Jump to content

Sign in to follow this  
Dibbles old paperboy

The International Rangers v St Mirren - 2nd February 2019

Recommended Posts


1 hour ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Probably not going to be a popular view on here, but I don’t think Defoe dived. Well, not in a way as to con the ref on a premeditated basis. I think he genuinely did “anticipate contact” and went down in a reactive way, immediately got back up when he realised there had been no contact and chased after the ball. Not the slightest hint of a claim. 

I don’t hold Defoe responsible at all for that penalty. I hold Dallas 100% responsible for either an inexplicably incompetent decision or for being a corrupt, cheating khunt. Only Dallas knows which of those is true. 

He "stumbled " which is quite an achievment . Dallas knew exactly what he was doing. the 5th pen, would have been a world record but he actually missed it waving to Mr King

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Probably not going to be a popular view on here, but I don’t think Defoe dived. Well, not in a way as to con the ref on a premeditated basis. I think he genuinely did “anticipate contact” and went down in a reactive way, immediately got back up when he realised there had been no contact and chased after the ball. Not the slightest hint of a claim. 

I don’t hold Defoe responsible at all for that penalty. I hold Dallas 100% responsible for either an inexplicably incompetent decision or for being a corrupt, cheating khunt. Only Dallas knows which of those is true. 

Dallas doesn't have any decision to make if Defoe stays on his feet. I thought he went down easily for the first penalty, Erhahon sticks his foot out, contact is made but its not a kick or trip, and he goes down at the slightest contact... in the 80's players would have been embarrassed to go to ground over such an innocuous challenge - these days its a stonewall penalty.

And at the other side of the equation there is a big debate about whether Tansey's hands were in an un-natural position for the handball. I'd readily suggest that as a good modern day striker Defoe was in an un-natural position for the 1st 2 penalties in hitting the deck when there is slight contact or no contact.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Probably not going to be a popular view on here, but I don’t think Defoe dived. Well, not in a way as to con the ref on a premeditated basis. I think he genuinely did “anticipate contact” and went down in a reactive way, immediately got back up when he realised there had been no contact and chased after the ball. Not the slightest hint of a claim. 

I don’t hold Defoe responsible at all for that penalty. I hold Dallas 100% responsible for either an inexplicably incompetent decision or for being a corrupt, cheating khunt. Only Dallas knows which of those is true. 

I thought this until I looked back. I now think Dallas was so quick to blow the whistle Defoe thought he was being punished for the dive and tried to limit his punishment by immediately getting back up. He was mistakenly thinking a reasonable, honest referee was in charge and he  was in danger of being cautioned.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×