Hibs v St Mirren 3/8/19

6 hours ago, Dibbles old paperboy said:

It's too early to read much into the performance or result or how the new signings did. 1 year ago Stubbs' team did well away to Kilmarnock in the League Cup and beat Dundee at home in the first league game and Danny Mullen was the top scorer in the league.

To a certain extent I agree but the big difference in the performance against the shambles that was the league cup group that should give something more than blind faith.

Dundee were, IMO, always a team we should have seen as points whereas Hibs, although we do have a decent record against them, are not, especially away from home.

It's early days and ultimately it's all about points.

Hope we don't end up in trouble by one point at the end of the season right enough. :wink:

To a certain extent I agree but the big difference in the performance against the shambles that was the league cup group that should give something more than blind faith.

Dundee were, IMO, always a team we should have seen as points whereas Hibs, although we do have a decent record against them, are not, especially away from home.

It's early days and ultimately it's all about points.

Hope we don't end up in trouble by one point at the end of the season right enough. :wink:

Also to be fair, we stole the points against Dundee with them missing a penalty. 

16 hours ago, TopCat said:

Agree regarding S McGinn. We are clearly a much better team without him.

But if these boys were in sooner...? We would have won the league cup group and be away in Parkhead next Tuesday...?

🤨

And that is the real issue here, these new players had all been available for over a month, some two months, but we only land them a day or two before our first league game. That, considering we have a DoF supposedly dedicated to bringing quality (moneyball) players to the club is inexcusable!

the chairman's hard on for chasing Oran out, and the DoF's lack of activity have cost us league cup progression, and put us at a disadvantage against most teams in this league where we are playing catch up from day one.

Aberdeen and the **** will not be as goal shy as Hibs, we will suffer greater losses against them, and be looking at the Livi game as our first potential positive result. If we dont get it there we will have a worse start than last season, and the sheer stupidity at board level for failing to learn from their own mistakes and self harm, will be the root cause!

Having watched the highlights on Buddievision, that is a very different team from the one that underperformed so badly in the league cup.

At times it looked as if we were the home team. The number of times we broke down the wing and played meaningful balls into the box was extremely encouraging.

Some fantastic passes were made, and on another day, with more composed finishing we might have got a draw. However, at the end of the day it's three points lost, although I thought we would lose by three or four yesterday. Glad to be proved wrong on that count.

I though Durmus looks a fine acquisition, and Andreu made a couple of defence splitting passes. Difficult to tell with the others, but overall we actually looked like a decent team.

If, as is predicted, we bring in another four or five players next week, and they are of a similar quality as last week's, we could actually have a relatively enjoyable season.😲

Just a pity that the powers that be fannied about so long in getting shot of our former manager.☹️

33 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

And that is the real issue here, these new players had all been available for over a month, some two months, but we only land them a day or two before our first league game. That, considering we have a DoF supposedly dedicated to bringing quality (moneyball) players to the club is inexcusable!

Bollox - for reasons I laid out in several earlier posts.

10/10 for misguided perseverance, though.

32 minutes ago, antrin said:

Bollox - for reasons I laid out in several earlier posts.

10/10 for misguided perseverance, though.

Please tell me how all the other clubs in this league and below have secured the majority of their signings weeks before us?

is it just hard for us? Ffs man wake up and smell the awfy! Even with a dedicated Director we are weeks behind our competitors. That is a fact!

15 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Please tell me how all the other clubs in this league and below have secured the majority of their signings weeks before us?

is it just hard for us? Ffs man wake up and smell the awfy! Even with a dedicated Director we are weeks behind our competitors. That is a fact!

It’s also a fact that “our competitors” appear to have secured less worthy signings as they clutched at straws.  Saints have been patient in securing their targets.  It has been a good window which is still not shut...

only an idiot would buy something quickly due to panic, rather than preference.  I seriously thought folk like yourself might have calmed down after yesterday’s display by the team...  featuring the not-panic purchases that have been made.

a few Scots fitba commentators have noted that the Fakes now have less quality than last year.  So much for them being “weeks ahead” of Saints. They’re certainly ahead of Saints in that race to the bottom.

8 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

We might be weeks behind in terms of recruitment,  but yesterday's performance was as good as any at Easter Road in recent years. We still have some players to come in yes, but we have now shown we are more than competitive against arguably one of the best teams in league. I'm now looking forward to the final few pieces of the jigsaw to arrive and the season ahead.

Played well yesterday and deserved a point. Thought all the new boys looked good.

Spoke to Stephen McGinn after the game and he said he's got an injury that'll keep him out for a few weeks.

Think a central midfield 3 of McGinn, Flynn and Foley would be solid as f**k.

38 minutes ago, munoz said:

We might be weeks behind in terms of recruitment,  but yesterday's performance was as good as any at Easter Road in recent years. We still have some players to come in yes, but we have now shown we are more than competitive against arguably one of the best teams in league. I'm now looking forward to the final few pieces of the jigsaw to arrive and the season ahead.

I think that may be over playing it a bit. We were better organised, we have some! Better players. But we still lost to an out of sorts Hibs side. The next three games will give us a more accurate measure of where we are at.

in addition we will be losing Hladky this month, without whom we would be in tbe championship now!

2 hours ago, gstretchuk said:

Defeat is a defeat im afraid...we all knew it was happening and didn't do much to address it until far to late...Hibs were a stonewall certainty yesterday..1-0, 10-0...doesn't matter...

As McEnroe would say 'you cannot be serious'.  Nobody expected us to even compete; never mind win after the earlier poor results and even with some new faces on board who had less than a week to gel most fans would have been happy with any type of a performance whereby we did not get humiliated.  We got that and more and were slightly unlucky not to steal a point, I thought the whole team performed. 😎

5 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

I think that may be over playing it a bit. We were better organised, we have some! Better players. But we still lost to an out of sorts Hibs side. The next three games will give us a more accurate measure of where we are at.

in addition we will be losing Hladky this month, without whom we would be in tbe championship now!

Losing Hladky? I assume your statement of fact is based on a possibility that we receive an offer for a player under contract we cannot refuse? If we do lose him then sobeit. Life goes on and he will be replaced.

Edited by nedflanders123

45 minutes ago, antrin said:

It’s also a fact that “our competitors” appear to have secured less worthy signings as they clutched at straws.  Saints have been patient in securing their targets.  It has been a good window which is still not shut...

only an idiot would buy something quickly due to panic, rather than preference.  I seriously thought folk like yourself might have calmed down after yesterday’s display by the team...  featuring the not-panic purchases that have been made.

a few Scots fitba commentators have noted that the Fakes now have less quality than last year.  So much for them being “weeks ahead” of Saints. They’re certainly ahead of Saints in that race to the bottom.

I dont care about the fakes. But listen to yourself... we signed four players a day or two before our first league game, three of whom it would appear neither the manager or DoF have ever actually saw play! If thats not panic, i dont know what is!

and we still need 3-5 more in just to make a squad, and fill the bench. As i said Hibs were off it yesterday, we werent as poor as the league cup games. But we still lost. The next three games will give a better indication if how we will fare. If we lose comprehensively againt The Dons and sevco, and cant beat Livi, then we wont have improved on last season.

Hladky will be off, we will need a really good replacement, a proper left back, and cover in central defence and up front. All of this will no doubt run the length of August and beyond to resolve, by then we will have steadied or be playing catch up till January yet again.

1 minute ago, Lord Pityme said:
54 minutes ago, antrin said:

I dont care about the fakes. But listen to yourself... we signed four players a day or two before our first league game, three of whom it would appear neither the manager or DoF have ever actually saw play! If thats not panic, i dont know what is!

and we still need 3-5 more in just to make a squad, and fill the bench. As i said Hibs were off it yesterday, we werent as poor as the league cup games. But we still lost. The next three games will give a better indication if how we will fare. If we lose comprehensively againt The Dons and sevco, and cant beat Livi, then we wont have improved on last season.

Hladky will be off, we will need a really good replacement, a proper left back, and cover in central defence and up front. All of this will no doubt run the length of August and beyond to resolve, by then we will have steadied or be playing catch up till January yet again.

Not sure what planet you live on my friend, certainly not one I would wish to visit.  😎

4 minutes ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

Alongside the Dundee goalkeeper handing us our winning goal on a plate.

A lot of goals come from errors, that is how the game has gone for centuries.  Remember Gerard slipping to allow Chelsea to score and ultimately losing the title? Shit happens and Dundee lost over 90 minutes of football.

5 minutes ago, nedflanders123 said:

Losing Hladky? I assume your statement of fact is based on a possibility that we receive an offer for a player under contract we cannot refuse? If we do lose him then sobeit. Life goes on and he will be replaced.

Its a racing certainty. Bet you a sausage sandwich he goes by the end of the window! Or at least one country's window.  

14 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Rather than Hibs being out of sorts, I prefer to think our level of performance stopped them playing. 

4 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

It would appear that DOF or Manager hadn't seen 3 of the new signing or they actually didn't?  Which is it?  How do you know who watched who before signing?  There is no way the club signed any player without due diligence.  

3 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Its a racing certainty. Bet you a sausage sandwich he goes by the end of the window! Or at least one country's window.  

He may do of course but racing certainty?  If he goes then I will thank him for a tremendous season and welcome any replacement - that's been our way for decades. Mind you, any sake will fund bring one or two players back to the club 🙂

7 minutes ago, nedflanders123 said:

A lot of goals come from errors, that is how the game has gone for centuries.  Remember Gerard slipping to allow Chelsea to score and ultimately losing the title? Shit happens and Dundee lost over 90 minutes of football.

You are correct, of course. What I will say is as far as errors go, it was absolutely shocking. The goalkeeper made a total hash of a situation that could have been so easily avoided.

52 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:
59 minutes ago, nedflanders123 said:

I'll send the chauffeur to collect when it fails to materialise, his names James. 😛

Great day out yesterday. Good to see all the buds out in force now the league season has started. Lots of well kent faces in various states of intoxication and the mood amongst the fans was very upbeat.

Captain fantastic, the new Mrs McGinn and their maw also socialising with the fans in the pub pre-match. All good Fun.

The game was very enjoyable too. We played much better than our league cup performances suggested, and the team was right up for it from the start.

McLoughlin looked solid at the back but as a few other pointed out, he needs to work on his distribution. McKenzie teamed up well and I thought Cammy McPherson and McGinn were outstanding at the back. Hladky as ever was in command of his area.

Durmis looked a real threat and a few Hibs fans wondered why we took him off when he looked like our biggest threat. Once he’s properly match fit, He will be a prospect.

Magennis, Andreu and Flynn looked good and Foley was very much a forward player. He was up front and eager to get in about it.

Wee Danny struggled a little and looked like a guy who needs a bit of confidence. Hopefully he scores soon. Okiba was putting himself about and could have made a dream debut but it wasn’t to be. Big Okiba was in the right place at the right time. . We just need him to slot some away. Hopefully we can sort out our strike force and get a few goals on the scoresheet.  Breadner could be a player and Djorkaef put himself about too.

All in all, a far better performance. If they put that much effort in every week the points will come and it could be a very enjoyable season.

Edited by East Lothian Saint