Coronavirus

10 hours ago, saintnextlifetime said:

Saw an interesting survey done the other day that said 34% of people in the UK trust the BBC . .

. .of course , if we extrapolate that result , it would mean that 66% of the UK population do not trust the BBC . .

. .then again if we extrapolate that result a wee bit more , two thirds of the UK population think the national broadcaster are lying baisturts. .

We also learned not that long ago what the BBC condone happening to young people , on their very premises even.

Were you on BBC breakfast earlier?

They interviewed an under 30 year old who, and he was 100% serious, said he wouldn't take the vaccination as it could track your movements and see your bank account. 😆😆😆

A serious contender for being sectioned I would suggest.

There was also a young female with asthma who wouldn't take the vaccination as she'd heard it could be bad for her condition. 

I despair. 

They interviewed an under 30 year old who, and he was 100% serious, said he wouldn't take the vaccination as it could track your movements and see your bank account. [emoji38][emoji38][emoji38]
There was also a young female with asthma who wouldn't take the vaccination as she'd heard it could be bad for her condition. 
I despair. 

Would the virus not be more likely to do that? :whistle

5 hours ago, faraway saint said:

They interviewed an under 30 year old who, and he was 100% serious, said he wouldn't take the vaccination as it could track your movements and see your bank account. 😆😆😆

I despair. 

I love a good conspiracy, but you do get some ridiculous ones.

That being said, there are many conspiracy theories that have turned out to be true over the years. :ninja 

Was covid released by a shady elite in a bid to restructure society?

Probably not. But it is plausible that certain individuals, corporations and governments are gaining from the pandemic.

"Never let a good crisis go to waste" - Winston Churchill

Was Covid released from the Wuhan Institute of Virology? 

It could have been. I'm not sure that we will ever know for sure... If that was true, the evidence is long gone by now

The way I see it, the most likely conspiracy that could arise, would be linked to the massive deals that have been made between governments and corporations to deal with the pandemic. Especially where politicians or their family/friends can make money from owning shares in the company.

I remember watching an episode of Dragons Den where someone had made an almost indestructible cable to plug in to an electric guitar. The dragons declined him, as the item was too good - it could only be sold once to a customer and there would be no future potential for profit.

I'm pretty sure Apple could make a far sturdier charging cable for their iPhone's, but they choose not to, due to $$$

Where am I going with this?

With MRNA technology, the company making the vaccine knows that as long as Covid exists, they will continue to make $$$ from booster jabs

If for example - Pfizer, make too good a vaccine, straight off the bat - no further boosters would be required, and their profits would dry up...

If I was to bet money on a theory that turns out to be true, it would be that the vaccines will be manufactured in such a way that covid continues to exist in a manageable way - which would also allow governments to maintain restrictions... to deal with climate change / achieve target of net zero by 2030 by restricting international travel. Which all falls under the blueprint for Klaus Schwab's "Great Reset" and the "Build Back Better" campaign, which almost every government worldwide is using as a campaign slogan.

Edited by Doakes

9 minutes ago, Doakes said:

I love a good conspiracy, but you do get some ridiculous ones.

That being said, there are many conspiracy theories that have turned out to be true over the years. :ninja 

Was covid released by a shady elite in a bid to restructure society?

Probably not. But it is plausible that certain individuals, corporations and governments are gaining from the pandemic.

"Never let a good crisis go to waste" - Winston Churchill

Was Covid released from the Wuhan Institute of Virology? 

It could have been. I'm not sure that we will ever know for sure... If that was true, the evidence is long gone by now

The way I see it, the most likely conspiracy that could arise, would be linked to the massive deals that have been made between governments and corporations to deal with the pandemic. Especially where politicians or their family/friends can make money from owning shares in the company.

I remember watching an episode of Dragons Den where someone had made an almost indestructible cable to plug in to an electric guitar. The dragons declined him, as the item was too good - it could only be sold once to a customer and there would be no future potential for profit.

I'm pretty sure Apple could make a far sturdier charging cable for their iPhone's, but they choose not to, due to $$$

Where am I going with this?

With MRNA technology, the company making the vaccine knows that as long as Covid exists, they will continue to make $$$ from booster jabs

If for example - Pfizer, make too good a vaccine, straight off the bat - no further boosters would be required, and their profits would dry up...

If I was to bet money on a theory that turns out to be true, it would be that the vaccines will be manufactured in such a way that covid continues to exist in a manageable way - which would also allow governments to maintain restrictions... to deal with climate change / achieve target of net zero by 2030 by restricting international travel. Which all falls under the blueprint for Klaus Schwab's "Great Reset" and the "Build Back Better" campaign, which almost every government worldwide is using as a campaign slogan.

That being said MANY more have turned out to be complete fabrication. 

You forget to mention the $$$ companies spend on developing drugs, many which are "loss leaders" and many that don't see the light of day.

What makes you think Pfizers profits would dry up, they were doing more than OK before Covid appeared? 

I don't buy this "conspiracy theory" either as you forget to mention the cost, never mind the countless effects this has had on the general public.

People won't be willing to comply as they have over the last 17 months.

That being said MANY more have turned out to be complete fabrication. 

You forget to mention the $$$ companies spend on developing drugs, many which are "loss leaders" and many that don't see the light of day.

What makes you think Pfizers profits would dry up, they were doing more than OK before Covid appeared? 

I don't buy this "conspiracy theory" either as you forget to mention the cost, never mind the countless effects this has had on the general public.

People won't be willing to comply as they have over the last 17 months.

On the bit in red, you sort of answered your own question. At development stage, yes they make losses, but they will fully expect a return on that later. A lot less work required once the vaccine is developed. They know will make $$$ on the boosters. That’s why we are now using MRNA technology instead of traditional vaccines. They can edit it depending on what risks we are facing,  bit like updating anti-virus software on a PC.

If you read Klaus Scwab’s books, his point is basically that Stakeholder Capitalism should replace Shareholder Capitalism. There will be less focus on profit and more focus on societal issues. 

He did also predict that populations would become more and more resistant, and measures would need to be taken to counter that. 

2 minutes ago, Doakes said:

On the bit in red, you sort of answered your own question. At development stage, yes they make losses, but they will fully expect a return on that later. A lot less work required once the vaccine is developed. They know will make $$$ on the boosters. That’s why we are now using MRNA technology instead of traditional vaccines. They can edit it depending on what risks we are facing,  bit like updating anti-virus software on a PC.

If you read Klaus Scwab’s books, his point is basically that Stakeholder Capitalism should replace Shareholder Capitalism. There will be less focus on profit and more focus on societal issues. 

He did also predict that populations would become more and more resistant, and measures would need to be taken to counter that. 

I think I know what group you are close to..................

A vague set of proposals from an influential organisation has been transformed by online conspiracy theorists into a powerful viral rallying cry. What is the truth behind the "Great Reset"?

Believers spin dark tales about an authoritarian socialist world government run by powerful capitalists and politicians - a secret cabal that is broadcasting its plan around the world.

Despite all the contradictions in the last sentence, thousands online have latched on to this latest reimagining of an old conspiracy theory - updated for the age of Covid.

36 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

I think I know what group you are close to..................

A vague set of proposals from an influential organisation has been transformed by online conspiracy theorists into a powerful viral rallying cry. What is the truth behind the "Great Reset"?

Believers spin dark tales about an authoritarian socialist world government run by powerful capitalists and politicians - a secret cabal that is broadcasting its plan around the world.

Despite all the contradictions in the last sentence, thousands online have latched on to this latest reimagining of an old conspiracy theory - updated for the age of Covid.

You referring to that Q pish where Trump is secretly about to save the world from the illuminati? :lol: 

Nah, nothing like that, it's not a conspiracy. It's not hidden and you can buy the books on Amazon for about £15.

It's all very open and there's loads of info online about it

The Great Reset | World Economic Forum (weforum.org) 

61-j1meObYL._AC_UY218_.jpg

71pIizODSJL._AC_UY218_.jpg

81pTC+nLZgL._AC_UY218_.jpg 

Edited by Doakes

36 minutes ago, Doakes said:

You referring to that Q pish where Trump is secretly about to save the world from the illuminati? :lol: 

Nah, nothing like that, it's not a conspiracy. It's not hidden and you can buy the books on Amazon for about £15.

It's all very open and there's loads of info online about it

The Great Reset | World Economic Forum (weforum.org) 

61-j1meObYL._AC_UY218_.jpg

The other founder of the initiative is Prof Klaus Schwab, head of the World Economic Forum (WEF), which organises an annual summit in a Swiss ski resort for some of the world's wealthiest and most powerful people.

"The pandemic represents a rare but narrow window of opportunity to reflect, reimagine, and reset our world to create a healthier, more equitable, and more prosperous future."

There's a Great Reset podcast and even a 280-page book. But the plan is light on specific detail.

Prof Schwab does speak about a "wealth tax" and ending fossil fuel subsidies. But the scope is huge - covering technology, climate change, the future of work, international security and other themes - and it's difficult to see precisely what the Great Reset might mean in practice.

This lack of clarity, combined with the plan being launched by an influential organisation, provided fertile ground for conspiracy theories to grow.

7 minutes ago, faraway saint said:

The other founder of the initiative is Prof Klaus Schwab, head of the World Economic Forum (WEF), which organises an annual summit in a Swiss ski resort for some of the world's wealthiest and most powerful people.

"The pandemic represents a rare but narrow window of opportunity to reflect, reimagine, and reset our world to create a healthier, more equitable, and more prosperous future."

There's a Great Reset podcast and even a 280-page book. But the plan is light on specific detail.

Prof Schwab does speak about a "wealth tax" and ending fossil fuel subsidies. But the scope is huge - covering technology, climate change, the future of work, international security and other themes - and it's difficult to see precisely what the Great Reset might mean in practice.

This lack of clarity, combined with the plan being launched by an influential organisation, provided fertile ground for conspiracy theories to grow.

Aye so, to get back on topic - one of the emerging technologies connected to this blueprint for the future / window of opportunity is MRNA vaccination. 

I can't pretend to be a virologist, but the technology is essentially a "smart" version of vaccination that gives your immune system instructions based on the latest variant. As I said before, a bit like anti-virus software getting regular updates.

I'd be curious to know why the media/government aren't being transparent with the public about the full extent of booster jabs. How often will the public be expected to get them? Will they be mandatory? 

My hunch is that explaining that to the public now - would risk resistance to the initial 2 jabs, but I do think they are setting themselves up for a lot more resistance later, due to a lack of transparency.

They might very well be right and this technology might be the only way to stop the virus running out of control, but it's all a bit teacher - pupil, as far as I can tell.

Aye so, to get back on topic - one of the emerging technologies connected to this blueprint for the future / window of opportunity is MRNA vaccination. 
I can't pretend to be a virologist, but the technology is essentially a "smart" version of vaccination that gives your immune system instructions based on the latest variant. As I said before, a bit like anti-virus software getting regular updates.
I'd be curious to know why the media/government aren't being transparent with the public about the full extent of booster jabs. How often will the public be expected to get them? Will they be mandatory? 
My hunch is that explaining that to the public now - would risk resistance to the initial 2 jabs, but I do think they are setting themselves up for a lot more resistance later, due to a lack of transparency.
They might very well be right and this technology might be the only way to stop the virus running out of control, but it's all a bit teacher - pupil, as far as I can tell.
Why the fascination with mRNA? It's something that has been getting studied for over 60 years, it's not some new phenomenon that they just found and developed after covid.

2 hours ago, Slarti said:
3 hours ago, Doakes said:

Why the fascination with mRNA? It's something that has been getting studied for over 60 years, it's not some new phenomenon that they just found and developed after covid.

Why would you not be cautious of a new biotechnology that’s been granted emergency use authorisation to be injected into every human on the planet?

Why would you not be concerned that you’ll need to “show your papers” to enter a venue? 

It concerns me how easily some of you are prepared to hand over your basic freedoms. If the vaccine is so great, why is there so much fear of the unvaccinated? 

It’s all got very dystopian.

3 minutes ago, Doakes said:

Why would you not be cautious of a new biotechnology that’s been granted emergency use authorisation to be injected into every human on the planet?

Why would you not be concerned that you’ll need to “show your papers” to enter a venue? 

It concerns me how easily some of you are prepared to hand over your basic freedoms. If the vaccine is so great, why is there so much fear of the unvaccinated? 

To save life's? :lol:

What's the problem showing you're virus free to enter a venue?

The vaccine is great, but not 100%, maybe that's why it's a decent idea to have as many vaccinated that can be. 

You really need to buy more tin foil, there's way too much electrical interference getting through, frazzles the brain seemingly? 

4 hours ago, Doakes said:

Does it not occur to you that no one knows how long the immunity from the vaccines will last, whether regular boosters will be necessary  and how often they might be necessary? In the light of this, do you think the authorities should just make up a story?

17 hours ago, Doakes said:

do you listen to what is said by independent experts?  

delta variant is capable of infecting the vaccinated-the vaccine slows down and inhibits it's spread but doesn't stop it

young people who are currently not in a vaccination group will eventually get to the age of 18-so by all of us taking sensible precautions they can have some protection if they are potentially susceptible to serious illness but not yet old enough to be listed for a jab

"Showing your papers" so what else do you do to get your parcel from the collection point?

Freedoms are earned and the backdrop to that changes all the time-this virus is just another example of how humans cannot plan everything and need to adapt their behaviours in order to survive, which is one of the reasons we have become a dominant species

On 7/23/2021 at 8:33 PM, Doakes said:

every kid born after WW2 should have had dim parents who’d refuse the new biotechnology so that we could all have been free to contract polio, mumps, measles, chickenpox… and we should have refused to travel round the world vpbecause we didn’t want jagged to prevent Yellow Fever, Typhoid and Rabies….

I agree.  Let children visit brothels and drink in pubs… even if they are 9 years old but claim to be 45 yo. Let anyone drive a vehicle without qualifications or insurance…   I’m guessing that you already accept similar restrictions to the one that you’re bitching about, here?

You are already trading your so-called basic freedoms so you can participate in civilised society.  So… No big deal.
The vaccine gives some protection but, so far, all vaccines have been frank about their limitations.  They  ARE great, they are amazing.  But not perfect yet.  As humans always do, we get better, improve things, flourish!

let the virus continue to spread freely and it will continue to mutate into something to which society does not yet have an answer.  And then you(as well as thousands more) WILL be truly f**ked.

Dystopia is  in the eye of the beholder.   

in my eyes, a vaccinated world has a remarkably sunny sheen to it!

Others have covered most of it already but ...

It's not exactly "new", at least not in the way some are trying to suggest. It's not just an idea that someone came up with in response to this virus, it's something that has been getting worked on for decades.

It's not fear of the unvaccinated, it's concern for those who, for medical reasons, cannot get the vaccine and for others who could be severely affected by even mild symptoms.

Whilst I’ve nothing else to do, how’s this for a genuine update?

I’m currently in hospital have been for 2 days due to Covid ( shortness of breath and sore chest )

Double vaccinated

Tested positive for Covid on 9th July

Was typically unwell blah blah ….

My ‘SATS’ on oxygen in blood have been low for about a fortnight but this week really low (84) apparently under 94 get medical attention etc..

Got switched to St James 4am today

In 2 days had 2 Covid tests , 2 MRSA swab tests , bloods , Xray , Ultrasound on heart , daily injections to stop blood clotting Enoxaparin , and on oxygen as well as usual ECG traces etc ….

FFS ! I don’t feel ill as such , just can’t move without shortness of breath and sore chest

If I didn’t get vaccinated, I wonder what the consequences would have been

Has anyone else on here contracted Covid after vaccinations ?

ETA: I would browse Saints online shop or try buy a season ticket but …..

The wifi is pish incidentally £9:80 a day !!

19 minutes ago, Scott-Leeds said:

Whilst I’ve nothing else to do, how’s this for a genuine update?

I’m currently in hospital have been for 2 days due to Covid ( shortness of breath and sore chest )

Double vaccinated

Tested positive for Covid on 9th July

Was typically unwell blah blah ….

My ‘SATS’ on oxygen in blood have been low for about a fortnight but this week really low (84) apparently under 94 get medical attention etc..

Got switched to St James 4am today

In 2 days had 2 Covid tests , 2 MRSA swab tests , bloods , Xray , Ultrasound on heart , daily injections to stop blood clotting Enoxaparin , and on oxygen as well as usual ECG traces etc ….

FFS ! I don’t feel ill as such , just can’t move without shortness of breath and sore chest

If I didn’t get vaccinated, I wonder what the consequences would have been

Has anyone else on here contracted Covid after vaccinations ?

ETA: I would browse Saints online shop or try buy a season ticket but …..

The wifi is pish incidentally £9:80 a day !!

Stop moaning.