Coronavirus

It's a severe flu virus FFS. I can't believe the level folk are losing their minds at. Influenza kills tens of thousands every year as well. 
Unless you have a weak constitution that causes it to be life threatening, you're going to be floored by it if you catch it and then get over it in a few weeks.
You can get a flu jab.
There ain't a Possible vaccine available for at least a year for this.

40 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

You are correct about this but the problem is that being correct in this instance is irrelevant because you cannot control people migrating or gathering in public.

For example, I work from home and to my eternal happiness I rarely venture outside where other people are.

BUT in about 5 minutes I'm about to go for my weekly food shopping.

Not only will the shop be full of unhygenic people (let's not call them scum or vermin :D) but every bit of food has been handled probably multiple times from whatever country it was produced in until it arrives on the shelf swimming in every bug you can imagine. Then I have the cashier handling my food and money, or the plague infested touchscreen for card payments to worry about and the trolley itself of course.

In short, there's little point personally worrying about catching the virus because it's entirely out of your control no matter how much you try to isolate yourself from the rest of the population.

In that sense, Ayrshire Saint and Faraway are both right to an extent - just live your life - maybe just avoid travelling to Wuhan or Iran or Italy for now.

You just hope it dies out before it spreads to the elderly, kids, those on chemotherapy with weakened immune systems for example. That's where we should be concerned and paying attention to proper medical experts rather than Ayrshire or FS.

The bigger worry is that cunts are now gambling on the problem, causing share prices to crash - 14% in a week FFS.

Still as long as the dividends are still good..........

The elderly and people with weakened immune systems die every year with the flu.

Why are you mentioning kids, apart from adding to the hysteria? 

6 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:
9 minutes ago, faraway saint said:
So? 

It needn't be the killer it is. The Corona virus... you are on your Todd.

Killer, aye it is right enough.....................enough to cause the current hysteria, away and bile yer heid....................and wash yer hands. :lol:

Covid-19 has caused severe respiratory disease in about 20 per cent of patients and killed 2-3 per cent of infected individuals. Sars, in contrast, killed 10 per cent of confirmed cases. Older people, whose immune defences have declined with age, and those with underlying health conditions are much more vulnerable than the young.

But fatality rates are hard to estimate in the early stages of an outbreak and depend on the medical care given to patients. For example, ventilators save lives by enabling people with pneumonia to breathe.

Killer, aye it is right enough.....................enough to cause the current hysteria, away and bile yer heid....................and wash yer hands. [emoji38]

Covid-19 has caused severe respiratory disease in about 20 per cent of patients and killed 2-3 per cent of infected individuals. Sars, in contrast, killed 10 per cent of confirmed cases. Older people, whose immune defences have declined with age, and those with underlying health conditions are much more vulnerable than the young.
But fatality rates are hard to estimate in the early stages of an outbreak and depend on the medical care given to patients. For example, ventilators save lives by enabling people with pneumonia to breathe.
Go look up how many people got SARS over two years...
4 in the UK no deaths. Feck me nearly 30 have died in Italy alone from Corona. And Iran..? Who knows.

2 minutes ago, Lord Pityme said:

Go look up how many people got SARS over two years...
4 in the UK no deaths. Feck me nearly 30 have died in Italy alone from Corona. And Iran..? Who knows.

Stop making shit up................it only weakens your argument and makes you look like a diddy. :1eye

19:00 GMT - Italy coronavirus death toll rises to 21, positive cases 821 

24 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

So? 

Many studies on the subject indicate that the flu jag reduces your chances of contracting flu by 40-60%, in the vulnerable groups.

Better than nothing, but not wholly effective, as people are infected by flu viruses that are not included in the vaccine cocktail, or simply because some people can become infected with a flu virus that a flu virus is designed to protect against. i.e. it's down to simple genetics. 

The worst thing about coronavirus are people who think they know all about coronavirus/influenza and its epidemiology, being either too flippant about it or over exaggerating its potential effects. :rolleyes:

The elderly and people with weakened immune systems die every year with the flu.

Why are you mentioning kids, apart from adding to the hysteria? 

Don't lump me in with the hysterics brigade.

Equally, I won't be lumped me in with the "it's only flu" brigade either.

I have already said what information is important when things like this happen and to my knowledge, no credible source has completed conclusive research into exactly what we are looking at here.

We've got way too many people jumping in with "facts" and that includes some GPs who apparently have overnight, miraclulously developed world leading skills in the spread of brand new flu viruses.

I am only prepared to listen to actual experts on this, chief medical officers and specialist, experienced research groups etc. We'll find out soon enough.

1 hour ago, Lord Pityme said:

It's not the virus that's the problem its people !
We know what the virus can do people on the other hand are much more volatile.
Stock markets crashing, world business slowing down etc... it only takes one minor panic and your shopping trip will be a bear fight!

If you want to talk about the problem of people in general, you won't get much argument from me.

Virtually every single problem I have ever had in my life can be rooted in the behaviours of other people.

3 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Don't lump me in with the hysterics brigade.

Equally, I won't be lumped me in with the "it's only flu" brigade either.

I have already said what information is important when things like this happen and to my knowledge, no credible source has completed conclusive research into exactly what we are looking at here.

We've got way too many people jumping in with "facts" and that includes some GPs who apparently have overnight, miraclulously developed world leading skills in the spread of brand new flu viruses.

I am only prepared to listen to actual experts on this, chief medical officers and specialist, experienced research groups etc. We'll find out soon enough.

Nice attempt at deflection...................................kids? :lol:

Experts...........like the one you ignored in the other thread? :1eye