Coronavirus

23 hours ago, StanleySaint said:
On 5/18/2020 at 5:43 PM, faraway saint said:
Today's number, 160, another massive improvement.
Credit to everyone who's doing what they should have been. :clapping

Certainly good progress, with the weekend accounting gap we might see between 4 and 5 hundred tomorrow, would be so happy if it was significantly less.

Today's number, disappointingly, 545. 

Wonder if this is a sign of the fcukwits partying on VE day and the few days after? 

Still, the previous 2 days being low still has the rolling average going down. 

We'll get a better idea towards the end of the week/start of next week. 

While I think the blame game played by the media, and some people on here, is uncalled for and desperate, I'm not convinced by this "patient confidentiality" excuse.

Nicola Sturgeon has hit back at suggestions that a coronavrius outbreak at a conference in Edinburgh in February was covered up.

At least 25 people linked to the Nike event may have contracted the virus but people who shared facilities with delegates were not told.

The first minister said details were not made public at the time because of patient confidentiality guidelines.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-52711995

43 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

Today's number, disappointingly, 545. 

Wonder if this is a sign of the fcukwits partying on VE day and the few days after? 

Still, the previous 2 days being low still has the rolling average goi

We’ll get a better idea towards the end of the week/start of next week. 

No we won’t!

Have you learned nowt after all this time?

It’s rubbish data, they are not measuring enough of anything sensible for experts to be able to pronounce with any certainty -let alone Furloughed punters with too much time on their hands , on an obscure Scottish fitba website.

not only is it rubbish, poorly collected, if Collected at all, data - they keep changing “the measures we must keep our eye on”.

as long as it keeps the public quiet and looking at the lovely numbers...

4 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

While I think the blame game played by the media, and some people on here, is uncalled for and desperate, I'm not convinced by this "patient confidentiality" excuse.

Unfortunately, the patient confidentiality rules are a big problem for the authorities.  If you remember that German pilot that flew a scheduled flight into a mountain, killing all 150 on board.  Well he had seen over 40 doctors in the months leading up to this tragedy, all of whom knew he was a pilot and most advised him to stop flying, but none of them contacted the authorities with this information.  Further, none of these doctors gave evidence to nor attended any of the formal investigations into the affair, all citing patient confidentiality.

The irony of journalists kicking up a fuss about patient confidentiality is - ask them to name a source or provide information they hold even in criminal cases and they scream "journalists can never be forced to identify their sources".

But more worrying is the trickle down story being fed by (presumably) Tory Central Office or No.10, basically saying "it wasn't me guv".

A senior member of Boris Johnson's government has blamed its coronavirus mistakes on 'wrong' scientific advice given by its advisers.  Therese Coffey, the work and pensions secretary, told Sky News: 'If the science was wrong, advice at the time was wrong. I'm not surprised if people will then think we made a wrong decision.'

Where Trump the Chump goes our chump follows!!!!   Watch this space.

10 minutes ago, antrin said:

No we won’t!

It’s rubbish data, they are not measuring enough of anything sensible for experts to be able to pronounce with any certainty -let alone Furloughed punters with too much time on their hands , on an obscure Scottish fitba website.

not only is it rubbish, poorly collected, if Collected at all, data - they keep changing “the measures we must keep our eye on”.

:snore

6 minutes ago, rabuddies said:

Unfortunately, the patient confidentiality rules are a big problem for the authorities.  If you remember that German pilot that flew a scheduled flight into a mountain, killing all 150 on board.  Well he had seen over 40 doctors in the months leading up to this tragedy, all of whom knew he was a pilot and most advised him to stop flying, but none of them contacted the authorities with this information.  Further, none of these doctors gave evidence to nor attended any of the formal investigations into the affair, all citing patient confidentiality.

I understand the need, although in this pilots case it backfired alarmingly.

Just in this case, the conference held in Edinburgh, I don't believe that any patient confidentiality would have to be revealed to have informed other members of the public. 

On 5/12/2020 at 11:13 PM, antrin said:

And this evening’s C4 news at 7.00pm had a big chunk about those same new cases/deaths.

who makes it all up, eh?

Aye, the data's shite unless it suits your view. 

Gie's piece. :byebye

53 minutes ago, antrin said:

No we won’t!

Honestly, you are wasting your breath antrin.

He might well be wasting his "time", not breath but, at least, he sticks around to make his point.

I might think he posts a load of shite at times but that's the way a forum works, different opinions.

Now you, well, your style is to try to make yourself look as important as possible.

When anybody disagrees or points out you're a bit of a diddy you, immediately question their intelligence.

You then declare you're much too good to be bothered with lesser mortals and run away.

That about sums you up. :byebye

Bloody convenient time to take his paternity leave!!  [emoji2520]
He's not taking paternity leave, at least that was what his spokesperson said when the wean was born.
Of course, it may turn out to be false - that seems to be how this government works on a daily basis.

It's the same post every Monday and Tuesday. Oh look deaths are down, followed by oh no number is back up.

Not sure if it's naivety or looking for bites.

8 hours ago, Cookie Monster said:

When was the last time anyone seen bungling boris?

Aye, yer right enough, in these days with communication like smoke signals, not reliable if it's windy, and carrier pigeon, they're forever getting lost ot eaten, there's no way he can be in touch with all the other people in the government. :lol:

Quite why any head of government feels the need, like wee Nicola, to appear every day when things don;t change is a mystery.

Aye, yer right enough, in these days with communication like smoke signals, not reliable if it's windy, and carrier pigeon, they're forever getting lost ot eaten, there's no way he can be in touch with all the other people in the government. [emoji38]
Quite why any head of government feels the need, like wee Nicola, to appear every day when things don;t change is a mystery.

Accountable leaders lead. [emoji6]