W7/North Bank Treatment

NB18

Oaky,

I’m with you on a lot of the stuff you say on this topic. Particularly the “no smoke without fire” theory and the fact that clearly (however small maybe) there is something wrong in that group of fans. However, I’ve got to take issue with two things:-

1. How can you possibly label other fans “cowards” for not dobbing in any alleged offenders, whilst at the same time excusing the very people who are actually paid to do that job (minimum wage or otherwise), by saying they were probably feart to do so. That is bonkers bud.

2. No matter what the facts of this matter turn out to be, that club statement is worthy of all the adjectives that have been applied to it. A utter, amateur, shambolic, humiliatingly embarrassing, PR balls up of the highest order. Amateur being probably the most relevant of all.

Hundreds of people in that direct vicinity all struck down with a mystery temporary blindness and deafness between the hours of 3pm and 5pm. Hmmm. You are right though. It might not be cowardice. It might simply be collusion.

I have no idea if these allegations are true or not however what I cannot get my head round are the logistics of the incident.  A DU fan was unconscious (where - presumably in their end ?) and why ? and how on earth can anyone spit on someone in the away stand if they are in a different stand. That seems bizarre in the extreme. Having been at the game I am surprised not to have noticed any of this but as I say that doesn't mean it didn't happen it just seems a very odd incident !

4 minutes ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

I have no idea if these allegations are true or not however what I cannot get my head round are the logistics of the incident.  A DU fan was unconscious (where - presumably in their end ?) and why ? and how on earth can anyone spit on someone in the away stand if they are in a different stand. That seems bizarre in the extreme. Having been at the game I am surprised not to have noticed any of this but as I say that doesn't mean it didn't happen it just seems a very odd incident !

Read the statement properly then come back and confirm what a fud you are! It's really very simple.

26 minutes ago, Mr Optimistic said:

Read the statement properly then come back and confirm what a fud you are! It's really very simple.

I was responding to the article as posted on the BBC news - it was clearly paraphrasing our full article. I assumed (clearly wrongly) that the BBC were publishing the article we had and that is now obvious to me that it was not the case.  No need for any of your personal abuse, had I seen the clubs full press release I would have known the facts !!!

I still never noticed any of this during the game but then again I tend not to watch the crowd but what were those paid to do so i.e. the police and stewards doing when all this was happening ?  Seems pointless us paying for them to be there if they miss something as serious as this !

Edited by Ayrshire Saints

17 minutes ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

Agreed, it does seem rather odd indeed.

However that said this incident is disgusting and I condemn the assailant and all his/her little fandan friends.

I do hope that the proper authorities are allowed to exert the required control and bring this sub human coward to justice.  Indeed if the decision were mine I would drag the coward through the streets of Paisley with both feet tied to a pony.  Decent people would be allowed to throw vegetables and rocks at the coward (but not the pony).  The coward would then be delivered to a specially commissioned altar stone temporarily placed on the centre circle at new Love Street.  Tony Fitzpatrick would then be invited to crush the cowards head under a jackboot with "authority" written thereon.  His/her brain matter would be left to dissipate into the grass (good plant feed I would imagine) whilst all the righteous little cowards friends gaze on, frightened to complain via social media lest the jackboot of authority be released upon them!!!!

If Tony Fitzpatrick is unavailable/unwilling perhaps the Panda can don the jackboot of authority!

But alas the decision is not mine.  Perhaps we should berate the authorities for daring to supervise our fanbase and perhaps offer cuddles to those who break the law in such a cowardly fashion.  Perhaps the jackbooted panda is just a crazy dream...........just a dream indeed.

Edited by TediousTom

16 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Hundreds of people in that direct vicinity all struck down with a mystery temporary blindness and deafness between the hours of 3pm and 5pm. Hmmm. You are right though. It might not be cowardice. It might simply be collusion.

In fairness, officer, almost all of the 2500 Saints fans at the Simple Digital Arena on Saturday had their head in their hands greeting their eyes oot between 3pm and 5pm. I know I did.

I clearly fail to understand what is happening here. Due no doubt to my lack of intelligence and/or my advancing years. To me it is simple. The club wants fans to attend games, home and away, and to support the team noisily and colourfuly within the law, the rules laid down by the SPFL and by the club bearing in mind not only the enjoyment of spectators but also their health and safety for which they have a legal duty. W7 occupants cannot be exempt from the standards required of any other fans of St. Mirren attending games. I do'n't for one moment brand everyone in W7 as a troublemaker but there does appear to be evidence that some in W7 seem determined to flout the rules and in the process, perhaps unwittingly, damage the reputation of St Mirren as a Community and Family Club for the whole of the Paisley catchment area. Their case is not helped by social media posts of private correspondence from the club and even less so by supposed "joking" claims to have been involved in fighting. Give up guys. I would be pretty certain that you are in real danger of losing the support of the bulk of fans. Claims of Bad Eyesight or Nelson Like Claims of "I saw no xxxxx" Dont wash. Get back to what you were doing well. You are not the St Mirren support. You are a small part of that support. Don't blow it. I want you back.

29 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

And as stated, the police, stewards and “state of the art” cctv must have temporary blindness!! Stop trying to make it out as if people know who it was and covering up for some wee fud. I know a fair few of the boys involved in that section and nobody seems to know, I don’t want it at our stadium and neither do they. Why employ stewards, and pay for police if they can’t do their job right !! Why are stewards escorting a full family right down the home end when it made perfect sense to let them out the side entrance, it was like setting said idiot up to do these actions!! The statement today was even worse. Shambolic from the club!! 

National news now when nobody really outside the club was talking about it yesterday.

Total own goal!

Well since the club have started a shit storm by releasing that statement - I think it's only fair that they release the footage they have so that people can try to make sense of it?
"Numerous St Mirren fans spitting on and throwing coins at an unconscious United fan", should be pretty easy to see, even on grainy/shite footage. 
Get the footage released.

I agree with this. If this incident happened fellow fans are far more likely to be able to identify the perpetrators from grainy footage than the authorities are. Then we can get the (alleged) cunts kicked out of our club.

19 minutes ago, St.Ricky said:

I clearly fail to understand what is happening here. Due no doubt to my lack of intelligence and/or my advancing years. To me it is simple. The club wants fans to attend games, home and away, and to support the team noisily and colourfuly within the law, the rules laid down by the SPFL and by the club bearing in mind not only the enjoyment of spectators but also their health and safety for which they have a legal duty. W7 occupants cannot be exempt from the standards required of any other fans of St. Mirren attending games. I do'n't for one moment brand everyone in W7 as a troublemaker but there does appear to be evidence that some in W7 seem determined to flout the rules and in the process, perhaps unwittingly, damage the reputation of St Mirren as a Community and Family Club for the whole of the Paisley catchment area. Their case is not helped by social media posts of private correspondence from the club and even less so by supposed "joking" claims to have been involved in fighting. Give up guys. I would be pretty certain that you are in real danger of losing the support of the bulk of fans. Claims of Bad Eyesight or Nelson Like Claims of "I saw no xxxxx" Dont wash. Get back to what you were doing well. You are not the St Mirren support. You are a small part of that support. Don't blow it. I want you back.

Those will be the same rules and regulations the club actively REWARDED the OF for breaking by giving even more of them the unchallenged opportunity to do so this season. Double standards !

2 hours ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Oaky,

I’m with you on a lot of the stuff you say on this topic. Particularly the “no smoke without fire” theory and the fact that clearly (however small maybe) there is something wrong in that group of fans. However, I’ve got to take issue with two things:-

1. How can you possibly label other fans “cowards” for not dobbing in any alleged offenders, whilst at the same time excusing the very people who are actually paid to do that job (minimum wage or otherwise), by saying they were probably feart to do so. That is bonkers bud.

2. No matter what the facts of this matter turn out to be, that club statement is worthy of all the adjectives that have been applied to it. A utter, amateur, shambolic, humiliatingly embarrassing, PR balls up of the highest order. Amateur being probably the most relevant of all.

I didn't actually answer your questions. :lol:

I'll try again.

On point one, all people have to do is note who is causing the trouble and anonymously report them to the club. The problem is you have people with billyg's attitude who wouldn't report anything to the club or the police if his "life depended on it". I am not advocating getting involved with these animals on the day.

On point two, by far the most important thing is the conduct of these fans and the bewidering levels of coverup by fans around them. Criticising the club's PR is simply trying to deflect from that. There's a time and place for having a go at the club over what is happening. This isn't it IMO.

1 minute ago, Ayrshire Saints said:

Those will be the same rules and regulations the club actively REWARDED the OF for breaking by giving even more of them the unchallenged opportunity to do so this season. Double standards !

And I would expect the same standards of behaviour to be applied. Its about time.

14 minutes ago, mattman said:

And as stated, the police, stewards and “state of the art” cctv must have temporary blindness!! Stop trying to make it out as if people know who it was and covering up for some wee fud. I know a fair few of the boys involved in that section and nobody seems to know, I don’t want it at our stadium and neither do they. Why employ stewards, and pay for police if they can’t do their job right !! Why are stewards escorting a full family right down the home end when it made perfect sense to let them out the side entrance, it was like setting said idiot up to do these actions!! The statement today was even worse. Shambolic from the club!! 

National news now when nobody really outside the club was talking about it yesterday.

Total own goal!

You are trying to deflect from the real issue which is the handful of animals in that section.

I'm not getting into side discussions about PR and the quality of CCTV when we have fans spitting on opposing fans, arranging fights and chucking stuff onto the pitch.