Club statement please on police activity in W7

1 hour ago, John Gotti said:

Sadly never going to happen bud. I was watching the highlights of Sevco Motherwell the other week when McGregor landed on the Well player with his elbow, I told my brother nothing would happen. Same way Morelos got out of a red card, Scott Brown got away with elbowing Naismith, McGregor got away with kicking the young Celtic lad.

Scotland is terrified of these 2 at all levels, from the football pitch to the courts.

It's alright, Aberdeen's red card stands for that shirt pull miles from goal.

You've summed it right up. I remember from my days up north when the green sided bigots came to visit and without fail their whole fan base ignored the announcer's requests to be seated. Of course when policing it's easier to ignore the problem than to boot out every one of them.

10 hours ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

St Mirren fan, who we are referring to as “Peter”, said the police came to his door on August 24. Peter said he had helped organise a supporters’ march through Paisley after the Buddies won the league this year.

He said: “Once they were in [the house] they were talking about St Mirren and organised violence at football matches. I was like ‘this is not what we are about. We are not there to cause problems’.”

He continued: “They said that they knew I am a season ticket holder. I said it was quite strange that they knew that.

“They were wanting to know if there was going to be any organised fights, or if there was going to be groups of people travelling to certain places...If I knew that information, could I share it?”

Peter said the officers were “very pally” and flattered him: “They were trying to say ‘people look up to you, people treat you like a role model, if you

Wisnae me :shutup

2 hours ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

At least we now know the real reason for the early morning knock and it would appear that a good few on here were way wide of the mark in their assumption that some of our support must have over stepped the mark to have caused it.  Police in Scotland have very little comprehension of modern day football support. Units set up in the 80s and 90s still use the same systems today despite a sea change in the way most young fans view supporting their teams. To a certain degree the "Green Brigade" with their political slant are being held up by the police as the "model" the likes of Saints and Motherwell have followed yet I see no political leaning in either. It's lazy, assumptive policing partly down to a lack of resource to fund a proper intelligence lead approach. Classic one size fits all stuff.

I agree with the point you make. I'll add though that this problem is in no way unique to police in Scotland. 

I travel with Tartan Army and its the exact same at every away game round Europe we go to. This is also especially the case in England with they way they police the domestic leagues. 

Its an issue with the way football is policed in general as opposed to just Scotland. Its about time governments woke up and realised the days on football violence in the 70's and 80's are gone and time to spend tax payers money elsewhere. 

11 hours ago, LargsBud said:

I agree with the point you make. I'll add though that this problem is in no way unique to police in Scotland. 

I travel with Tartan Army and its the exact same at every away game round Europe we go to. This is also especially the case in England with they way they police the domestic leagues. 

Its an issue with the way football is policed in general as opposed to just Scotland. Its about time governments woke up and realised the days on football violence in the 70's and 80's are gone and time to spend tax payers money elsewhere. 

Have to completely disagree with you LargsBud on the Tartan Army front (unless things have changed in the last few years). I called a halt to my TA travels after the Levein strikerless debacle in Prague. I’d had enough then. However for about the 12 years prior to that I attended every competitive away game Scotland played and a good few friendlies too. The only times I ever saw a heavy police presence was in Kiev and Croatia. The Kiev police may very well have saved our lives from literally the only football violence I ever saw in my entire travels. In Croatia we travelled to Koprivinca for the U21 game the day before the big team played. A police escort took us from the station to the stadium entirely for our own protection.

I must’ve attended about 50 odd Scotland away games and those are the only two occasions I can remember a police presence of any note. 

I hear a number of private security agencies are infiltrating football grounds and supporters groups but it's got feck all to do with violence and crowd trouble. Apparently  online betting across different time zones has caused a bit of grief for the bookie and there are more of their agents in the grounds looking for dodgy dudes acting suspiciously on their mobile phones than there are actually  cops interested in violence. I don't know how much a Scamster in Asia  can make abusing live in game betting flaws but apparently it is a lucrative business which the bookmaker doesn't condone. 

Maybe representatives of the William Hill and Paddy Power overseas divisions will start visiting  us season ticket holders at 9am and offer us a damn sight more than the polis can.

10 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

That’s a shocker. 

As a point of order, are the club responsible for the actions of the stewards? Who do stewards take their instructions from, the club or the police?

It’s really not a shocker. As far as I understood the club work with the W7 to allow pre-approved banners that are considered for firesafety and wording. The drum and displays are supported. A blind eye is turned to standing in order to accommodate fans wishes. 

I assume that the banner was removed as it wasn’t presented to the club beforehand. 

As for the police - my understanding is that they only really intervene when necessary or at the requests of stewards. I think that’s the way it’s always been.

What is a shocker is football fans acting like victims for the slightest wee thing. Falling on the side of Celtic fans on this matter isn’t something to be proud of in my opinion. Their battle and ultimate victory against the OBFA was a sham and a victory for bigots. 

When you hear complaints from Celtic fans about being filmed at games as being an abuse of their rights it’s just ridiculous.

Every day of the week I walk through a train station (CCTV), interact with a ticket inspector  (on the train) who has a pin camera. If I go through a town centre, shopping centre, into a shop or pub - you can guarantee I’ll be on CCTV in all these places. 

When it comes to a Saturday and if the Police want to stick a tiny camera in front of us while I’m sitting in a stand at Tynecastle or wherever the feck we are - I couldn’t give two hoots. I’m not going to do anything criminal so it doesn’t bother me. 

The people who have a real issue with it are the guys singing the IRA songs last night. 

Folk should dwell on that for a second before thinking that this is some sort of working class battle against the big bad authorities. It’s not. It’s simply a matter of Celtic and Rangers fans taking on the authorities because their posoinous ways were threatened, backed up by figures like Jim Murphy and James Kelly who turned the whole thing into a political football. 

Incidentally, I noticed that smoke bombs were released in the Celtic end at FT (obviously never had any goals to celebrate as planned). Another criminal action from ‘fans not criminals’. Same as their repeated flaunting of pyrotechnic laws and repeated fines at Euro games. 

Whatever misjudgements the police made with the W7 boys going by the reports - I’d rather that was dealt with in isolation rather than standing side by side with the Old Firm scum in some sort of fans v authority battle. 

4 minutes ago, Maboza said:

It’s really not a shocker. As far as I understood the club work with the W7 to allow pre-approved banners that are considered for firesafety and wording. The drum and displays are supported. A blind eye is turned to standing in order to accommodate fans wishes. 

I assume that the banner was removed as it wasn’t presented to the club beforehand. 

As for the police - my understanding is that they only really intervene when necessary or at the requests of stewards. I think that’s the way it’s always been.

What is a shocker is football fans acting like victims for the slightest wee thing. Falling on the side of Celtic fans on this matter isn’t something to be proud of in my opinion. Their battle and ultimate victory against the OBFA was a sham and a victory for bigots. 

When you hear complaints from Celtic fans about being filmed at games as being an abuse of their rights it’s just ridiculous.

Every day of the week I walk through a train station (CCTV), interact with a ticket inspector  (on the train) who has a pin camera. If I go through a town centre, shopping centre, into a shop or pub - you can guarantee I’ll be on CCTV in all these places. 

When it comes to a Saturday and if the Police want to stick a tiny camera in front of us while I’m sitting in a stand at Tynecastle or wherever the feck we are - I couldn’t give two hoots. I’m not going to do anything criminal so it doesn’t bother me. 

The people who have a real issue with it are the guys singing the IRA songs last night. 

Folk should dwell on that for a second before thinking that this is some sort of working class battle against the big bad authorities. It’s not. It’s simply a matter of Celtic and Rangers fans taking on the authorities because their posoinous ways were threatened, backed up by figures like Jim Murphy and James Kelly who turned the whole thing into a political football. 

Incidentally, I noticed that smoke bombs were released in the Celtic end at FT (obviously never had any goals to celebrate as planned). Another criminal action from ‘fans not criminals’. Same as their repeated flaunting of pyrotechnic laws and repeated fines at Euro games. 

Whatever misjudgements the police made with the W7 boys going by the reports - I’d rather that was dealt with in isolation rather than standing side by side with the Old Firm scum in some sort of fans v authority battle. 

Always better to avoid a race to the lowest common denominator.  The banner was not offensive,  Just unnecessary.  Keep to Positives Guys.  When you do then you are a real credit to the club and an example to fans of other clubs.  Thanks for the noise and backing of the team again last night.  We sit in W4 and the noise was terrific.  Lots joined in.  Just one suggestion.. Don't bother singing anything that relates to the Irish/Religious affiliations of either of the old firm.  Just encourages them.  Better ignored. 

1 hour ago, Maboza said:

Brilliant post Sir.

Seen the banner from last night and thought the scum Green Brigade had infiltrated W7.

A couple of points .

My 10 year old nephew turned up with a big flag that wasn’t pre-approved .

There was nothing offensive, derogatory, bigoted, sectarian or provocative on the banner displayed by the W7 lads.why was it removed ?

There was a massive Bhoys banner in the away end , why was that not removed ? Are we to believe it was presented to the Club and the authorities pre match for fire testing and approval ?

Drums at both away ends , now I don’t know the answer to this, perhaps someone from W7 May care to answer. when our drum started the guys had to bring it into the stadium the day before the game for check and storage. Is this still the case ? And if so did the Celtic supports adhere to the rule ?

Since the Inception of the W7 initiative, it just seems they have had to jump through an awful lot of hoops and fall under some pretty strict , some may say petty rules.

(Some ) Away fans do not appear to be governed by the same rules .

Disgarceful behaviour by jobsworth stewards.

The club owe a grovelling apology to the fans for this embarassing amatuerish display of utter nonsense.

Some clarity should be offered on

1)  What power were the stewards relying on when seizing the private property of someone else?

2) If such a power relies on "offence" then what exacly is offensive about this banner?

3) Identify the individual who made this moronic decison

Furthermore

If the lads in w7 were to make some t-shirts stating "fans not criminals" please let me know as I would happily buy one and wear it at the ground.  If a jumped up stward wishes to rip my t-shirt from me he/she will have a walking stick firmly lodged in the rectum.

In conclusion, this is a crock of excrement.  We do not need such small minded idiots in the employ of our great club.

3 hours ago, Maboza said:

Couldn’t disagree more with the very short part of your post which related to St. Mirren.

The rest was all about Celtic and I could give a f*ck about them.

Like I said earlier in this thread, if fans in that section are going to do things to push the boundaries they can expect a reaction from the authorities. The authorities don't generally bother normal people going about their business.

This is all about ego on the part of some fans who just cannot see anybody's way but their own.

They are seeking matyrdom and victimhood and it's pretty cringeworthy. Just go to the games, stop behaving like f**king twats and stop bleating about imagined persecutions.

5 minutes ago, cockles1987 said:

You can't blame the stewards if that's the instructions they've been given.

I personally didn't see anything that can be misconstrued against the club or any footballing governing body.

The buds in W7 are doing a great job generating an atmosphere that everyone (no doubt that someone isn't) is in appreciation off.

Hope "Peter" or whoever the anon in the paper was, didn't get woken early today. emoji106.png

It was a political banner. They know the club doesn't want that type of banner ecause it causes problems for the club from the footballing authorities but a handful of stupid cunts decided their rights trump everyone else's. 

Playing a subsequent game of whataboutery concerning why Celtic fans can get away with it is pathetic.

On a weekend where we should be celebrating the belated turning up of our team and a rare point against an OF team, we are now talking about this ridiculous childish shite?

Seriously, whose idea was that banner? Who has the balls to own up to it?

3 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

It was a political banner. They know the club doesn't want that type of banner ecause it causes problems for the club from the footballing authorities but a handful of stupid cunts decided their rights trump everyone else's. 

Playing a subsequent game of whataboutery concerning why Celtic fans can get away with it is pathetic.

On a weekend where we should be celebrating the belated turning up of our team and a rare point against an OF team, we are now talking about this ridiculous childish shite?

Seriously, whose idea was that banner? Who has the balls to own up to it?

A " Welcome Oran " banner would have been sufficient instead of trying to copy the Green Brigade vermin.

4 minutes ago, shull said:

A " Welcome Oran " banner would have been sufficient instead of trying to copy the Green Brigade vermin.

Exactly. Some of these W7 guys are trying to treat the rest of us like idiots shull but you and I shall stand side by side to root their pish out and show them up for the twats they really are!

United we stand, together we fa.....no hang on how does it go?.....together we stand united we fa....no that's not it either.....

1 hour ago, cockles1987 said:

Are you willing or have the balls to own up publicly to the p!sh you write at times?

If not. How can you call out others for there, in your mind perceived wrong doing?

The police and stewards have been getting involved. Did I imagine all of that?

Are you actually equating my posts on a forum with activities which result in police and stewarding interventions?

6 hours ago, cockles1987 said:

Are you willing or have the balls to own up publicly to the p!sh you write at times?

If not. How can you call out others for there, in your mind perceived wrong doing?

Can't get my head round Oaksoft's way of thinking very very strange.

Here's the thing. I get the club wanting to check a banner to make sure it isn't something that could be regarded as offensive or criminal in nature, but beyond that it is none of their damn business what message the fans want to project, they have absolutely NO business taking any action or confiscating a banner like this. None.

The Club only want the Home support to display banners in support of the Club. Nothing else. Simple rule to follow. It is just stupid when you are told not to proceed then go ahead anyway. You end up alienating yourself from self inflicted wounds. You may not agree with the rule but that is what is in force.