Worst Result In Our History

On 11/19/2016 at 7:19 PM, Dave The Buddie said:

If anyone doubts this and we are only in November then I would seek professional help. Only club in the UK that has not won a league game.

This is a new low as a Saints fan.

A cracking thread by Dave, along the lines of "We're down" 

Seems he likes threads that are a tad on the gloomy side. :lol:

Now you are talking. I took my father in law to the game.  An East Fife supporter.  He was not impressed.  Miserable performance and res:cheersL ult. 

That 7-0 game was my Dad's first away match for at least 10 years. Although he went to home matches, his next away game was 8 years later. 

And that was at ICT which we lost 5-0.

Bloody jinx :lol:

And he managed to get complimentary tickets for both matches, just for himself. 

I expected us to lose to Killie but then to beat Spartans which would have given us 3 points.  Therefore as it stands we are 1 point ahead of where I, and most fans, expected us to be.

As for worst result ever - August 1st 1992

Raith Rovers 7 (Seven)  St Mirren 0 (Nil)  :shockaroony :death

38 minutes ago, scottd said:

I expected us to lose to Killie but then to beat Spartans which would have given us 3 points.  Therefore as it stands we are 1 point ahead of where I, and most fans, expected us to be.

Spot on Scottd

2 hours ago, Wendy Saintss said:

But Spartans got a point. That means they didn’t lose then?

Keeping it simple.

Lose during 90 minutes ..no points.

Draw during 90 minutes.

Each team get a point

Penalty Shoot out .The Winners get 1 xtra

Meaning they win the tie and rewarded. 

Team that wins the game during 90 get 3

2 hours ago, helpmaboab said:

1 Point for a draw. 

2 Points for winning on penalties 

3 Points for a win during 90 Minutes

0 Points for a loss during 90 minutes. 

4 Points fur winning by mair than 2 goals

5 points fur winning by mair than 4 goals 

-1 Point fur each yellow card

-3 Points fur each red card

That'll make it mair interesting, a cun just imagine the punters trying tae work it oot.....hahahahahahaha 

I think you’re onto something here Boaby.

Imagine a league run in if that was the set up.

52 minutes ago, scottd said:

In fairness Raith Rovers went on to win the league that season and were a great team who ultimately went on to win the league cup and give Bayern Munich a run for their money in the UEFA Cup.

I don’t see this as any worse than some of the spankings we took off an average Celtic in the late 70s/early 80s. Or the humping off Rangers when Miller scored 5.

10 minutes ago, nedflanders123 said:

I have awful memories of losing 5 goals at home to East Stirling.

Don't remember ever losing 5 to The Shire at Love St but I remember us losing 5-0 at Firs Park.

I do remember losing 5-0 at home to QOTS in what was their keeper,Alan Ball,500th league game

I remember a presentation of a box set of Chivas whisky to him pre match.

8 minutes ago, HSS said:

Don't remember ever losing 5 to The Shire at Love St but I remember us losing 5-0 at Firs Park.

I do remember losing 5-0 at home to QOTS in what was their keeper,Alan Ball,500th league game

I wish he had fecking drank them pre match.

I just had a look over that season, 59/60, on the programme website.

Utterly bizarre and so typically St. Mirren.

Beat Man City 3-0 in the Paisley Charity Cup, beat Nottm. Forest on agg to claim the title of British Cup Winners .

Had home wins in the league of 8-1 v Arbroath and 5-1 v Motherwell.

Away wins of  5-0 v Kilmarnock, 4-1 v Motherwell and 3-1 v Rangers.

4-4 draws with both Celtic (A) and Hearts (H).

Lost 6-1 away to Raith, 6-2 away to Arbroath, 7-0 at home to Stirling and had our record victory of 15-0 v Glasgow Uni.

:wacko:

Edited by Eric Arthur Blair

No need to guess, have a good gulp and find out. :whistle

To be fair, having tasted camomile tea, I'd imagine it would be difficult to determine the difference between the two.

Hopefully I'll never know. Sick smiley 21

11 hours ago, HSS said:

You are correct I was thinking of QOS result in 74/75 season. Still, 5-0 v Shire is an embarrassment too. I also remember travelling to Montrose in 73/74 season and losing 5-0.

Edited by nedflanders123