The Jim Goodwin and Lee Sharp Appreciation Thread

3 minutes ago, kevo_smfc said:

Whoever takes on the Aberdeen job has a potential avoid relegation job on their hands this season. and build for next season if that's avoided (never went well for killie).
It's never an overnight job to turn a clubs fortunes.in our budget, I think he has been given great resources to build the squad he has ended up with this season.

These comments suggests that the Aiberdeen job would be perfectly suited to anyBuddie who has experienced St Mirren’s recent decades.  

Great selling job, kevo! :)

The most telling aspect of this wee stramash is the amount of rationality and practical sense is now being registered about Jack Ross’s decision to take the money and run.  I found it hard to understand the venom spouted at a manager who’d done such a good Buddie job, just because he accepted the logical reward offered him.

I, too, would happily have him back as manager.

… and I’m sure I’d not be the only one to expect any StMirren manager to eventually leave in search of securing a financial future.

(unless it was Stubbso.)

Guy over on P/B saying it sounds like Cormack has already spoken to Goodwin and has decided not to pursue it says looks like Goodwin head been turned and is probably looking for gig down south. Probably a lot of shite and will roll out at pittodrie today.

Edited by elvis

Jim's standing as one of the best young managers in Scotland has only been enhanced by our recent excellent run of form.

He's ambitious and, in football management, timing is everything.

If he goes good luck to him.

As many have already mentioned he'll get very little time to sort out the mess at Aberdeen and if he doesn't he could well be on the managerial scrapheap in 12 months.

As for us, HUGE focus on the Board to get the compo sorted and get a successor in who won't totally f**k up the SMFC 2022 juggernaut.

My take on this. Dons can offer  around two to three times his current salary. A no brainier for a man with a family. Added to this….they will IMO escape relegation. They will return to being a top three or four club which reaches cup semis and finals and Europe. From there Jim could step up to a job in England or perhaps in time Celtic. Then again he could stay with the best team in Scotland and cement his status as a club legend before moving to England. 

There won't be many on this forum who (if they were truthful) wouldn't take the opportunity if it was offered to them.

Just imagine you are very good at your job in a fairly small and tightly run company and as a company you punch above your weight. You moved to this job as you had done this before at a really small company and you took them to standards that they hadn't seen for a long time.

So you work hard for your employers you get pretty well remunerated (probably the same as a consultant surgeon at the top of their trade [who train something like 16 years to get to that level]!), and you know that if you continue doing this, there is nowhere really that the company can go - they are constrained by the market that they operate in!

So now apply this logic to JG. He brought Alloa on, he got poached by us, he has brought us on and he knows he is probably close to the point where he can't take us much further, so what's his ambition, obviously to be as good as he can in his chosen precarious profession.

I would take it and I'm a died in the wool Saint's man, Aberdeen are a good club, a great stepping stone, and if it doesn't work out then it's a financial gamble worth taking even for a short(ish) period.

On a slightly different question: Would I take JR back if he was interested(?), yes I would, as he too is a good man manager and he may have worked his ambitions out and realised that the higher you go, the more rarefied the atmosphere! 

The job at Dons is a massive undertake... building their team on has beens serial underachievers and young talent thats being dragged into their mire... Dons have a serious relegation fight on if form is taken into account...and as we have seen in recent years bigger clubs can get relegated..  Goody will leave us but i would rather take him going with our blessings and thanks rather than bottom of league and sacked... he is a sensible guy and if Cormack tells him of potential budgets and aspirations then of course he should test himself...  after all they should be top 3... they should be European football and they should be challenging for cups...  i am prepared he leaves and hope that the fact he has taken us from fodder to mid table makes us a attractive club for our next manager... 

If Goodwin is offered the Dons job he will go. He’ll probably triple his wages so it’s a no brainer. 
A few Buds talking up Aberdeen as being a good stepping stone to bigger jobs down south. To be fair, McInnes got a couple of offers when he was there that he didn’t take. Where is he now? I’m struggling to think of any of their managers going on to ‘bigger’ things unless you go back a very long way. Fergie, Billy McNeil?  
They have the 3rd biggest budget in Scotland and are expected to finish no worse than 3rd every season. The chairman comes across as a bit of a numpty too. 
If Goodie goes and makes an arse of it, he will get a decent payoff and eventually get a gig at a team similar to our size again. 
Whether he goes or not, it’s crap timing for us, even just the unsettling speculation. Can’t imagine any Saints fans or players not wanting him to stay. 
Suppose we know how Alloa fans feel. It’s all relative to club budgets. 
Not sure if Jack Ross would come back to us if Goodie goes. 

21 minutes ago, DougJamie said:

The job at Dons is a massive undertake... building their team on has beens serial underachievers and young talent thats being dragged into their mire... Dons have a serious relegation fight on if form is taken into account...and as we have seen in recent years bigger clubs can get relegated..  Goody will leave us but i would rather take him going with our blessings and thanks rather than bottom of league and sacked... he is a sensible guy and if Cormack tells him of potential budgets and aspirations then of course he should test himself...  after all they should be top 3... they should be European football and they should be challenging for cups...  i am prepared he leaves and hope that the fact he has taken us from fodder to mid table makes us a attractive club for our next manager... 

well expressed

Callum Davidson shows how stock is so important... strike when hot..or just be a hasbeen... not many managers could do worse than Glass... and i feel Cormack is embarressed he went outside a track record in Scotland..  so its either Goody or Jack for me...and of course Jack would come back and make Shulls day

1 hour ago, DougJamie said:

Callum Davidson shows how stock is so important... strike when hot..or just be a hasbeen... not many managers could do worse than Glass... and i feel Cormack is embarressed he went outside a track record in Scotland..  so its either Goody or Jack for me...and of course Jack would come back and make Shulls day

Completely agree. 6 weeks ago Goodwins stock would have been a fraction of what it is now and he would never have been considered for the Aberdeen job. Even some in our support wanted him out. So just shows how quickly stock can change, you need to strike while the irons hot.

My take on this. Dons can offer  around two to three times his current salary. A no brainier for a man with a family. Added to this….they will IMO escape relegation. They will return to being a top three or four club which reaches cup semis and finals and Europe. From there Jim could step up to a job in England or perhaps in time Celtic. Then again he could stay with the best team in Scotland and cement his status as a club legend before moving to England. 
You talk some amount of pish

Sent from my T671H using Tapatalk

I hope to f**k it gets put to bed asap one way or another. I'd be gutted personally as Goodwin was one of my favourite players as he carried out the role I love the most in football that is quite under appreciated in the game (it's why I have loved Gogic since he came. Same as I loved Shuggie).
The 3 at the back annoyed me, but still had faith in him. I do wish he continued with the 4 at the back like last season as defensively we were sound. We had draws and just needed goals. I'm glad he changed his ways to see this run (unlike Davidson).
I just wish this was over and either Jim said f**k off to Don's and stayed to secure the highest finish for us and maybe even a cup. He would 100% then have legend status with lifting a cup as player and manager. Then he would be offered similar or higher role than likes of Aberdeen and Sunderland.

Sent from my IN2023 using Tapatalk

Would be quite ironic if Jim goes and Jack Ross comes back in and keeps us ahead of aberdeen and hibs (or even better wins scottish cup or gets us to 4th in league) until end of season.  With a potential windfall from Mcginn sale to possibly liverpool or manu it may help him continue the upward trajectory by securing some decent players for next season. Still hope Jim looks at the bigger picture rather than instant dough and decides to stay on.

2 minutes ago, truesaint said:

Would be quite ironic if Jim goes and Jack Ross comes back in and keeps us ahead of aberdeen and hibs (or even better wins scottish cup or gets us to 4th in league) until end of season.  With a potential windfall from Mcginn sale to possibly liverpool or manu it may help him continue the upward trajectory by securing some decent players for next season. Still hope Jim looks at the bigger picture rather than instant dough and decides to stay on.

Managers cant look at bigger pictures as so often their tenures are so short.. 3 defeats in a row and your toast or 1 in Watfords case...even Fitzy dropped us for the mighty Bristol City before coming back just like McGarvey.. its the prob all smaller clubs have.. take the money and spend wisely.. just hope if Jim goes he doesnt take our defence with him

3 hours ago, magnus said:

More's the pity. I think he would have been good for us.

Thread Title at the ready.

THE DULL & DREARY DEREK INTERVIEWS THREAD SPECIALISING IN REMEDYING INSOMNIAC ST MIRREN SUPPORTERS