Michael Stewart on BBC Scotland

What mystifies me is posters insisting, despite all the results and evidence to the contrary that we have improved this season.?

an improvement would be sitting in tenth spot with a four point or more gap on 11th. If Oran can get there, then... he will have improved us. If he avoids relegation in the play offs, then he has at least steadied us. If we drop straight down, then he has had a fortune to play with and been unable to turn that backing into results. In that scenario it would make no sense to give him more money and the opportunity next season.

40 minutes ago, spankin_panda said:

He sent a further response to me around how we need to build momentum from this etc. 

Tbh, I don't mind Michael, he at least attempts to be balanced, I was just more curious about how this opinion was formed.

I like him also always balanced and to the point. 

16 hours ago, FTOF said:

There was some walloper(other than Tam Cowan and Stuart Cosgrove) on Off the ball yesterday who said the fans were chanting Jim Goodwin's name when we were 2-0 down, which indicated that the fans wanted him in charge rather than OK.

I don't remember hearing anything along those lines at all.

Sure I heard a few chants, but think it was at the start of the game when the teams came out.

6 hours ago, spankin_panda said:

He sent a further response to me around how we need to build momentum from this etc. 

Tbh, I don't mind Michael, he at least attempts to be balanced, I was just more curious about how this opinion was formed.

Fair play to him on responding. As IOBS stated looking from the outside can give off some false beliefs. We had those condemning us for ousting Stubbs but most of us agree it was needed. Outsiders may think Kearney has been shite but we’ve seen a different St Mirren and we’ve seen a better quality of player come in since the moment we signed big Anton. After all I wouldn’t claim to know more about Hibs than a Hibs fan or know more about Killie than a Killie fan, even if I was a journo. It can be difficult looking in from the outside and sometimes you just go on assumption.

7 hours ago, Lord Pityme said:

What mystifies me is posters insisting, despite all the results and evidence to the contrary that we have improved this season.?

an improvement would be sitting in tenth spot with a four point or more gap on 11th. If Oran can get there, then... he will have improved us. If he avoids relegation in the play offs, then he has at least steadied us. If we drop straight down, then he has had a fortune to play with and been unable to turn that backing into results. In that scenario it would make no sense to give him more money and the opportunity next season.

B)

Tonight's patter was the usual on radio Scotland. All it allows is for pundits to try and get a reaction. If anyone should have been annoyed by it would the focus not be more on the suggestion that big gus was brought in with the clear intention of being there to take over as soon as? Filling airtime more like and trying to show balance by mentioning some of the diddy teams instead of their usual worship of old firm

17 minutes ago, the barrhead teacher said:

Tonight's patter was the usual on radio Scotland. All it allows is for pundits to try and get a reaction. If anyone should have been annoyed by it would the focus not be more on the suggestion that big gus was brought in with the clear intention of being there to take over as soon as? Filling airtime more like and trying to show balance by mentioning some of the diddy teams instead of their usual worship of old firm

Yeah, the presenter (McDonald?) said “plenty of St Mirren fans want Goodwin as manager.” Aye, but not right now. Context ya fanny.

Listening tonight and just wondered why no journalist has ever dug deeper on the Stubbs ‘era’? Instead of passing comment on his treatment, maybe they could find the real story? Perhaps they could uncover something inherently wrong with fitba?

But naw, that would mean doing some work.

12 hours ago, aldo_j said:

Yeah, the presenter (McDonald?) said “plenty of St Mirren fans want Goodwin as manager.” Aye, but not right now. Context ya fanny.

Listening tonight and just wondered why no journalist has ever dug deeper on the Stubbs ‘era’? Instead of passing comment on his treatment, maybe they could find the real story? Perhaps they could uncover something inherently wrong with fitba?

But naw, that would mean doing some work.

I keep hearing this about something not quite right that will come out in the wash. 

Pretty intriguing tbh.

18 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

I think we will only ever hear the 'sacked for non footballing reasons' mentioned, but like unicorns and rocking horse shit the actual facts will somehow mysteriously drift away.... 

So what are worried about - YOU don't deal in ANY of these   :toilet

15 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

I think we will only ever hear the 'sacked for non footballing reasons' mentioned, but like unicorns and rocking horse shit the actual facts will somehow mysteriously drift away....

Dont know what went on but have read from a few source online that it will come out why Stubbs got sacked. Fitzpatrick touches on it in his autobiography. Stubbs read online McIntyre was lined up to replace Stubbs. Stubbs phones Fitzpatrick asking if this was true. Tony told Stubbs it was not true. To cut it short Stubbs asked Tony to phone the directors which came to an ultimatum from Stubbs the board rejected his ultimatum. 

5 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

Dont know what went on but have read from a few source online that it will come out why Stubbs got sacked. Fitzpatrick touches on it in his autobiography. Stubbs read online McIntyre was lined up to replace Stubbs. Stubbs phones Fitzpatrick asking if this was true. Tony told Stubbs it was not true. To cut it short Stubbs asked Tony to phone the directors which came to an ultimatum from Stubbs the board rejected his ultimatum. 

Whatever - Thank Fu*k he is away . . . :turtle

8 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

Evidently it wasn't true and the man's history.

7 minutes ago, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

Yeah, but that is all known, and was reported in the press at the time. What we keep hearing is there is " other, non football/results reasons for him getting the sack" but nothing ever materlises, and history shows us its likely nothing ever will.

in short its a bit of a ruse to try and deflect from the huge clusterf**k the board made in appointing, then sacking him after what? Three months..

1 hour ago, Lord Pityme said:

Yeah, but that is all known, and was reported in the press at the time. What we keep hearing is there is " other, non football/results reasons for him getting the sack" but nothing ever materlises, and history shows us its likely nothing ever will.

in short its a bit of a ruse to try and deflect from the huge clusterf**k the board made in appointing, then sacking him after what? Three months..

I agree the board need to shoulder the blame in the whole thing also. 

However, wasn't there something re: Josh Heaton? I heard a rumor, maybe read it on here actually, that there was some alternative narrative to his signing. Anyway, like you say it could all be bullshit and hearsay, intriguing none the less.