff it, don’t duff it, do, not, duff, it’... I went down to a five wood and hit a decent drive, down the middle, no embarrassment. My dad, who was a casual golfer compared to me, went to a six iron, and hit a decent tee shot too. We walked off briskly (to get away from any fourball about to turn up!), and acted like we always hit decent tee shots, heads held high as we trotted down the first. I hit a pitching wedge to fifteen feet and holed the putt for a birdie three. Glorious.

The rest of the round I remember nothing about, except for the 18th. On the way round, there was another twoball in front of us. A guy, and I guess, his son, who was about fifteen or sixteen I reckon. He looked a good player. At the 18th, they had driven, we waited on the tee as they played their second shots. The kid must have hit it close, because the punters sunning themselves in the stand behind the 18th all applauded loudly. We heard the applause wafting down towards us, it was brilliant. Having said that, we were next to face ‘the gallery’, so once again it was a case of a very nervy ‘don’t duff it, don’t mess it up in front of the gallery!’ I don’t remember either of us duffing it up 18, but I have no recollection of how we actually scored on 18.

The first hole though, was just brilliant. True story, one of my best memories of my dad too. The look on his face after hitting that decent six iron off the first, from someone who hardly played much. He was so relieved, proud of himself. He just grinned at me and made a ‘whew!’ motion with his hand across his forehead.

9 hole courses worth trying...

Hamilton, Strathclyde Park (good course, decent challenge)

Broadlees, between East Kilbride & Strathaven  (good course, decent challenge)

Strathendrick, by Drymen (fun course)

Ross Priory, by Gartocharn (decent)

Mearns Castle. (Decent)

Playsport, east kilbride. (Fun but expensive. Holes are modelled on famous holes)

Larkhall (not played, but meant to be good - south lanarkshire cncl have a good golf set-up)

Calderbraes, Uddingston (not played, but meant to be decent)

Others (which are probably worth avoiding)

Knightswood

Ruchill

Alexandra Park.

10 hours ago, pozbaird said:

I played the Old Course for my one and only time the day after Seve won the Open there in 1984. It was £18 to play the Old Course then, and not the crazy stuff of today with ballots and tons of American and Japanese tourists. I went up with my dad and we went to the starter to see if we could play. If not, we would just go and find another course. The starter told us a group of four were next up on the tee but if we just paid and were ready, we could jump on before they arrived at the tee. I swear, it was like that, just gie’s yer’ £36 boys and off you go in front of this fourball that are coming along in a few minutes. Maybe the bloke trousered the £36. Don’t know, don’t care!

It was a warm sunny day, and while not nearly as commercialised as today, there were still good sized stands everywhere. There must have been fifty or so folk sitting in the stand at the first tee sunning themselves. It was without doubt, the most nervous tee shot I’ve ever hit. I was saying to myself ‘Don’t duff it, don’t duff it, do, not, duff, it’... I went down to a five wood and hit a decent drive, down the middle, no embarrassment. My dad, who was a casual golfer compared to me, went to a six iron, and hit a decent tee shot too. We walked off briskly (to get away from any fourball about to turn up!), and acted like we always hit decent tee shots, heads held high as we trotted down the first. I hit a pitching wedge to fifteen feet and holed the putt for a birdie three. Glorious.

The rest of the round I remember nothing about, except for the 18th. On the way round, there was another twoball in front of us. A guy, and I guess, his son, who was about fifteen or sixteen I reckon. He looked a good player. At the 18th, they had driven, we waited on the tee as they played their second shots. The kid must have hit it close, because the punters sunning themselves in the stand behind the 18th all applauded loudly. We heard the applause wafting down towards us, it was brilliant. Having said that, we were next to face ‘the gallery’, so once again it was a case of a very nervy ‘don’t duff it, don’t mess it up in front of the gallery!’ I don’t remember either of us duffing it up 18, but I have no recollection of how we actually scored on 18.

The first hole though, was just brilliant. True story, one of my best memories of my dad too. The look on his face after hitting that decent six iron off the first, from someone who hardly played much. He was so relieved, proud of himself. He just grinned at me and made a ‘whew!’ motion with his hand across his forehead.

That's a great read Poz, I could almost picture what was happening......I have putted on the 18th at St Andrews with tourists packed round the fence behind and to the side of the green, as if putting isn't nervy enough!!

Your story reminded me of a great book I once read called Final Rounds (James Dodson) telling the story of a golf trip the author had with his Dad and the experiences they shared on and off the course. I won't go into it any more than that in-case anybody wants to read it but one of my favourite golf books!

My dad who was a 3 handicapper at the time- many years back managed to thin his 9 iron approach through the caddy hut window that used to be at the back of the 18th. He said it was the most embarrassing walk of his life.

Footnote- We went to St Andrews every year on hols basically for my Dads golf and in the late  60s it was £5 for a day ticket

Dunno if it's still the case but the Old Course at St Andrews used to be closed to golfers on a Sunday, the only exceptions being if it was the Open or another tournament such as the Dunhill.

Members of the public are able to wander about the course (although a few bits are roped off). Can't be too many iconic sporting venues that allow you such access for free at such a prime time of the week!

11 minutes ago, Stu said:

Dunno if it's still the case but the Old Course at St Andrews used to be closed to golfers on a Sunday, the only exceptions being if it was the Open or another tournament such as the Dunhill.

Members of the public are able to wander about the course (although a few bits are roped off). Can't be too many iconic sporting venues that allow you such access for free at such a prime time of the week!

Old Course still closed on Sundays Stu, I've actually seen kids kicking a football about on the 1st fairway unchecked!!

On 7/27/2018 at 8:52 AM, bungle_1981 said:

9 hole courses worth trying...

Hamilton, Strathclyde Park (good course, decent challenge)

Broadlees, between East Kilbride & Strathaven  (good course, decent challenge)

Strathendrick, by Drymen (fun course)

Ross Priory, by Gartocharn (decent)

Mearns Castle. (Decent)

Playsport, east kilbride. (Fun but expensive. Holes are modelled on famous holes)

Larkhall (not played, but meant to be good - south lanarkshire cncl have a good golf set-up)

Calderbraes, Uddingston (not played, but meant to be decent)

Others (which are probably worth avoiding)

Knightswood

Ruchill

Alexandra Park.

Played Strathendrick... Good fun. 

Looking forward to Ross Priory. 

Try 

Dunning

St Fillans

Comrie

Muthil

Muckart

Played Falkirk Tryst yesterday. Great greens.  Tree lined.  A few holes are a little oddly laid out but enjoyable. 

On 7/27/2018 at 9:30 AM, DougJamie said:

My dad who was a 3 handicapper at the time- many years back managed to thin his 9 iron approach through the caddy hut window that used to be at the back of the 18th. He said it was the most embarrassing walk of his life.

Footnote- We went to St Andrews every year on hols basically for my Dads golf and in the late  60s it was £5 for a day ticket

Sounds like great memories DJ. 

Talking of cost.... I was a golfing member at Gleneagles for a number of years. I see they now charge 210 quid a round. 

I need to get back to it, I havent played this year due to a shoulder operation.  My last outing was at the excellent Piperdam last October in a pre-event outing arranged for male guests at my daughter's wedding.  I shouldn't have played then and gave up after 15 holes as my right shoulder was drawing the swing closer and closer to my body, but duty calls and i persevered as long as i could.  If i had hit another 3 balls i would have been playing the back of my own head rather than the wee white thing i barely troubled all day.  But i am recovered now and would love to get out for a few half rounds before autumn.

In a miserable round, I did manage to drive the green on the first at Piperdam though, I breathed a sigh of relief as I was the first of a party of 20 to drive and there is a LOT of water between tee and green.  I later found out my my older brothers muttered to anyone who could hear  (bar me) " F**k! we'll never hear the end of this"

Some people.

apparently the group rate at piperdam is very good value, though i don't recall how much it was amongst the other bills

Do not ever, ever, ever mention J Arthur Rank again. That is verboten in ze golfing parlance