Coronavirus

11 hours ago, Dickson said:

I've seen figures quote re South Korea's death rates.

0-29 years old was 0%

50+ was 0.37%

60+ was 1.51%

70+ was 5.35%

80+ was 10.4%

Similar stats are coming out of China and Italy. Italy I believe 87% of the deaths were over 70 years old. The US says 80% of their deaths are over 65. 

The number of young people who are dying from health conditions they didn't know about must be absolutely minuscule. It's obvious where the greater risk is. 

I showed my Mum these stats earlier today. She's 79 and went out for dinner with her pal yesterday. She promised to stay in today but she's been to Lidl and to the bank. Tomorrow she was planning a trip to the butchers. I showed her the stats and I showed her Andy's rant and I think the message finally hit home with her. He's absolutely right - we are putting everyones lives on hold primarily to protect the elderly and many of them are acting like they couldn't give a f**k! 

No surprise there. They probably spent halve their life's in McDonald, KFC, Denny's  etc.   

When you calm down we can maybe talk again. In the meantime I would suggest you do things.

1) Talk to either government and ask why they haven't announced a total lockdown. That is the sole reason people are still venturing outside.

2) Remind yourself that everyone is affected by this, not just you. I posted a couple of days ago that my own company has seen a 60% drop in income virtually overnight and I am living off 4-6 months of reserves. I don't have a nice wage to rely on. I certainly don't need lectures from you on this situation. Don't be so f**king presumptious and quit yer f**king whining.

Honestly, we are turning into a nation of spineless fuds cowering under the sheets over this thing.

Beginning to think Faraway was right. Grow a pair of balls FFS.

He’s right though

These people are losing their jobs to protect these old fcukers are who are still out socialising as if nothing is happening

The government has told them not to do it and why

But they’re ignoring the advice

You’re the one always banging on about people needing to take personal responsibility

16 minutes ago, Hiram Abiff said:

He’s right though

These people are losing their jobs to protect these old fcukers are who are still out socialising as if nothing is happening

I think we can safely ignore YOUR dribblings... :)

Salmonbuddie could be just as right by complaining about all those younger f**kers of his own age who WILL persist on going to gyms, “as if nothing is happening”!

This inept Tory government is not doing anything about that.  A government should be doing ALL in its power to do the best for all of the people, not just its paymasters.

Nor is the government doing anything about the panic-shopping and emptying of supermarket shelves by all ages of people, “as if nothing is happening!”.  Churning supermarkets packed with people and all queueing and coughing, side by side...

Divide and rule is an old Tory ploy.   Boris plays it well.  They want anyone but themselves to be seen as the Baddies.

Trivial slights against one particular section of society does nothing to cast light on the reality that we’re all in this together.

Well done, BiEK, that's exactly how zero hours contracts should be used.
Cheers.
It would be so simple to put legislative protection into place for people who actually want a flexible contact like that.

I also make sure anyone on a zero hours contact gets a full seven hours per year pro-rata holiday pay. They earned it.

That should be enshrined in law.

I think we can safely ignore YOUR dribblings... [emoji4]

Salmonbuddie could be just as right by complaining about all those younger f**kers of his own age who WILL persist on going to gyms, “as if nothing is happening”!
This inept Tory government is not doing anything about that.  A government should be doing ALL in its power to do the best for all of the people, not just its paymasters.
Nor is the government doing anything about the panic-shopping and emptying of supermarket shelves by all ages of people, “as if nothing is happening!”.  Churning supermarkets packed with people and all queueing and coughing, side by side...
Divide and rule is an old Tory ploy.   Boris plays it well.  They want anyone but themselves to be seen as the Baddies.
Trivial slights against one particular section of society does nothing to cast light on the reality that we’re all in this together.

Except that my dribbling are right. As always.

The ONE particular section in society I’m talking about is vulnerable people who are out and about ignoring government advice.

If these people stay quarantined then it doesn’t matter if the young fcukers get it. It’s a mild illness for them. Better we build up herd immunity and get it all over with.

The destruction of the world economy will have serious consequences for the healthcare of the whole country going forward.

But hey, you continue with your right on leftie slogans. That’ll fix the problem.

As for salmonbuddie, he’s almost as big an arse as TPAFTWAT

Who?

[emoji846]

Except that my dribbling are right. As always.

The ONE particular section in society I’m talking about is vulnerable people who are out and about ignoring government advice.

If these people stay quarantined then it doesn’t matter if the young fcukers get it. It’s a mild illness for them. Better we build up herd immunity and get it all over with.

The destruction of the world economy will have serious consequences for the healthcare of the whole country going forward.

But hey, you continue with your right on leftie slogans. That’ll fix the problem.

As for salmonbuddie, he’s almost as big an arse as TPAFTWAT

Love you too, mate, big hugs.

6 minutes ago, Dickson said:

I think we can ignore your dribblings. 

Latest news shows that a 26 year old has become the first to be arrested for refusing to self isolate. 

We shouldn't need police officers to put themselves at risk to deal with irresponsible behaviour. It's right that we condemn all sections of society who refuse to act responsibly. 

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8134259/First-arrest-UK-soil-failing-self-isolate-coronavirus.html

How's the 3 people who told you the army were getting ready to shoot looters getting on? 

They sound right wallopers. 😂😂😂

Careful, you'll have the flag wavers upset now that you've pointed out that Boris and wider government might not be responding as well as they could have since the first case was confirmed at end of January.

2 hours ago, salmonbuddie said:

Who?

emoji846.png

My apologies...  I was/am fully aware of the non-capitalisation.

I believe it was capitalised at the start of the sentence by... a bot! 

2 hours ago, salmonbuddie said:

Love you too, mate, big hugs.

The Cap'n persists in talking passé-provocative mince - other than when he regurgitates his long-ball game, for which I have some empathy...

2 hours ago, Dickson said:

Latest news shows that a 26 year old has become the first to be arrested for refusing to self isolate. 

We shouldn't need police officers to put themselves at risk to deal with irresponsible behaviour. It's right that we condemn all sections of society who refuse to act responsibly. 

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8134259/First-arrest-UK-soil-failing-self-isolate-coronavirus.html

Well, unsurprisingly, this has whooshed you utterly.  You are supporting my dribblings, you silly arse!

IoM government made a clear statement, laid down rules.  Someone broke them, fell foul of the full force of their laws and is being punished.  QED

The government of the UK is not doing that.  The govt of the UK is thus acting irresponsibly.

Boris spaffs suggestions and whiff-whaff waffling against a podium and we are all left none the wiser.  It is left up to individuals to interpret what is best.

Support small businesses like pubs, gyms, cafes as the govt SEEMS to suggest that those MAY not be the best idea...   or totally self-isolate?

We may have noticed some flaws in Gordon Broon and Alistair Darling when in Government, but - IN THEIR TIME OF CRISIS - they were fully focussed on what needed to be done to ensure the banking system didn't collapse.  They  took swift decisive action and laid down laws.  We need people in authority to act in that kind of way right now.

Well, unsurprisingly, this has whooshed you utterly.  You are supporting my dribblings, you silly arse!
IoM government made a clear statement, laid down rules.  Someone broke them, fell foul of the full force of their laws and is being punished.  QED

The government of the UK is not doing that.  The govt of the UK is thus acting irresponsibly.
Boris spaffs suggestions and whiff-whaff waffling against a podium and we are all left none the wiser.  It is left up to individuals to interpret what is best.
Support small businesses like pubs, gyms, cafes as the govt SEEMS to suggest that those MAY not be the best idea...   or totally self-isolate?

We may have noticed some flaws in Gordon Broon and Alistair Darling when in Government, but - IN THEIR TIME OF CRISIS - they were fully focussed on what needed to be done to ensure the banking system didn't collapse.  They  took swift decisive action and laid down laws.  We need people in authority to act in that kind of way right now.
Who could've predicted that Gareth Southgate and Gary Neville would be providing the leadership at this time.

My apologies...  I was/am fully aware of the non-capitalisaion.
I believe it was capitalised at the start of the sentence by... a bot!

May well have been but that wasn't my point so I'll ask again?

Who?

(a clue - there's more than one type of salmon....)

[emoji846]

2 minutes ago, salmonbuddie said:

May well have been but that wasn't my point so I'll ask again?

Who?

(a clue - there's more than one type of salmon....)

emoji846.png

Ooops!  

You are right, of course.   :)

Eedjit, that I (very occasionally) am!😊 

Perhaps I waffled on for so long that...

ach!  I jist wisnae thinking.

I blame slapsalmon.

Why is there a shoal of you sort on here, anyway?!

I guess you know your Salmon Song?

As these are troubled times, I shall post the link - in YOUR honour...

7 hours ago, faraway saint said:

This, as expected, is now hitting "us" and, as such, is becoming more real and emotive. (See a few posts above)

I spoke to a mate from Paisley last night, laid off as work has stopped, not reduced, stopped completely in the business he's in.

When things like this happen people's opinions and emotions change.

I'm aware my opinion has been that this has, somehow, been treated as something akin to the end of the world.

Not forgetting that every number is a person and that has an affect on family and friends.

When people lose their jobs this can have serious consequences and cause real worries.

The numbers, and we're well into this now worldwide, do not reflect the reaction by some IMO but have also been reduced by actions of some countries.

10,048 death worldwide.

I think, and is only my opinion, that overall this has been handled well by governments.

The British public have shown extreme reactions, both good and bad.

Plenty great stories of people helping other's along with the more obvious madness of panic buying.

One good thing, Ricky has reduced posting his usual drivel, surely we should rejoice? 

Aye but you haven't so it's not all good news. :P

6 hours ago, faraway saint said:

If you, or you know anybody, and I unfortunately have a family member who is in this group, have been unnecessarily panic buying, watch this and be ashamed.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-england-york-north-yorkshire-51966337/coronavirus-nurse-s-despair-as-panic-buyers-clear-shelves

That was a very difficult watch.

5 hours ago, antrin said:

fwiw, my Saturday bevvy bunch, All fit, all runners, all 40 - 80 yo, has just set up a WhatsApp group - just for the purpose of using pubs.

we normally just stagger in randomly to various pubs,  but the Blitz spirit is kicking in.

Yes I think it probably is.

Went down to the town centre today and it's as busy as it normally is.

If the governments force closure then and only then will we see people staying close to home but as long as they fail to announce this most of us are perfectly justified in carrying on with our lives. Of course we'll think carefully about where we go and what we do but anyone who thinks people will be bullied into anything needs to think again.

3 hours ago, Hiram Abiff said:

He’s right though

You’re the one always banging on about people needing to take personal responsibility

You are, as usual, getting mixed up.

Old people are not being told to stay at home to avoid spreading the virus. They are being told to stay at home to protect themselves.

Those people have every right to decide for themselves what risks to take without the likes of you barking orders at them.

It's younger people who are more likely to be carriers.

If Sturgeon and Johnson are seriously bothered about movement of people they would have announced a lockdown.

Until then.....bugger off and give us all peace.

3 hours ago, Dickson said:

That's the Isle of Man who have their own legal system for this type of thing.

Not like you to mis-represent things. :lol:

Send my best wishes to your mother. She's exactly the type of citizen we need more of in difficult times.

It's funny how this is bringing to the fore otherwise hidden personality traits in people I thought I knew well. I have been chatting to a friend of over 20 years who has informed me had stockpiled a three-month supply of food for Brexit, and is now busily adding to that. He also has 60 litres of diesel. He told me that he's buying goods he would ordinarily eat regardless, but that won't expire for months or years, so he's not wasting money in the event that nothing happens. 

He said that he's quite friendly with his neighbours, so if it all goes tits up he'll chap their door and kid on he's not got any food so as to dip into their supply first! :lol: :lol:  It'll also mean they won't come begging from him, he reckons. 

I had to wind him up, so I said it was great that he has all this food, but can he defend it from people like me who knows he's got it?! That annoyed him, and he mentioned something about a crossbow! :lol: The world's gone mad. 

Edited by W6er
Changed 'there' to 'their'

Marina Hyde has wrote a rather clever and cutting article for the guardian
https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/mar/20/boris-johnson-covid-19-prime-minister-brexit?CMP=share_btn_tw&__twitter_impression=true
Now, it's a bit political in bits and doesn't show the "glorious leader"Johnson in a very good light so the usual dummies will be spat on here I'm sure.

It is however rather funny, even the non political bits.

The Buffoon has far too belatedly shut the stable doors:

Cafes, bars, pubs and restaurants must close tonight

Johnson says the government is strengthening the measures announced on Monday to avoid unnecessary social contact.

Following agreement of all the four nations of the UK, Johnson said all cafes, bars, pubs and restaurants must close tonight.

Nightclubs, theatres, gyms, cinemas and leisure centres must also close on the same timescale.