Motherwell v St Mirren Sat 5th October

We basically played a back 8 in the first half. No-one plays a forward pass if they can go square or back. Goalie is our only player. The rest are poor . second half was  a bit better but not much. We will never score more goals until we set the team up to go forward. The two new centres look very poor but it might be the system. Anyway St J next. 0-1 with a 94th minute winner .

5 hours ago, northstbuddie said:

Assuming Hearts and Hibs pull further ahead of us - we are now looking at clawing back Hamilton, Livingston and Ross County and staying above St Johnstone.

At the moment we do not look capable of achieving this.

Unless we start scoring goals, things could be decided before the January transfer window.

The return of a fit Cody Cooke and Stephen McGinn could help our scoring/survival chances.

Both of them are not good enough for the Premiership.

Our strikers need to do what they were brought to the club to do, otherwise we will go down. Its that simple. 

13 hours ago, santaponsasaint said:

Another shocker today. Gave 2 needless goals away. Goody has to change things. His system is not working or the players are not good enough to play it. Obika Morias. And Andrui. Were woeful today. Djorikeff came on with 5 mins to go and caused 2nd goal. 90mins riddled with mistakes and not for the first time this season. Hes got to use his squad. Bring McGinn back into midfield. He can't play the same 14 players every weeks. Not good enough.

Midfield is where it needs to change.

10 hours ago, beyond our ken said:

if you didn't know who managed the club and just looked at the performances , the set up and tactics then you might well wonder if Gus McPherson had come back as manager.

This is his philosophy and strategy, it's clear he is the man in charge.

Aye, nothing to do with the fact that Goodwin would have used these tactics all season long keeping Alloa up.

Goody says "Don't Panic we're only three points off 7th. It's not like we're adrift at the bottom"
Thanks Goody that's so reassuring. I feel safer now.

image.png.582b65fd8546744a39e1bb177c345286.png

Yeah I noticed Goody's desperation to put a positive spin on things by trotting out the line Levein uses that really pisses of Jambos.
What he omits from the " we're only three points from...." is the fact every game we don't win, teams around us do, and they move away.
Come the Hearts game away that quote might be revised to "we're only three points off eleventh!"

Never turned up in the 1st half which was very disappointing and no surprise to see us go behind.
Both full backs were getting too easily beaten by wingers coming inside. Got away with it a few times and Hladky kept us in the game but there was no pressure on the ball when we invited their player to stick the opener in the top corner from 20 yards. 
A bit better in the 2nd half. Some decent pressure and shots on target but not enough cutting edge.
Mullen spent the first half on his arse (see Morias criticism) but his movement and energy was good in the 2nd half. Justified his start. 
Obika just doesn’t look as if he has enough desire just now for whatever reason. He actually one a few more headers, flick ons and got better as the 2nd half wore on but needs to up the effort and get a bit nastier. 
Djorkaeff looks like a youngster who needs to be a work in progress. First touch should have been an equaliser but he had a fresh air swipe and 45 seconds later misplaced a pass and its game over. 
I genuinely don’t think we’re as bad as some are obviously thinking just now but we definitely have a lot of questions to answer in our attack. 

Good post & totally agree, we can’t continue with this though up front needs to be addressed ASAP. Missing too many chances.

if you didn't know who managed the club and just looked at the performances , the set up and tactics then you might well wonder if Gus McPherson had come back as manager.
This is his philosophy and strategy, it's clear he is the man in charge.

Bollocks !!

2 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Yeah I noticed Goody's desperation to put a positive spin on things by trotting out the line Levein uses that really pisses of Jambos.
What he omits from the " we're only three points from...." is the fact every game we don't win, teams around us do, and they move away.
Come the Hearts game away that quote might be revised to "we're only three points off eleventh!"

Cheers LPM

After Goody raising my spirits. You send me back into depression. Goody sounds great on TV and with that Black and white Goatee he's a Bud Through and through. 

We got to Believe..........or pray....or something.

I know we could score..........Miracles. we need a miracle......

22 minutes ago, East Lothian Saint said:

Goody says "Don't Panic we're only three points off 7th. It's not like we're adrift at the bottom"

Thanks Goody that's so reassuring. I feel safer now.

image.png.582b65fd8546744a39e1bb177c345286.png

The irritating thing is the league is up for grabs this season. Outside of the bigots we have a weaker Aberdeen, a weaker Killie, a pish Hearts side, a pish Hibs side too. Top 6, even Europe is a great possibility for many of the smaller Premier clubs this season.

Unfortunately much like when we had a similar opportunity when Hibs and Hearts went down and Sevco 2012 were yet to reach the Premier, we did everything possible to achieve the complete opposite of going for that high finish.

2 minutes ago, Cornwall_Saint said:

The irritating thing is the league is up for grabs this season. Outside of the bigots we have a weaker Aberdeen, a weaker Killie, a pish Hearts side, a pish Hibs side too. Top 6, even Europe is a great possibility for many of the smaller Premier clubs this season.

Unfortunately much like when we had a similar opportunity when Hibs and Hearts went down and Sevco 2012 were yet to reach the Premier, we did everything possible to achieve the complete opposite of going for that high finish.

The only thing irritating me is a St Mirren team that can't score. 

43 minutes ago, Ronnie said:
2 hours ago, ged62 said:

He is right though not a lot in it. emoji4.png

No not alot in it, the worst team in the league nearly matched our goal tally in only 17 minutes that we have had 720 to achieve.

And like us , still couldn't win.