Why has the Director of Football failed?

22 hours ago, Kemp said:

Care to elaborate?

Who is doing Livingston's scouting? They seem to consistently manage to find players that fit in to a system they are good at. Taken them from League 1 to beating the Champions in the Premier League. The only constant with the strikers we sign is they cannae shoot.

Jim Goodwin has been badly let down by Gordon Scott's shambolic handling of Oran Kearney and an inept recruitment system. 

Exactly, as laid out in your opening post there was no continuity this summer, the DoF role as described by GLS in his article upon MacPherson's appointment failed. I don't even know why anyone would want to contest this, all part of "the masterplan" - LMFAO!. 

We can only hope JGs strategy & signings come good as the season progresses..

1 hour ago, Bud the Baker said:

Exactly, as laid out in your opening post there was no continuity this summer, the DoF role as described by GLS in his article upon MacPherson's appointment failed. I don't even know why anyone would want to contest this, all part of "the masterplan" - LMFAO!. 

We can only hope JGs strategy & signings come good as the season progresses..

His interview clearly said the role Was still to be defined, so to reference back to it as evidence it has failed is simply wrong. 

Regardless, To say it’s failed at this point of the season still makes no sense whatsoever. It was a clear success in January & we still have 30 games this season to see if it has worked this summer. 

2 hours ago, bazil85 said:

His interview clearly said the role Was still to be defined, so to reference back to it as evidence it has failed is simply wrong. 

Regardless, To say it’s failed at this point of the season still makes no sense whatsoever. It was a clear success in January & we still have 30 games this season to see if it has worked this summer. 

Unfortunately what GLS said was inconsistent

"The board have a vision of how they want the club to develop. At present, we have a plan but not the manpower to define and execute it.

"Gus is someone I worked with closely when I was on the board previously and he has the experience and knowledge we are looking for in the newly created role."

Chairman Gordon Scott said the new structure was introduced because "we have learned lessons" in recent months.

"We want to have someone within the football department who will be a constant presence," he told his club website.

The idea that plan was still to be defined or that the club still lacked the manpower to execute it after MacPherson's appointment to "newly created role/structure" is either naïve or pedantic - what "lessons" do you think GLS was referring to if not to have a signing policy that wouldn't be derailed by a change of management at the club?

MacPherson clearly failed to provide the "constant presence" that Scott mentioned this summer as dealings came to a standstill between Kearney's departure and Goodwin's appointment - a policy which clearly changed upon the latter's arrival. It's not me labelling MacPherson a failure but GLS courtesy of his remarks at the time of MacPherson's appointment. 

I'm willing to put my interpretation of GLSs statement against yours - the DoF role failed this summer there was no masterplan and no amount of deflection, pedantry, or internet tropes from you will change this.

Hopefully we can all agree that the new policy instigated by JG starts to bear fruit soon rather than using it as a stick to beat fellow posters - there's nothing positive about that!

Looking forward to your reply Flipper85!

On 10/6/2019 at 5:21 PM, Isle Of Bute Saint said:

What a load of nonsense.  When Jim came in there was a list of players . Goodwin made it clear it was who he wanted in on buddie vision. He said a few times it will take time and patience go get the right player my players he said. Goodwin has in my understanding set up talent spotters in Ireland and England. 

The nonsense is coming from you IOBS. Do you honestly think JG even knew who Morias and Obika were before taking the St Mirren job? Do you think he came in thinking those two League 2 cast offs are what we need to be successful?

We were left desperately trying to bring players in after the season had started, and we signed the best that was on our radar. 

He absolutely did not "make clear who he wanted on Buddie Vision" before signing Durmus, Junior and Obika :lol: This is complete IOBS fantasy land stuff as usual.

Where you are correct is he stated we need to expand our scouting in Ireland and England. Lets hope he is the man to organise this properly, because Gordon Scott and Gus MacPherson clearly haven't done it.

14 hours ago, Bud the Baker said:

Unfortunately what GLS said was inconsistent

The idea that plan was still to be defined or that the club still lacked the manpower to execute it after MacPherson's appointment to "newly created role/structure" is either naïve or pedantic - what "lessons" do you think GLS was referring to if not to have a signing policy that wouldn't be derailed by a change of management at the club?

MacPherson clearly failed to provide the "constant presence" that Scott mentioned this summer as dealings came to a standstill between Kearney's departure and Goodwin's appointment - a policy which clearly changed upon the latter's arrival. It's not me labelling MacPherson a failure but GLS courtesy of his remarks at the time of MacPherson's appointment. 

I'm willing to put my interpretation of GLSs statement against yours - the DoF role failed this summer there was no masterplan and no amount of deflection, pedantry, or internet tropes from you will change this.

Hopefully we can all agree that the new policy instigated by JG starts to bear fruit soon rather than using it as a stick to beat fellow posters - there's nothing positive about that!

Looking forward to your reply Flipper85!

The model has not failed, that’s not to say it will not fail. I have not said GLS has a fool proof plan to completely combat the risk of us getting relegated or not progressing as a football club. You just once again show a vendetta against Gus & GlS for whatever reason  

You've put your eggs in this basket as early as July/ August & I have no doubt you’ll stick with it. Whether you like it or not though you can’t make a claim it has failed based on that article because the role wasn’t defined. That is an absolute stop block for your point. 

As for Gus time since he’s been here. 

January - hugely successful window 

summer - we have made a more positive start than the last league campaign & are only just into October. A claim our recruitment has failed is far too premature. 

As you will see with the rest of my posts, complete consistency. Your school boy antics of claiming something you want to believe then not being able to back it up don’t combat that. Another day another fail to find a flip. Maybe tomorrow 😁

30 minutes ago, Kemp said:

:lol::lol::lol:

image.png.492a662d1bfa0e747641078869055638.png

I never said everything is positive, I said we’ve made a more positive start. It’s typical of some St Moan fans to jump the gun & assume the absolute worst far too early. Let’s not forget the laughable lot calling for OK to be sacked before Christmas 🤣

I never said everything is positive, I said we’ve made a more positive start. It’s typical of some St Moan fans to jump the gun & assume the absolute worst far too early. Let’s not forget the laughable lot calling for OK to be sacked before Christmas [emoji1787]
Sorry Baz, you f**ked up again there. You appear to be praising OK, and that's contrary to your stance on the sun shining out Scott's arse on anything.
Must do better Baz its turned into a Turkey Shoot, and you ain't the one with the gun!

1 minute ago, Lord Pityme said:

Dear God the numpty is now actually arguing that black is white.
He really does circle the wagons against any post pointing out how much he f**ks himself up the Gary Glitter.
Get some Vas Baz... at least it will ease the tearing

No one has shown anything you have just said. More wrong information from you.

BTB quoted an article that clearly says the role hasn’t been defined. If this was the other way around & was pro GLS you would be all over it due to your hatred for all things SMFC BOD. 

Must pain you that we have factually progressed every season under your nemesis 😁

1 minute ago, Lord Pityme said:

Sorry Baz, you f**ked up again there. You appear to be praising OK, and that's contrary to your stance on the sun shining out Scott's arse on anything.
Must do better Baz its turned into a Turkey Shoot, and you ain't the one with the gun!

More nonsense. OK deserves plenty of praise for what he did here. GLS also deserves praise for the great job he has done at SMFC during the buy the buds campaign. 

We know you have a very us vs them attitude as someone who is anti St Mirren but believe it or not it doesn’t have to be that way. Their public spat over OK leaving is irrelevant in both of their jobs while here. 

Good effort but again wrong, just like your season ticket way down dream. Ouch 

@bazil85 Strip away the deflection, pedantry and internet tropes and there's absolutely nothing in your post - as for "schoolboy antics" that's your specialist subject Flipper. :1eye

The role was defined by our Chairman was to provide a "continuous presence" and it clearly failed this summer - let's look at the opening line of this thread. 

This window at least, having a "Director of Football to ensure stability even if there is a management change" has been a complete failure.

My interpretation is Case Proved but feel free to keep on digging that hole, your interpretation that GLS hired MacPherson with no defined purpose is actually a pretty damning condemnation of GLS but then again that's the sort of contrary position you find yourself in when you dedicate yourself to supporting a temporary office holder and not the club - your naïve & incorrect defence of GLS is by far the most negative contribution to this thread.

[mention=8643]bazil85[/mention] Strip away the deflection, pedantry and internet tropes and there absolutely nothing in your post - "schoolboy antics" that's your specialist subject Flipper. :1eye
The role was defined by our Chairman was to provide a "continuous presence" and it clearly failed this summer - let's look a the opening line of this thread. 
  This window at least, having a "Director of Football to ensure stability even if there is a management change" has been a complete failure.
My interpretation is Case Proved but feel free to keep on digging that hole, your interpretation that GLS hired MacPherson with no clear purpose is actually a pretty damning condemnation of GLS but then again that's the sort of contrary position you find yourself in when you dedicate yourself to supporting a temporary office holder and not the club - your naïve & incorrect defence of GLS is by far the most negative contribution to this thread.

C'mon a blind man can see that Scott hired Gus for no apparent reason or benefit at all!
Sorry but I am with The Baz-Tard on this one. Lol

More nonsense. OK deserves plenty of praise for what he did here. GLS also deserves praise for the great job he has done at SMFC during the buy the buds campaign. 
We know you have a very us vs them attitude as someone who is anti St Mirren but believe it or not it doesn’t have to be that way. Their public spat over OK leaving is irrelevant in both of their jobs while here. 
Good effort but again wrong, just like your season ticket way down dream. Ouch 
Five managers in..!
Scott is balls deep in his cock ups and ego.

12 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

@bazil85 Strip away the deflection, pedantry and internet tropes and there's absolutely nothing in your post - as for "schoolboy antics" that's your specialist subject Flipper. :1eye

The role was defined by our Chairman was to provide a "continuous presence" and it clearly failed this summer - let's look at the opening line of this thread. 

My interpretation is Case Proved but feel free to keep on digging that hole, your interpretation that GLS hired MacPherson with no defined purpose is actually a pretty damning condemnation of GLS but then again that's the sort of contrary position you find yourself in when you dedicate yourself to supporting a temporary office holder and not the club - your naïve & incorrect defence of GLS is by far the most negative contribution to this thread.

Strip away all that stuff & my post is exactly the same because there is none. 

If this is your claim then 

1. There still has been a continued presence. GM even took some training before Goodwin came in. Unless you have evidence we could have signed better/ equal players sooner your claim it has ‘failed’ is baseless 

2. What do you think he meant by the role still needing defined?

Defending a guy that’s moving us to fan ownership for not a penny personal gain & has factually moved the club forward every season is negative 🤣 has your weekend release run over? 

9 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Five managers in..!
Scott is balls deep in his cock ups and ego.

Alex Rae - not his appointment, correct call to sack

Jack Ross - powerless to stop 

Alan Stubbs - absolutely a mistake on the boards & GLS part, well done to them for acting quickly to rectify 

OK - Still an unknown who was to blame, personally think neither covered themselves in glory & will likely be shared not just one side  

Don't let some additional relevant information get the way of your high level hatred. 

What testament to GLS character that even through all this turmoil & some fans desperate for him to fail he’s still managed to move our club forward. HOF bound IMO.  

9 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

Strip away all that stuff & my post is exactly the same because there is none. 

If this is your claim then 

1. There still has been a continued presence. GM even took some training before Goodwin came in. Unless you have evidence we could have signed better/ equal players sooner your claim it has ‘failed’ is baseless 

2. What do you think he meant by the role still needing defined?

Defending a guy that’s moving us to fan ownership for not a penny personal gain & has factually moved the club forward every season is negative 🤣 has your weekend release run over? 

Everything there has already been dealt with Flipper - but feel free to continue with your negative drivel! :1eye

Alternatively you could try this site to help deal with your negativity.

http://www.thelawofattraction.com/5-techniques-stop-negative-thinking/

Just now, cockles1987 said:

Can't wait till we own the club, and wouldn't be surprised if we asked and voted for GLS to stay on for a year or two.

I can feel the heat from the meltdown already. emoji23.png

LPM has already went on record many times that BTB will not be a success & that GLS being at the club isn’t a good thing. He’s even made rally calls that have been near universally ignored 🤣

What he has done for the club I would be delighted if he stays on longer & can see that getting a very strong approval if it went to a vote. (Future dependent of course). The fact it would outrage Lord Moan would just be a bonus. 

11 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

Everything there has already been dealt with Flipper - but feel free to continue with your negative drivel! :1eye

Where have you dealt with the still to be defined? Seems like you’re avoiding this because you don’t have an answer... standard 

8 minutes ago, bazil85 said:

Where have you dealt with the still to be defined? Seems like you’re avoiding this because you don’t have an answer... standard 

In my previous posts, try reading them - maybe then you'll be able to start making some positive comments about the club!

Alex Rae - not his appointment, correct call to sack
Jack Ross - powerless to stop 
Alan Stubbs - absolutely a mistake on the boards & GLS part, well done to them for acting quickly to rectify 
OK - Still an unknown who was to blame, personally think neither covered themselves in glory & will likely be shared not just one side  
Don't let some additional relevant information get the way of your high level hatred. 
What testament to GLS character that even through all this turmoil & some fans desperate for him to fail he’s still managed to move our club forward. HOF bound IMO.  
This was going so well until the last sentence on GLS for hall of fame. I suspect that's just a wee bit if fishing though [emoji1]

12 minutes ago, Bud the Baker said:

In my previous posts, try reading them - maybe then you'll be able to start making some positive comments about the club!

Your previous posts do not specifically say what you think he meant around the not defined comment. You speak about the rest of the article as if it was defined but completely ignore that sentence as it proves you wrong. 

No luck. 😁

2 minutes ago, TPAFKATS said:

This was going so well until the last sentence on GLS for hall of fame. I suspect that's just a wee bit if fishing though emoji1.png

Maybe a wee bit lol. but it would certainly get my support & I'm sure others. 

If we are still fan owned in 50, 100, 200 years surely some recognition for the people that made it possible is justified?